We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be going back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tenjin Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tenjin Lodge to your Saves list
Tenjin Lodge
Ryokan
  |   220-4 Yubiso, Tone-gun, Minakami-machi 379-1728, Gunma Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“I'll be going back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights before Christmas with my 7 year old son. There are a variety of riding options nearby from first timer to BC enthusiast. Or you can let the kids sledge down the side of the lodge or head off for a snow-shoe with the owner.

The lodge itself is fairly basic, but its clean, warm enough, hospitable, and kid friendly. The communal lounge has a few sofas set around a fire and a big flatscreen TV. Good spot to kick-back for a few beers and chat with the other guests.

We opted for the dinner option; honest, stick to your ribs grub, which set us up nicely for the next day's skiing.

The acid test is always would you go back; I am. This weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was there on 23 Dec 2012. I took the Shinkansen (Max Tanigawa) from Ueno at 810am to Echigo Yuzawa and transferred to a local train (Joetsu line) to Doai station. The whole journey took 2h 6mins and was coverd by the JR pass. Tenjin Lodge is strategically located. It is 5 mins away from JR Doai station & just infront of the entrance to the snowshoe trekking. The owner offered pick-up from Doai or Minakami station. This region has lots of snow fall and you can enjoy snow sports as early as December.

The owner is very familar with the terrain and mountains around, hence you could really count on him to show you around the mountainous region. He speaks English very well so you don't have to worry about language problem. I did a 5 hour snowshoe trek and was shown a splendid view of the mountains. The snowshoe trek was different from most snowshoe experiences as we were not just walking around to have a feel of how to walk in a pair of snowshoe but really explore the nature to enjoy its beauty.

The Lodge has big tatami room with toilet and shower room (only cold shower). It also has a common bathroom (hot shower). The room, toilet and bathroom were clean. The Lodge has a communal living room and dinning space where you could mingle with the rest of the people staying there as well as the owner and his family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was there for five days over the Christmas break with my family this time and once before, solo, for the back country last year. I had a great time both times. It is a lot like hanging out at your friend’s winter ski cabin, except in a hotel.
Hotel: It is good and has basic accommodations with clean, simple and warm bed rooms and a comfortable but laid back dining and living room area. The hallways and bigger public rooms, which early morning or if someone leaves the front door open can get a bit cold, but that is about the only hassle. I just went around in a wool cap and fleece pants and was fine to hot most times. The late night wine, cocktails and beers around the fire place with the other guests is a great perk.
Food: Is just best described as good, simple, big, and hearty mountain meals .The place also has a well stocked bar !
Local Mountains: I was born near Whistler B.C Canada. The minakami mountians and resorts are great for three things: a) beginners and families, b) hard core back country powder and c) more powder. There is not much in between up there. But if it's your thing, you can take a young family to some really fun resorts one day then leave them behind or with a guide/school and go rent the hotel owner if he is free and do his signature " Monkey Line" back country run the next day. Or just go rent any back country guide upthere for a day for some “over the back” first tracks. It’s well worth it.
For anything I'd just ask the owners who are hugely accommodating. I'd ask them when is a good time to come. You could time it with other families so all the kids can hang out and run wild or for when some international powder hounds are coming in and then catch a really good back country vibe.
It's not a Four Seasons Hotel chain, and I know because I also stay there too, but if you are prepared for or want the more old school rough and ready snow experience then this is it and its is a good price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

For the price you get a room & all activities organised for you. There is a communal dining room that is relaxed and good place to eat, drink & play board games in the evening to the sound of chilled out music. If you are travelling alone you will also be able to meet other people in the evening or doing the activities.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenjin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenjin Lodge

Address: 220-4 Yubiso, Tone-gun, Minakami-machi 379-1728, Gunma Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Gunma Prefecture > Tone-gun > Minakami-machi
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minakami-machi
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Minakami-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service mountain lodge situated deep in the Joetsu-kogen National Park at the base of Tenjindaira Ski resort and Tanigawadake Ropeway. Ski-in during Winter, rafting and canyoning next door during the Summer, dozens of hiking trails in the mountains surrounding the lodge, onsens nearby and only 180km from Tokyo. We are family owned and run and look forward to offering you a memorable, Japanese mountain experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tenjin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenjin Lodge Minakami-Machi, Japan - Gunma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenjin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.