We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit skiing was excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Diamant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Diamant to your Saves list
Chalet Hotel Diamant
Via Pinis 1, 39030 San Martino in Badia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First visit skiing was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Natacha & crew were very friendly and provided faultless service.
The vegetarian food was delicious and there was plenty of it. The veggy lasagne was the best I've had ANYWHERE!! I particularly enjoyed having eggs in the morning rather than the cold continental breakfast.
The room was spacious and clean with ensuite bathroom and nice view of the hills. The sauna had proper heat, unlike many places I've stayed in (addition of a steam room might be a good idea). Despite having soggy toes at the end of the day, ski boots were dry every morning so boot warmers were top notch. The seating areas are cosy and there's a pool table. The swimming pool was warm and not too small; robes were provided which is a nice touch. Free WiFi at reception and first floor was very useful. Along the corridor on my floor there's tea/coffee table which saves you having to go to the dining area.
Taking the van to/from the lift doesn't take long and good for prepping/unwinding. The town is quiet, not much apres. The Kronplatz ski area was good with enough to ski in a week - cruisey blues and some good red runs for intermediates. You have to take 3 gondolas to get to Kronplatz, so don't leave it too late to catch the last gondola back. The last public ski bus back from Alta Badia area leaves a bit early for my liking.
I'm definitely planning to visit again and highly recommend Mountainsun's Diamant. Next time, I'm planning to visit Hidden Valley and Santa Croce.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for a week from 19th - 26 January 2014 with a group of 26. A very pleasant hotel with well appointed rooms. The food was excellent, home cooked and generous. Natasha & Warner were welcoming, very pleasant and efficient as were all the staff. The transfers to and from the lift were well managed and quick. What more can I say other than I hope our group returns before too long.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

this is our second time staying here, and the staff this year were just as lovely as last year. had the same room, so was all good? a little disappointed that the jacuzzi out of order, but hey-ho. The skiing here was great again, we managed to do the whole Sella Ronda, and the Hidden Valley was fab. (even tho the horses at the bottom scared me half to death!) I like MountainSun, I like the no single supplement and the hassle free transfers, and the fact that we were there by lunchtime which gave us an extra half day on the slope.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotinthesouth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

13th Mountain sun holiday. First time in the Dolomites will be back. Stayed in one of the newer rooms which was lovely. En suite bathroom spacious and clean.21 year old son had a single room which was more than adequate for him again with an en suite bathroom. Warner, Natasha and the rest of the staff could not have been more helpful. From coping with lost lift passes (sons) to being collected early from the lifts on New Years Day (again son!). This is not a ski in ski out property but the staff run a mini bus service to the nearest lift which is just a matter of minutes away. If you wish to ski further afield in the Alta Badia area the first and last bus of the day leave from the main road very close to the Diamant or for later buses use the chalet mini bus and pick up the connecting bus from the Picolin lift area. The dinners were great lasagne,roast pork, chicken curry and salmon fish cakes to name a few. Delicious desserts and if you still had room ,biscuits and cheese. There is a swimming pool and a sauna which we also used.Great place for a family holiday.

Room Tip: We had a newer room which was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Thank you to Natasha and Warner and all the staff at the Diamant for a wonderful stay.Nothing was too much trouble. Very clean and well managed. Food was home cooked and wholesome. Great lasagne lots of meat and not too much sauce just the way it should be. Salmon fishcakes with sooo much salmon and hardly any breadcrumbs. Plenty to go around to feed the hungry after a day skiing. Bus service to kronplatz and good advice about visiting sister chalet frohsin and alta badia ski resort. Mountainsun easy to deal with good email correspondance and advice (thank you Jude) Hoping to go back another year!

Room Tip: Premier rooms are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have been to Alta Badia skiing a number of times with Mountain Sun and fell in love with the Dolomites, so we decided on a July visit to see the awesome mountains in all their summer glory. The hotel is large and spacious with a swimming pool, sauna & jacuzzi and the rooms are excellent . I had notified Mountain Sun that I have a gluten & lactose intolerance and I was very well looked after by the staff with a large selection of gluten free products being made available. They even provided freshly made gluten free pies! We ate in the Hotel on a number of evenings and, again, the staff couldn't do enough to provide gluten free meals.

We also enjoyed meals at two other local restaurants in San Martino

The hotel is within a short distance from the Alta Badia region which made the villages & the mountain walking around La Villa, Corvara, San Cassiano & Arabba easily accessible.

We will be returning and both ourselves and our friends couldn't recommend the hotel more highly.

Thanks for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for the Maratona dles Dolomites cycling event. Its in a great location, not far from the start. The rooms have recently refurbished to a high standard and there are all the facilities that you could want.

We were looked after so well by the staff, nothing was too much trouble. We had a wonderful stay and a great trip thanks to their kind hospitality.

Highly recommended,

Room Tip: All the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Hotel Diamant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Diamant

Address: Via Pinis 1, 39030 San Martino in Badia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > San Martino in Badia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Martino in Badia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Hotel Diamant, located in the picturesque village of San Martino in Badia, South Tyrol, provides an affordable fully catered choice for skiing and snowboarding holidays in the Dolomites. The massive ski area Dolomiti Superski offers 1200km of connected skiing and has some of the longest black runs in Europe, all available on one skipass. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chalet Hotel Diamant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Diamant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.