We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benesse house Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benesse House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naoshima-cho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Benesse House
Save
You added Benesse House to your Saves list
Gotanji, Naoshima-cho, Kagawa-gun, Naoshima-cho 761-3110, Kagawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 280 Reviews
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Benesse house Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was a really nice place to stay.
Check in was strict - not one of those places if you turn up early and your room is ready they let you in. No, it is all very controlled here.
The room was very nice looking out over the ocean. Very comfortable, good bed, good shower.
No privacy though. When you go out on to the deck for the view you can look right into your neighbours bedroom as they can yours.
We had booked the Kaiseke dinner. It was an average meal given the price. The atmosphere in the restaurant was prissy and uncomfortable. Not a sound above a whisper.
Before we had finished the staff had bought the bill and were clearing up the restaurant around us. We dined at six which was the first available sitting so it was not a lateness issue. I have never anywhere experienced this sort of rudeness in a restaurant.
This is a very slick operation that you pay big dollars for. I would stay there again but certainly give the evening meal a miss.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    60
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
125
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is an absolute must stay for all those interested in modern art, architecture and design. There is no hotel complex like this anywhere on the planet. Naoshima - the 'art island' - is out of this world. The scale of modernist art and architecture on offer is mind-boggling.

We stayed in the 'Museum' section of this hotel for three nights. All things considered, I think three nights is the minimum to get the most out of your stay on the island. When we booked, they asked us if we preferred Japanese cuisine, or, an international menu, so, we decided to keep it Japanese. All of our meals were served in their lovely restaurant called 'Issen': breakfasts, lunches, and dinners were very memorable. Service was professional, and yet still friendly.

Must visit modern museums are within walking distance, incl., Chichu Art Museum, Lee Ufan Museum, Benesse House Museum, and the Art House Project.

I am still blown away by my visit to Naoshima; I cannot wait to go back to this island aesthetic masterpiece of modern art, architecture and design.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First time staying in a hotel designed by Tadao Ando. Naoshima is a bit off from the popular Japan cities but a very good point for going to different islands under the Setouchi Triennale. Looking out from the balcony, you have the wonderful views of artworks with the sea and blue sky as backdrop. Restaurant choices are limited, the hotel staff will remind you to book the two restaurants, one Western and the other Japanese. There's no TV nor WIFI in the hotel room, it's fine for us but we do see visitors paying a rental fee for TV set.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Yes the environment is superb, but really, most of it left me indifferent. It's arty and all, but the rooms are not that great actually, and certainly not worth the high rate. Breakfast was average. The Japanese restaurant in the museum was just fine. The museums were good but really, I think one day without overnight would have been sufficient. The place is too crowded, and for me, that breaks the magic of an otherwise beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Found out about Benesse House by pure chance, as even my daughter living in Japan hand't heard of it.

There is no denying it is expensive, especially as you have little option but to eat at either the French or Japanese hotel restaurants. The menu choices also appeared very limited, especially as one daughter is vegetarian and me and my other daughter don't eat fish. However, we were able to explain our dietary requirements in emails to Benesse House before our arrival and our meal in the French restaurant turned out to be delicious, filling and was very enjoyable. Breakfast in the museum was also tasty and very nicely presented.

Our family of four adults stayed in Room 404 in the Oval, which had wall paintings by British artist David Tremlett and a patio widow that lowered into the floor - Fantastic!. The room had two double size beds, which would have been fine for us, but also two temporary beds had been installed. Although these took up some floor space there was still loads of room.

We really enjoyed the whole Naoshima art experience and also the architecture of Tadao Ando. The use of natural light, even in sub terrarium art galleries was incredible and added very much to the experience of viewing some stunning art works. You really should visit all the art museums and make every effort to see the outdoor artworks, which seem to be everywhere around Benesse House. Unfortunately we didn't have time to experience the Bath House, much to my eldest daughters disappointment.

Our only regret was that we could only afford to stay the one night and although we made the very most of our time, it would have been be much more relaxing to have bitten the financial bullet and stayed for a second night. It would have been great just to stroll down to the beach admiring the works of art and then have a swim in the sea.

Would we go again - you bet!

Room Tip: Would recommend the Oval if you want to some tranquility with great sea views. The Oval is also a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

World class Naoshima island's Benesse House modern art offers to those who wish to stay overnight 4 options.
The "MUSEUM" where 10 rooms are situated inside the museum itself.
The "OVAL" which is the hilltop extension of the MUSEUM and is privately reached by a monorail, only to be used by staying guests of the 6 rooms up there.
8 huge suites are to be found in "BEACH", next to the Terrace restaurant and are the most expensive staying option.
41 rooms are at "PARK", the main building, where staying rate remains affordable, and we stayed here 2 consecutive nights ealy july.

We love :
- Wood theme room are simple yet very classy. We, europeans call them scandinavian design, but they surely are Japanese. The view is beautiful to the sea in the distance and on a clear night, we can see the Takamatsu side shining.

We like
- Nothing missing

We don't :
- The 41 rooms on "PARK" are packed on 2 levels and they are so close each other. It is like sitting on a plane, coach class, next to some fellow travellers you don't know, but you must. An annoying situation at 30.000 already.

Tips :
- No in room WiFi, which is a good thing afterall, but it can be connected in the lounge.
- On site eating options are : expensive french at the Terrace for dinner, very expensive japanese at the Issen (you must choose your dinner when you check in ; the menu is shown while you still have your bags in your hands, which is a total absurdity to us), expensive but nice buffet breakfast at the Terrace. Alternatively, go back to the pier where several restaurants are opened all day. But then you must rely on the shuttle bus, which runs very infrequently.

So this unique and peculiar art island is to be experienced once, after that, not sure we're back again.

Room Tip: PARK is the most affordable, but not moeny value at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is by far the weirdest hotel we have ever stayed in. We opted for the Oval hotel, you also get the beach side, which after our stay I think would have been a better option for us. Though staying in the Oval you are in fact staying in a museum. The Hotel has very good transport both between the beach hotel and Oval but also with the town and other museums on the island. To get to our room we had to take a mono rail that added a good 10 minutes at worst to our trip, to our room, especially if someone else had just caught it to go down as happened to us, lets say it’s a slow moving box between two buildings that when you were in a hurry it was not there but when you had all day it was ready and waiting.

We made the mistake of staying here Sunday and Monday. Note everything is closed on a Monday! So you are bored out of your mind on the Monday. Note most museums close on a Monday in Japan thus use Mondays for shopping, relaxing or what takes your fancy just not sight seeing.

Our booking agent booked us supper one Japanese and one French for the two nights we stayed there. The suppers were extremely expensive for the price and the food was average. The Japanese dinner was way better than the French by some distance. We made the mistake of ordering a glass of wine as a bottle looked like to much wine, don’t make that mistake order the bottle its way cheaper! The cup they pour you is so small, you get to be honest one month full if that much! The Wine was a rip off, get the bottle even if you do not finish it. All people around us got beer in a bottle, they knew what we did not know. In regards to Coke we noticed large volume of ice and not much Coke. If you can go into town and have food its not easy especially on Monday with services closed but the other days there is city council busses that do not cost much, you will save your self a fortune.

Breakfast was included and was OK. Strange another hotel were you can get two sausages or two pieces of bacon but not one of each. for this price I expected both! One cup of coffee you can't have two. Its a joke in bad service with a high price!

The room is getting old. Many years back when built it was high tech today it looks old and feels old, needs a revamp. The view was great but the beach house views were better. This place is one large experiment with concrete which we did not like. We found rubbish on the beach which was a surprise to use.

We would skip this place, way expensive, service low and you do not get much for it. We noted a strange high level of marketing around this place which is unusual in Japan.

Room Tip: Stay in the Beach house side avoid the Oval hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Benesse House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benesse House

Address: Gotanji, Naoshima-cho, Kagawa-gun, Naoshima-cho 761-3110, Kagawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Shikoku > Kagawa Prefecture > Kagawa-gun > Naoshima-cho
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels / Ryokan in Naoshima-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Benesse House Hotel Naoshima-Cho
Benesse Hotel Naoshima Cho

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benesse House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.