We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Onsen Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Takefue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minamioguni-machi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Takefue
Save
You added Takefue to your Saves list
Ryokan
  |   5725-1 Manganji, Aso-gun, Minamioguni-machi 869-2402, Kumamoto Prefecture (Kurokawa Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Heavenly Onsen Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This resort is really nice. Everything is organized perfectly. We had a spa session and it was really good and we enjoyed every second of it. It was snowing lightly during our stay and the surrounding was so beautiful. Kuni-San who can speak English was taking care of us really well. He made sure everything is perfectly arranged and we are comfortable. We highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A modern but yet traditional 'Onsen' villa. A 3-Michelin star equivalent in the natural hot spring resort industry. Enjoy the tranquillity of the area, the Japanese' hospitality and their attention to detail of everything. But be minded there's no chunky burger and chips, only traditional Japanese breakfast and Kaiseki dinner is served in the resort. Even if you're not too fancy with raw seafood, you'll definitely appreciate the food presentation-it's just an art for your eye to see.

Takefue has just set the bar to a completely different level.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is stunningly beautiful! It was better than I expected. A traditional ryokan, it is the total experience. Forget about all the 5 star international chains. From the time you enter this gorgeous Japanese ryokan, you are met with over whelming hospitality. This property has 11 villas and 7 of them have their own indoor and outdoor hotsprings. After checking in at the reception, we were invited to choose a yakuta to wear during our stay. We had a choice of two different snack boxes when checking in. One was high calorie and one was low. I picked the one with low calorie. We even brought the empty snack box back home. Suzuki was our room attendant. She was superp. She escorted us to our villa, Bijo-an. It had two private onsen baths, one indoor and one outdoor. The outdoor hot spring bath was a beautiful rock pool with beautiful view over the surrounding bamboo forest. It was unbelievable. Our meals were brought to our room, beautifully presented in a large irori (traditional sunken hearth). They began the kaiseki dinner (many small courses) by heating up the irori in the middle of our private living room. The food was delicious.

Takefue’s certainly provided us with a memorable experience of a lifetime. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Takefue onsen ryokan is truly a magical place. It's a natural hot springs resort in the middle of a bambo grove. Far from everything and very peaceful. If you do find the strength to venture outside the property, there are some beautiful country walks to take.

We were a group of 4 people and shared a villa together -- the only way for us to afford the luxury of the resort (it is rather expensive, but worth every yen). First we stayed in the Shien-an villa for one night -- highlights: both the outdoor and indoor baths are fantastic. Then we moved to the Sayo villa for two nights. The Sayo villa is Takefue's top villa, and for good reasons: it is absolutely stunning (its most striking feature being its outdoor bath&terrace right by the bambo forest).

Our package included breakfast and dinner (served in the villa), which is something i strongly recommend for the meals in Takefue are an experience not be missed.

I'd also recommend trying some of the public baths. You can book any bath for 45 mins. We tried a different one each night, picking the last slot of the evening. There are quite a few so If you only have time for one, go for the Chikurin No Yu open-air bath.

Sidenote: we stayed in Takefue end of Oct when the foliage changes colour: the days were sunny and warm, the evenings/nights were cool (the perfect time for a hot bath in the open air).

(very) Hot springs + bamboo grove + food porn + Suzuki, our wonderful room attendant + tranquility + Japanese countryside

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had best in the best vacation at Takefue...again. I travel around the world but this place is my favorite place in the whole world!! Room, bath, food and spa... And gorgeous colored leaves cannot explain by words. I stayed two night at Sayo and I really had great time. Hotel staff cannot speak fluent English but they communicate with dictionary and body language. I didn't have any communication problem during stay. Their hospitality is better than four star hotel! In the future, I want to come back here to experience the beauty of each season. I can imagine how beautiful to see the snow fall down from open air bath... Simply the best. I will work hard to come back here with my family again. I miss Takefue already.

Room Tip: They have only 11 room. Im sure its depend how you feel but I liked Sayo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Takefue is simply amazing and breathtaking. A cozy place with bamboo surrounding the ryokan. Probably the best stay ever. If budget is not an issue and you visit Kurokawan Onsen, this is a top choice. We stayed 2 nights: one in the Sayo suite and the other Takekiri suite. Sayo suite is simply astonishing, with an indoor and an outdoor onsen looking out to the bamboo trees. Food is very good as well, we had kaiseki the first night and nabe the second dinner, both are excellent. And not to forget the service: while English is hardly spoken there, Kuni-san, who spoke English, was assigned to take care of us. And he is the most friendly and helpful person, and take good care of all our needs. We would love to return to this place again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My experience at Takefue was outstanding. We stayed three night there and that was heavenly comfortable. Located just pass the Shirakawa Onsen town but once we step in the property, we were surrounded by bamboo. In keeping with Japanese tradition of gracious hospitality and timeless elegance plus substantial guest amenities. We chose traditional Japanese Tatami style bed type but western style toilet(we cannot use Japanese style toilet...). Food was so amazing we had all three meal there on our second day. I loved Shiatsu & facial massage too. We feel peaceful and relaxable, just stay in the room or walk around the property. My husband and I visited Japan several times but this resort lodge style hotel was nothing to compare. My teenager daughter enjoyed private hot spring day and night. We loved everything about Takefue! We will definitely go back there again!!

Room Tip: You can choose western style bedding type or Japanese tatami style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Takefue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takefue

Address: 5725-1 Manganji, Aso-gun, Minamioguni-machi 869-2402, Kumamoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso-gun > Minamioguni-machi > Kurokawa Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels / Ryokan in Minamioguni-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Takefue Japan/Kumamoto Prefecture - Minamioguni-Machi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takefue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.