We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel still upgrading....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Luisiana to your Saves list
Hotel Luisiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Santa Ana
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel still upgrading....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We thought ourselves very lucky to have found this super little Euro hotel with secure parking, spacious rooms, cooking facilities and more... just a block off the main thoroughfare in Santa Ana, close to the airport and easy to find. Our room on the second floor had a personal outdoor area where you could enjoy a drink or read a book on wicker furniture beside potted palms. Inside was a multi-room with a small kitchen containing a microwave, two burner stove, sink and small fridge, dishes, table and four chairs. The large screen wall TV doubled as a computer and could be operated from the bed. Another computer was available on the desk. The king sized bed was heavenly, a/c in good working order, the wardrobe with safe held lots of luggage and the bathroom was roomy, tiled and modern with hairdryer, shampoo and soap. Must mention that the quality bedsheets were the best I've had in Costa Rica! Obviously, the owner/designer has put a lot of thought and pride into his project. A swimming pool is to be operating within a week or two and a new wing of other rooms will also be open. Rates are excellent and reservations are definitely recommended. Another plus: free coffee and tea are available in the lobby all day and night...a nice perk after a long day in the busy city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your word, it's a pleasure to read such a good review, this is the fuel for us to follow the perfect solution between hospitality and low price! Hope you will be back for enjoy our new big pool. It's hard for me to describe better of you the new step of hotel Luisiana , thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    209
    58
    12
    11
See reviews for
137
250
69
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here our last night in CR before our flight the next day out of San Jose. The room was very clean. I didn't have to worry about bugs (finally). The bed was super comfortable. I wish I had their beds at home. I will say the AC didn't work that well. We like it really cold at night, so we woke up sweating several times. The breakfast was okay...They didn't have ketchup or hot sauce which was disappointing. If we would have known that we would have just gone down the street to a local place for breakfast. Also, not the friendliest people working here but it's not like we paid an arm and leg. It was very cheap and just what we needed for a quick stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelluisiana, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
thanks for your feed back will be improve our service with your tips, kind of sauce wil be in the breakfast quicly .air conditioning is new split samsung , and normally work perfect , we have the emergency portable aire conditioning, please feel free to call reception the next time for ask !!! and normally we fix every problem very soon because our manteinance is internal and is present every day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Real gem of a place, did not know what to expect with the budget price but met and exceeded all my expectations... clean room, friendly and helpful staff huge kitchenette which felt more like an apartment. Nice touches throughout wall mount flatscreen TV with internet options, hotel supplied computer also in the rooms, nice comforters. Would recommend to anyone visiting SJ on business or vacation.

Shane

Room Tip: Room 15 if you need the "big" space w/solo King bed or if with the kids (has separate bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hotel is worth every penny. It is close to airport, has great shopping plaza and supermarket within walking distance. Very new room with great bath room. The blanket and tower are very clean. The room feels like a 4 start hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Large clean rooms, large beds with very good quality linen. We booked one night on arrival in CR and last night, then added another night at end as a seperate booking, which necessitated a change of room. Staff were very helpful in shuffling rooms about so we could move rooms early allowing us to have a full day out. Drop off to airport reasonable ($20) and very efficient. complete computer provided in room (as well as good WiFi) is a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

for the amount you pay, its a good place to stay. hotel is clean, linens smells fresh, room is spacious, bathroom is great but it was noisy i dont know where is coming from. Its a small hotel, looks like it was a house turned into a hotel. the only draw back is the distance to the airport. it will take you 20 to 25 min of driving time. If you take a cab, they charge you $20.00 for a one way trip. the hotel is located in a quiet residential area and quite isolated like you have to walk like 3 blocks to reach the main street. the staff is friendly and accomodating. i will recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Made this our stop for our first and last nights stay in Costa Rica. Excellent value. The rooms are lovely with great bathrooms. Very clean. It is a bit pricey to get to and from the airport from there so some of the value is lost. However, We definitely felt comfortable and at home. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luisiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.