We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Search this place out u will not regret it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Blue Yakushima

Marine Blue Yakushima
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marine Blue Yakushima to your Saves list
Marine Blue Yakushima
290-1 Nagata, Yakushima-cho, Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho 891-4201 , Kagoshima Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Search this place out u will not regret it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Run by a group of housewives that is out to make your stay enjoyable. They speak no English at all, location seems inconvenient. But the bus stop is right outside makes traveling around really convenient. The location is wonderful. It almost like your personal beach house. The service is genuine and warm serving personal dish very morning and lunch。 I still miss the home made meal. Best stay hands down.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manten, 広報担当マネージャー at Marine Blue Yakushima, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your stay in Marine Blue Yakushima and your message.
Our staff can not speak English, I may it was inconvenient for you.
But we tried to feel warm you to the service as much as possible. So we were happy because of your message.
Location of the Marine Blue Yakushima is a great place of view sun sets. We were glad to hear you enjoy a meal and this view.
Please come again occur.
Thank you very much. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Marine Blue and picked up the hotel essentially because of its location on the beach. And the location was great ! We had the wonderful beach almost to ourselves but it is not allowed to walk there after 7 pm during summer as turtles that lay their eggs at this period should not be disturbed. To go anywhere on the island it is best to rent a car. It takes for example 90 mns drive to go to the Yakusugi Cedar Land and 30 mns to Myanura -main port.

The hotel has few rooms and a family atmosphere. We had a japanese breakfast and dinner plan and the landlady was paying extreme attention to us (eg she noticed that we were not eating raw eggs and cooked them for us the following day). Breakfast and dinner were really impressive (no less than 12 or 13 dishes for each meal, including flying fish tempura, smoked mackerel, shabu shabu ....). There is an onsen on site, very useful if you come back freezing from your hiking in the rainy mountain.
We definitely recommend Marine Blue !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manten, 横浜予約センター at Marine Blue Yakushima, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for staying Marine Blue Yakushima.

We are glad when you enjoy the Yakushima,
We were worried also because of the different food culture.

Although it is possible in the season of sea turtles, see the birth of life in July and August, and there might be regulations for environmental protection.
Car rental is convenient to sightseeing.

And when sytaying Marine Blue Yakushima, they enjoy spring at MANTEN(near Yakushima airport) with special price(1500→800yen)

Marine Blue Yakushima Please come to us. I'll be expecting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed three days at this nice small hotel. The hotel location is directly on a wonderful beach on the less populated west side of the island. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodated all our wishes despite the language barrier (we don’t speak Japanese). The dinner was always excellent and consisted of a never ending sequence of seafood, meat, tofu and vegetable courses. The room was simple but adequate and had a nice ocean view. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manten, 横浜予約センター at Marine Blue Yakushima, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for staying Marine Blue Yakushima and slower thanks, I'm sorry.

Our staff can't speak English, but challenged to something when you do not understand the words, but they do their best as much as possible the staff.
We glad this message because it is.

Marine Blue Yakushima Please come to us again.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

The hotel is nicely located on the turtle beach which is on the most remote area of Yakushima, no mobile connexion there. From the room you have direct access to a terrace and the beach. It's 5 minutes walk to the turtle viewing place so it's quite convenient since the viewing takes place late at night. The room are just ok for Japan and the food is pretty average (but they accomodated us by making the breakfast a little more western). It might be a little difficult to stay there if you don't speak any Japanese. . Just a typical Japanese hotel in a nice location.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manten, 予約センター at Marine Blue Yakushima, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for booking Marine Blue Yakushima.

Seems to be glad at the Yakushima also enjoy.

Staff can not speak English, we hard to satisfy our customer as much as possible.

Please come to us from around the world on Yakushima.

We are happy and come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marine Blue Yakushima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Blue Yakushima

Address: 290-1 Nagata, Yakushima-cho, Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho 891-4201 , Kagoshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kagoshima Prefecture > Yakushima > Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels / Ryokan in Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean View Resort Hotel is located in the famous beach in Nagata Inaka-HAMA spawning of sea turtles. Please watch the sunset from the deck of a sinking ocean that is attached to the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN and Rakuten so you can book your Marine Blue Yakushima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Blue Yakushima Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Blue Yakushima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.