We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hike without much traffic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yakusugi Land

Yakusugi Land
Anbo, Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho 891-4311, Kagoshima Prefecture
+81 997-46-3221
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hike without much traffic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a guided tour with Cameron (http://www.yakushimaexperience.com/) in this area of Yakushima. On the hike we saw monkeys and deer as well as up to 3000 years old trees. Cameron was a great help in understanding the history and current situation of the island. He also provided tipps for not so heavy frequented places to visit. Overall a very enjoyable day with a ton of pictures and ideas of what to do next :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An easy hike with so much to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We only had half-a-day to go and walk/hike around the area, but this path was just perfect in terms of duration and amazing sightseeing. Breathtaking views from a few of the hanging bridges, not to mention looking up on endless 'yakusugi' trees. Best for those who do not seek a tough hiking trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The weather was perfect so we hiked to Tachu Dake. Be prepared because it's not an easy climb but the view from the top is amazing. There are lots of shorter walks too so there's something for everyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kagoshima, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It is amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It is beautiful, expect some rain so bring an umbrella, it is a rain forest after all. I was raised on the West Coast of Canada, where we have areas like this. However, It is beautiful and well worth the visit. A total contrast to the very hot coastal area. We saw one of the island deer, which are like miniture versions of what we see in American. Oh yes, also wild monkeys.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Must do on Yakushima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Yakusugi land has many well maintained, sign posted tracks to walk. A large part of the walks have wooden walkways to protect the area which makes for easy going so you can concentrate on the amazing forest. Not to mention the gorgeous river areas and bridges!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yakusugi Land also viewed

Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho, Yakushima
Yakushima, Kagoshima Prefecture
 
Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho, Yakushima
Kumage-gun Yakushima-cho, Yakushima
 

Been to Yakusugi Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yakusugi Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.