We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunmarina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sunmarina Hotel to your Saves list
Sunmarina Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66-1 Fuchaku, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0494, Okinawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Onna-son
4.0 of 5 stars 319 Reviews
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in October and found it to be very nice. We stayed in and end room on the 8th floor and had a wonderful view of the ocean and pool. The room is quite spacious, with a couch and 2 beds.

The location is good. It's in the middle of the island, so it took a little over an hour to get here from Naha and it's about an hour from the aquarium (which I HIGHLY recommend!). The roads are very well maintained and it's easy to drive here, despite driving on the other side of the road. The staff are very friendly.

We didn't pay for breakfast with the room, but were able to get it some mornings for 1500 yen per person. There really isn't anywhere around the hotel to go for breakfast. There are a lot of nice places for lunch and dinner within a few minutes drive from here.

The prices for lounge chairs and activities are incredibly high. They provide towels, but that's it. There are tons of families here with young children.

The beach was nice- the China Sea is about 80 degrees and the beach is very calm. The Sea was warmer than the pool. It's a very nice hotel for the price. We'd probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Thea1,

Thank you for staying with us at Sunmarina Hotel, and we are happy to know that you enjoyed the beautiful scenery from your room. We also appreciate your comments regarding our facilities. We hope you enjoyed our variety of traditional Okinawan dishes at breakfast, and that we were able to provide you with satisfactory service.
As you mentioned, we are located not too far away from the city and other sightseeing areas. There are so many things to see and do on the island; we hope that you will return to experience more of our wonderful Ryukyu culture.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your return stay in the near future.
Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    181
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
160
86
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Sun Marina for a week when sightseeing on Okinawa. It is a very nice and clean hotel with friendly staff. The staff is very friendly and eager to assist.

Communication with was not always easy as english skills in general was very limited, but in my experience the english skills of the staff at sun marina is still above average at Okinawa. That being said we always got the needed information in the end.

The hotel is a bit remote, but there are several nice and affordable restaurants within 15min walking distance. But if you are sightseeing on Okinawa I strongly suggest renting a car.

Every room in the hotel has a sea view, wich is really nice.

I enjoyed my stay at sun marina and would recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Azilia-san,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for your warm compliments regarding our facilities and staff service. Thank you also for staying at our sister hotel, Okinawa Port Hotel on your last day in Okinawa.
We do understand that English is a must in this industry, and your comments will encourage our staff to strive on further brushing up on their English communication skills.
We are glad to know that your experience with us was satisfactory, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager - Sunmarina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed there for 6 nights with 3 of my friends in a Deluxe twin room (with 1 extra bed and 1 sofa bed). The room was really big for Japanese standard and there was enough room for 4 of our luggage. It was on a beautiful beach in onna (I reckon one of the best) but mind that it is not a private beach. The weather then was too cold to swim so we just took advantage of the view. We rented a cube and drove around. There were many cool restaurants nearby on the side of the main road. Don't bother with the breakfast there,,,, Japanese style bacon and eggs were just not appetizing. The free wifi was very stable and more than enough for leisure use. Staff were always smiling but everyone could master English. For japanese resort and a room big enough to fit 4, i think it was very good value for money (ard 230 USD per room per night) !! All in all, I enjoyed my stay a lot and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear beeleeburu,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Sunmarina Hotel, and for your positive comments regarding our facilities and services. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the marvelous ocean view.
We will continue to emphasize our training on English communication skills, and hope to be able to assist you more next time!
Most of the beaches in Okinawa are open all year round, however, the best season for swimming is said to be between May and September.
We hope you will consider your return stay during this time and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort!

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager - Sunmarina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spend 2 nights in Sunmarina, it's an old but quite hotel, the room is clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is really Japanese style, good quality and fresh. The bathroom is big in Japan, and the beach next to the hotel is clean and beautiful.

Though the language might be a problem, cause all the staff can only speak little English, so the communication might have misunderstood. Like me, I pay the parking fee twice because I sign up on the voucher at C/IN time, then I pay the fee, but the front desk did not return the money right away. So when I C/OUT, they receive the payment again, I can't proof I've already pay it cause I didn't get receive when pay it first time. So be careful about paying any fee in a country didn't speak your language.

Except this little problem, every thing is fine, I will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Chiayilee,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and we hope that you enjoyed your family vacation in Okinawa. We highly appreciate your compliments about our facilities, too and will continue to do our best in maintaining our services in order to satisfy all of our guests.

With regards to the parking fee, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. At the same time, we would also like to thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience at the Front Desk. Your valued comments and emails will be taken into consideration, and we hope to standardize a procedure which will be easier for our team members to explain, and most importantly be free from any confusion.

We hope that you made many memories of Okinawa, but will be back again to make many more! We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Sunmarina Hotel in the near future.

Thank you and best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

very fine hotel at nice location, apparently primarily aimed at vacationers from Japan. Breakfast is great. Very pleasant staff that try hard to help, but with very poor English language ability.
Do not count on the wifi in your room. Excellent reception of a signal does not mean you are connected! For reliable internet connection go downstairs to the 3-4 ethernet cable positions that are available

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear vughtenaar,

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope that you had a pleasant stay.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, as it is the most important meal of the day!
We also appreciate your compliments and comments regarding our staff service and WIFI environment.
We will continue to emphasize our training on English communication, as we are fully aware of the importance in order to assist our guests from all over the world.
Your kind words will surely encourage our team members to brush up on their language skills, just as they have done on their service skills.
As for WIFI, securing a stable connection from all guestrooms is on top of our “MUST DO” list, and we hope to complete this task as soon as possible.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Undoubtedly it owns beautiful seascape and spacious room that are worth enough to stay, but it would be a better place if the following points I mention can be improved.
1. The sound & walls-impact insulation are not well that I constantly heard voices and felt walls-impact from other rooms, but it might be an exception since the guests were almost lively high school students in the day I stayed.
2. The receptionists' service attitudes are fine, but not good enough compared with other hotels I stayed in Okinawa, all they need are more smile and sincere interactions.
3. If free breakfast is available, as what I had when staying in other hotels in Okinawa, I would appreciate it.

In general, it's still a comfortable place to stay I thought.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Mr. YBruno,

Thank you for staying with us at Sunmarina Hotel. We hope you enjoyed our hotel facilities and services, and that the beautiful ocean view from our spacious rooms helped you relax in our resort atmosphere.
We also thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay. Your valued comments will be considered and action will be taken accordingly to maintain and further improve the convenience and comfort of all guests, especially our services at the Front Desk.

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sunmarina Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Sun Marina hotel is very reasonably price for the good quality you get. The best thing about this hotel is the pool and beach are literally linked to each other and you can swim in the sea and walk straight to the pool if you decided you need to go back to civilization.

You can find the best deal from their website direct. The provide discount for advance booking and it can be 14, 28 or 45 days (all with different discount level).

The breakfast coupon can be used for either breakfast or lunch. Excellent for people who get up late. If you get tired of the food at the hotel, you can take a cab to Moon Beach and there are lots of eatery around that around which is only 10 - 15 mins away.

You will find it difficult to get English speaking staff and I found that they usually have English staff in the morning at the reception but in the evening, you are on your own. The female staff in general speak better English than the male staff. The activities centre staff (where you book your snorkeling or diving trips etc.) do not speak english at all, but they have a manager who is Russian and he can speak both english and japanese.

The Wifi worked well near the elevator and the central area at the lobby. Almost no receiption in the room.

Love this hotel and will definitely come back to Sun Marina when I next visit Okinawa

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view but those facing the pool side are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murao, 支配人 at Sunmarina Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Uffizi930,

Thank you for staying at Sunmarina Hotel and for taking the time to share your holiday with us. We are very happy to learn that you have experienced what we, as a resort ultimately are aiming for…an atmosphere where you can feel the nature and beauty of Okinawa and forget about your usual busy city life. Then the other to enjoy the greatness and excitement of civilization.
We understand that holidays are to unwind and relax, and hope that our guests are happy of being able to choose between breakfast and lunch. We certainly do not want anybody to miss out on any of our delicious meals!
Thank you also for your valued comments regarding our staff. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused due to the lack of English speaking staff, and hope that you were still able to enjoy our facilities and services. We deeply acknowledge the importance of having English speaking staff, and will continue to conduct training strongly emphasized on English conversation.
We are also looking into the capability of providing in-room internet service as we are fully aware of the necessity of internet in the current business/leisure world.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sunmarina Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager - Sunmarina hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunmarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunmarina Hotel

Address: 66-1 Fuchaku, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0494, Okinawa Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Onna-son
#6 Spa Hotel in Onna-son
#7 Luxury Hotel in Onna-son
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#7 Family Hotel in Onna-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunmarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunmarina Hotel is a luxury resort located beachfront at Onna-son, approximately an hour's drive from Naha Airport on Route 58. All rooms have a magnificent ocean view, and the hotel provides a choiceful range of marine and beach activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Sunmarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Marina
Sunmarina Hotel Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunmarina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.