We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back any time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
christmas package
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Regina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would come back any time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We only stayed here for one night, after arriving in San Jose. The hotel is located close by the airport and offers great value for the price. The room was neat and clean, the furnishing very modern and new. It's a great place to stay for a few nights if you are planning to travel to the Pacific coast as it is located close enough to the highway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    194
    52
    10
    12
See reviews for
128
235
64
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our stay was off-season (end of July – beginning of August 2012)
Sunrise approx 5:15AM - Sunset approx 6:30PM

I REALLY like Hotel Luisiana and would stay there again. It’s very modern and comfortable. There’s no big ‘view’ but when you’re sitting on the balcony or by the pool you can see the beautiful hills of SanJose. It’s so nice just to sit in the open air there. The staff is VERY helpful (information, directions, due to our limited Spanish (it’s bad by any standard and we’d both studied Spanish as some point) they even helped us with the date/time of an important appointment we’d made)

Pros: Location, wi-fi, tv (including Netflix), free int’l calls, air, secured parking, pool, comfortable pool, bi-lingual staff, helpful staff, refrigerator in room, restaurant (not 24-hours), very nicely decorated, nicely kept and landscaped grounds, quaint, small swing/slide for children, pool as shallow as 6 inches and as deep as 5 feet or so, quiet neighborhood in Santa Ana, local bar a couple blocks away seemed to get a nice crowd on weekends but we didn’t make it there.

Cons: No gallo pinto for breakfast (not much of a ‘con’, is it)

Where we ate/drank: Hotel Luisana, Bagelmen’s, Taco Bar, Aloft (W Hotel bar), Jazz Café, La Princesa Marina

I love Costa Rica. It’s a beautiful place with friendly people and LOTS to see. You can spend as much or as little as you want on the trip.

A few tips:
Gratuity: A 10% tip is built into most restaurant tabs but feel free to leave a little extra if you like the service

Take with you: GPS or rent when you arrive, a pocket flashlight; a couple pens, have plenty singles unless you’re going to use Colones, a pocket translation dictionary or have a program ready; when leaving CR you have to pay $28 departure tax so have some money or a credit card ready at the airport

Smart Tourist: Let your credit card company know you’re leaving the country; don’t leave anything visible in your car; look into the car rental situation – on our last trip everyone forced the basic insurance on us (that didn’t happen on a past trip); for rural areas 4-wheel drive or a small SUV may come in handy as some of the roads are rough but many/most are fine; no problem charging electronics without a converter; parts of the country are malaria zones; we were able to make calls home through Google Talk/Vonage on our phone even though we didn’t have phone service; Verizon currently does not have service in CR and they will dump your voicemail/texts from their server if you’re out of their service area for more than 3 day for voice and 6 days for text

Room Tip: Most rooms are along the balcony or lower level patio, but there are also rooms with no balcony seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This place is awesome, the only thing that we had a problem with was when we were trying to sleep something kept banging against the wall on the other side of the bathroom, and we couldn't go to sleep, so we finally complained, and after about 30 minutes of waiting they gave us a new room. The rooms were clean and comfy. Did not like the food in the restaurant, and getting through the gate to park your car is kind of hard. But besides all of that the experience was great, and the hotel owner even gave us our money back, every last cent.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the second floor all the way on the right when facing the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is one of the best for value. The rooms are large. Most have kitchenettes. The bathrooms are spacious, some with soaker tubs. Big flat screen tv's and very comfortable beds. Each room is different (we have stayed there 3 times now). It's a great location if you plan to shop in Escazu or stay before your flight in or out of San Jose. The staff keep to themselves and give the feeling of a bit of electiveness...but pleasantly so. We just keep going back...!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hidden gem has all the perks one could possibly want: computers in the rooms, fast wi-fi, netflix (for a relaxing night in), a huge and comfortable bed and excellent food. Topping it all off, the hotel employees are incredibly nice, welcoming and helpful. The rooms and premises are clean and well decorated. With its cheap prices you expect nothing but a clean bed, but you get so much more. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were greeted immediately by a very welcoming staff member. We were very impressed by the room. It had a lot of light, there was a flat screen television with cable t.v., high-speed internet access in the room and a mac computer on the desk, internet access available on the television, free international calls, mini-fridge, hot water and air conditioning. The room was very spacious and updated, and we had a very comfortable king-sized bed. There is free coffee and tea offered all day in the lobby, which was excellent. The location is great; a short drive from the airport, and equally accessible by public bus. The staff also offers a personal taxi service and lists all of their prices to popular locations, so we could avoid the headache of the red taxis trying to make us pay more. The pool was being cleaned and repaired, so we were not able to use it during our stay. There was always someone there to answer our quesitons and we felt very comfortable there! We would like to start and end our next trip to Costa Rica at that hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very good Hotel! Quiet and good Service! Employees are very friendly as well as food was good! Only no Food Service on Sunday after breakfast although the kitchen was open to Cater a Party on the Premise

Room Tip: If you are smoker and like out door ask for upstair or down stair Pool Front Two Full beds room Unf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: 100 mts west and 400 mts. south to the Red Cross,, Santa Ana 20100, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.