We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, excellent customer service, clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$49 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great value, excellent customer service, clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It's clean, it has free wi-fi (and desktop computers for those without a laptop), free local calls and calls to the US, Google Television, a safe box for valuables, a small fridge, a small restaurant within, A/C, comfy beds...I can go on and on. I love this place. I loved it so much, I returned at the end of my trip for my final night. The staff is amazing and very hospitable (as are most Ticos). The phones did not work from my room during my last stay, but they allowed me to use their phone at the front desk. No biggie!

The downside is the taxi trip from the airport. It is roughly $20-25 depending on traffic (the meters increase about 20 colones per 5 seconds) and whatever route the driver decides he'll take. But, that is not the hotel's fault. I'm sure if they could, they'd move closer to the airport and get quadruple the business. With luggage, I did not bother with the buses.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    179
    48
    9
    9
See reviews for
114
226
57
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We really liked the hotel very much, because it was clean, the interieur well chosen, the rooms huge, the equipment great, such Apple Computer in the room, you park your car park directly in front of the rooms and it had the very best internet wifi we had so far in Costa Rica.

If you are here for business or dont want to stay in the town, then choose this hotel. Shopping Malls and the main roads, airport and car rentals station are near by.

We come back very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked after a recommendation from a friend and because my other choice was already booked. I was in town for a dog show and this hotel is pet friendly. (there are some rules). Octavia, my dog and I enjoyed our stay. They had a nice area for Octavia to do her business. It was too cold to enjoy the pool. The restaurant was small but inviting and the menu was varied enough to suit most palates. I had the pumpkin ravioli in mushroom cream sauce. I had breakfast the next day, and it was okay. I am not much of a breakfast eater. The only disappointment was the restaurant was not open for dinner on Sunday night. boo hoo. Had to go up the road to the Taco Grill for tacos to bring back to the room.
The front office staff is super friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahuita, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

It is very clean. And the price is great! The swimming pool is ok, a little plain but nice. The beds are so comfortable and the front desk staff are so nice. They have a restaurant on site, food was ok but the smoothies at breakfast were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa rica
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Great little hotel, not problem with internet connection, love the location, everything is close: markets, malls, bars / restaurants, cinemas, hardware stores, etc, etc, didn't try the hotel restaurant .... for sure next time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Propietario at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Google Translation
estimado huespede gracias por su commentario , feliz que hotel luisiana sea una hotel que es parte de su estadia en costa rica , tenemos una connesion de internet de 30 mega a disposicion de nuestro huespedes , asi que puede disfrutar de pelicula y internet de buena velocidad !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We paid $37.50 for two nights and for that rate, (we booked online) this was a great deal. If we had paid the full room rate I would change this to an Average rating. Rooms are large, clean, and beds are comfy. Mini bar only had wine would have been nice to have a bottle of water or two. Bathrooms large, water pressure was so so but we were on the third floor. Our room had two towels and two pillows and I guess for the rate we should not complain, but hand and face towels are a staple. Nice views from rooms and the pool area was quite nice too, not large or anything you would see in a resort, but very simple and clean. Excellent and secure parking. We chose to eat out, menu at restaurant was limited and it was empty at 8PM. Not too worry, close by to this hotel you will find plenty of amazing places to eat! Private cab was a nice touch but be sure to arrange it in advance. Our one issue was a communication error with the front desk staff, (helpful and friendly, but hardly welcoming) so be sure that your reservation is clear. If you have an issue, don't expect much help. But the clean rooms, nice setting, and great access to airport make this a very good deal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked there for one night after a poor experience in another hotel in town. The location is a little remote in West San Jose but beautiful, with mountain views and cool breezes, in nice, upscale neighborhood. Rooms are spacious, airy, with all the modern comfort, good internet etc. They have a beautiful pool, and a small playground if you have children. Service is no outstanding but decent. I travel to San Jose in a regular basis and will definitely go back soon, whether for business or family/leisure trip. Note: Due to the relatively remote location it is nice to have a car there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: 100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.