We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$49 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Santa Ana
Sibenik, Croatia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Had to find a place for a quick trip in and out of Costa Rica. The staff was wonderful. The rooms were spacious and immaculately clean. There was a welcome letter on the bed from the owner asking to bring any issues to his attention so that he could attend to them. A bottle of wine for enjoyment with two glasses if you so chose. And there offer of taxi service to the airport with their own hotel driver at $21 was 25% less than taxi fare. The neighborhood the hotel is in is residential. People were out biking and walking. Shopping was an easy walk from the hotel and there was a branch of CitiBank near it as well. We will book this hotel again on our next visit to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    175
    44
    9
    7
See reviews for
107
216
53
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

On a recent trip to Costa Rica for dental work, I had the opportunity to stay at Luisianna for 10 days. I have mixed feelings from this experience. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and thoroughly enjoyed them. The room itself was very nice and the extra amenities of free long distance, computer access in the room and the interactive TV, etc. were much appreciated and not found at very many hotels. A huge bonus, especially considering the very reasonable rates.
The reason we picked this facility was because of the swimming pool, so my wife would have something to do while I was at the dentist. This area was the first disappointment. The pool is not heated so is a bit on the fresh side, but even worse was the total lack of lounge chairs to sit beside the pool and enjoy the nice sunny days. In my opinion the pool was also put in the wrong location. It is where the parking lot should be and the parking lot is where the pool should be.
The big disappointment was the restaurant. The quality of food was very mediocre and the prices were quite high for the area. I realize there are some problems because of the lack of diners in any great quantity, but maybe if the prices were more realistic for the type of facility, more people would stay and solve your inventory problems. We ate out at many near by restaurants and had a much higher quality of meal and at a much lower price. Having to buy a whole bottle of wine when you only want a glass is also an ill advised policy. Everyone sells wine by the glass.
Overall, the hotel was quite acceptable and if they could fix their dining facility problems I would have no problem raising my rating.

Room Tip: The rooms attached to the main building appear to be better located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptons, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The staff was friendly, the security was comforting and the price was right! If you need to be in or near the City of San Jose this is your place to stay. The beds are more comfortable than I got at home and the coffee is always fresh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Soy un costarricense que he utilizado el Hotel Louisiana varias veces para negocios, tanto para mi como para colegas de otros países. Por ello conozco perfectamente el área y las diferentes alternativas en Costa Ríca y he encontrado que es una de las mejores opciones entre PRECIO-CALIDAD que hay...Forgive my English, Im a Costa RIcan who experienced many times Louisiana Hotel on business trips, for myself and fellow foreign colleagues. Therefore I perfectly know the area and Costa Rica's numerous choices, and find out that its one of the best options between QUALITY-PRICE out there in the market.
Es claro que es un pequeño Hotel y en calle secundaria un poco difícil de ubicar, pero eso es precisamente sus ventajas, pues a pesar de estar muy cerca de tiendas restaurantes, oficinas y a 25 minutos de San José, está en la falda de una montaña, en un lugar poco ruidoso y acogedor. La zona es segura, en 10 minutos hay montaña, cines, supermercados, y un gran Mall, en una hora y treinta minutos se pasa de la ciudad a la playa... El hotel es Súper limpio, tal vez una de sus mejores cualidades, habitaciones muy grandes y llama la atención la televisión con internet incorporado y una computadora, también es un gesto bonito una botella de vino tinto, el cual no es muy bueno, pero por los $ 15 que cuesta se deja tomar al final del día sin tener que salir a comprar. La piscina no es muy grande, pero agradable para los niños, un poquito fría (24C Aprox.) pero limpia. Amplio y seguro parqueo frente a las habitaciones. Clearly is a small Hotel on a secundary road, a little hard to find, but thats precisely and advantage, despite to be near of stores, restaurants, offices and 25 minutes from Downtown San Jose, is located at the bottom of a mountain in a non noisy and cozy place. It is a safe area, in 10 minutes you have mountain, movie theaters, Supermarkets, and a Shoping Mall, in an hour and a half, you go from the city to the beach... Hotel is Super Clean, maybe that is one of its best asset, Rooms are big, and the Tv set with internet, and a computer it is something that grab your attention, also there is a nice touch of a red wine bottle, not to fancy, but for $ 15 they charge you, it will do at the end of the day that you dont want to go out to buy anything. Swiming pool is not big, but nice for children, a little bit chilly (24C Aprox), but clear water. Wide and safe parking lot in front of rooms.
SUGGESTIONS More Menu options at restaurant, nice italian food, but maybe at breakfast they need some Costa RIcan food--- A liitle Printer-scaner ready for business, when you need an office to go---- A video camera so people at front desk can see you at the gate, so you dont have to wait long--- A 14:00 hrs. Check out time, so you can have business lunch and still have time to pick-up your stuff and brush your teeth.

Room Tip: Upstairs sometimes you can hear footsteps on the wooden balcony, but on the other hand that same bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's clean, it has free wi-fi (and desktop computers for those without a laptop), free local calls and calls to the US, Google Television, a safe box for valuables, a small fridge, a small restaurant within, A/C, comfy beds...I can go on and on. I love this place. I loved it so much, I returned at the end of my trip for my final night. The staff is amazing and very hospitable (as are most Ticos). The phones did not work from my room during my last stay, but they allowed me to use their phone at the front desk. No biggie!

The downside is the taxi trip from the airport. It is roughly $20-25 depending on traffic (the meters increase about 20 colones per 5 seconds) and whatever route the driver decides he'll take. But, that is not the hotel's fault. I'm sure if they could, they'd move closer to the airport and get quadruple the business. With luggage, I did not bother with the buses.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really liked the hotel very much, because it was clean, the interieur well chosen, the rooms huge, the equipment great, such Apple Computer in the room, you park your car park directly in front of the rooms and it had the very best internet wifi we had so far in Costa Rica.

If you are here for business or dont want to stay in the town, then choose this hotel. Shopping Malls and the main roads, airport and car rentals station are near by.

We come back very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked after a recommendation from a friend and because my other choice was already booked. I was in town for a dog show and this hotel is pet friendly. (there are some rules). Octavia, my dog and I enjoyed our stay. They had a nice area for Octavia to do her business. It was too cold to enjoy the pool. The restaurant was small but inviting and the menu was varied enough to suit most palates. I had the pumpkin ravioli in mushroom cream sauce. I had breakfast the next day, and it was okay. I am not much of a breakfast eater. The only disappointment was the restaurant was not open for dinner on Sunday night. boo hoo. Had to go up the road to the Taco Grill for tacos to bring back to the room.
The front office staff is super friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: 100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.