We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time and It's Even Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort to your Saves list
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2260 Serakaki, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0493, Okinawa Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Onna-son
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Second Time and It's Even Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is officially our favorite hotel in Okinawa.
We visited this hotel last year, but this year is better because we register to be IHG member before booking and got lots of facility as member (even no point yet). The beach facility, games, kayak, aqua bike, volley ball, in-line skate, golf, parasol, bicycle and many others which usually for rental, were all free for member! I spent over 25,000 yen last year for same facilities.
Hotel public area are clean, casual and chic, lively.
Room is clean, not so spacious, but who stay in the room in this very nice resort?
Their newly open Volare restaurant near beach has very nice tropical setting, sofa over the grass, under the beach, by the ocean.
Note this. If you own Amex credit card, the restaurant automatically give you 10% discount at the buffet restaurant. Staff was friendly and kind enough to tell this so I ran up to take my card from our room save box to enjoy the discount for our dinner.
I tried the spa. Massage was good, clean and better than those in Tokyo.
Sunset from this hotel is superb.
We will definitely come back again.
Oh I should mentioned, this hotel is surrounded by the beaches, mean, whichever room you got, it is ocean view.

Room Tip: Be the member. It is free and the benefit is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BjornCourage, 支配人 at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you very much for returing to ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort and above all we thank you for your kind comments which we will share with our team members as well as utilize to further enhance our future service standards.

Thank you for joining our IHG Rewards Program, being a IHG rewards program member entitles you to a wide range of exciting benefits and allows us to easily recognize and acknowledge you as a loyal IHG guest.

It will not come to a surprise to you that, as we are leading towards summer season, we will introduce various new or improved activities. Our favorite enjoyed facilities such as Submarine Junior, Ocean Park, Sunset Cruise, Para-sailing, Diving, etc of course remain as expected.

We truly hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for a third and fourth visit soon and we will do our utmost to keep improving our facilities in an effort to meet and exceed your future expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Bjorn Courage
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    299
    66
    20
    7
See reviews for
360
195
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at the ANA Intercon Manza Beach Resort for the second time last week. We are a family of four and first visited this resort last October. The resort is situated on a small pennisula, with stunning ocean views all around. This is a family style hotel with lots to do for kids such as a water park, bike rentals, pool, etc., The dining options were plentiful and high quality. It was nice to see old friends in the lounge like Mitsunaga-san and Pier Liugi who really went the extra mile to make our stay special. We really had a great time both visits and will highly recomend this hotel to our friends. Great team/great hotel!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BjornCourage, General Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear 297442James,

Thank you very much for choosing ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort and above all thank you for your most valuable feedback which we will utilize to review our service standards.

Summer season is just around the corner and many marine activities will be highly popular among our guests as will be our tennis and basketball courts. Equipment wuch as the basketball, tennis rackets and tennis balls are all available free of charge. By using the hotel operated suttle bus the access to all our facilities is within five minutes. The shuttle is most convenient however a stroll though the hotel natural landscape more charming. Please enjoy these facilities during your nest visit.

We are also pleased to hear that our resort staff's qualit y has given you good comfort.

We certainly look foward to the pleasure to welcome you back for multitple visits. and continue to enhance our improvement in a n effort to meet and exceed your future expectations.

Yours Sincerely,

Bjorn Courage
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stunning hotel, staff are fab, no matter who you meet they now their head and say hello in Japanese (I think that's what they are saying)

Room service food good value except for the French fries (very expensive)

Chinese restaurant out if this world

There are some good runs around here also

Overall worry every penny

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BjornCourage, General Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Roddym_australia,

Thank you for staying at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort and we are delighted you had a most enjoyable stay.

We also appreciate your kind and constructive comments which we will share with our colleagues as well as reviewed by the management team to further enhance our overall guest experience.

Please let us know when you visit our resort next time as we will ensure to introduce, or develop, some new runs for you.

On behalf of all of ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort colleagues we hope to welcome you back to our resort in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Bjorn Courage
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in this resort for two nights. We chose this resort was mainly because of the beautiful view and the brand of InterContinental. Also, we found a great deal during this low season period.
Most guests arrived here by their own car, so as us. Resort had a valet parking service for guest when checking in. Next time, you had to park the car yourself. They suggested the guests to park the car in the beach area and take the shuttle bus back to resort. However, we found most people parked the cars in the main entrance car park. Then we followed them. I did not know if the resort need to charge parking fee although I read from their website saying the charge is JPY500 per stay. Anyway, we did not get charged when checking out.
About the room, we booked the cheapest room as we planned to go out for sightseeing during day time. Staff suggested us to upgrade to beach view room with extra charge but we thought not worth. Anyway, our room was located on 7th floor, overseeing the chapel with extensive ocean view. The view is very impressive. I liked to stay in the balcony to listen the sea wave even a bit cold at night. The room is quite large in term of Japan standard. It is very clean. Bed is comfortable and the sofa area is good to have rest. Wifi is free in room as well.
About the dinning experience, we first would like to try the Okinawa buffet which is with culture show. However it was full when we wanted to make reservation. Then we tried the international buffet in the main restaurant. The charge is JPY4200 per person which was not cheap. But the variety of food was limited. Most foods were prepared with European style. We expected the buffet dinner should have sushi and sashimi but not appeared. Anyway, the taste of most main courses were okay. Dessert was in good standard.
For breakfast, you can choose to eat in three restaurants. One is the main restaurant offers western buffet, one is Japan style and one is Chinese style. As we already had dinner in the main restaurant, we chose to eat in Japan restaurant in the first morning and Chinese restaurant in the last morning. Frankly, the one from Chinese restaurant is better in terms of choices, taste and environment.
Since the time we came here was still cool, the pool did not open. We also visited the beach area which was quite nice. I believe the beach must be very crowded during summer. Anyway, I like the quiet beach with the sunset view just like the time we visited.
The resort also has a morning market which selling some local Okinawa food. We did not fancy on this. There are souvenir shop, convenience store and Japan wine shop inside the resort. We found the price in the convenience store is a bit expensive. I suggested to buy drink & food in the Coco shop in the entrance of the resort (walk ten mins or take the shuttle bus) or buy from outside supermarket.
Lastly, there is laundry area in the resort but it is charged. I think you can spend less then JPY1000 to clean the clothes in a washing machine. There is spa & suana area in the resort which we did not try.
Next time when we visit Okinawa, we may not stay here again although the ocean view is very impressive. Hope to try another resort during next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideoSuzuki, Executive Assistant Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Bird-Bird-Blogger,

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you as well for your feedback regarding your stay.

We appreciate your detailed comments on our facilities and offerings. We have taken notes and shared with relevant departments. I understand that you prefer the quiet beach, but we will have a new Ocean Park and a new Italian Restaurant opening in the beach area on 15 March, and it will make our beach more fun and exciting. We hope to welcome you back to Manza to give a try to these new features. Also, there is a small beach in the property just behind our Diving Pool, where you can sit and relax to enjoy the private time and beautiful sunset.

Again, thank you very much for your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours truly,

Hideo Suzuki
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed here for the first week in February. The first couple of days were warm, but the rest if the week was mild and quite wet. The sea was too cold to swim without a wetsuit.

The hotel itself is about 1-1.5 hrs from the airport. You can get a bus, taxi or hire a car. I highly recommend hiring your own car, picking it up from the airport and dropping it off there too - assuming that's your mode of transport for going to and leaving Okinawa. Car hire is cheap and you don't use a great deal of fuel. It can take time to get from place to place, but bear in mind that this is probably due to the speed limits being slow compared to other countries.

The hotel staff are polite but English proficiency is generally low and there just didn't seem to be much joy or interest in their work (across the board - not a sweeping generalisation). Nevertheless, the hotel and the room was very clean and there is free parking if you stay a minimum number of days although I forget how many.

The view from the room across the sea is wonderful. To stand on the balcony breathing in the sea air at any time if day is so nice, and this is certainly the best feature of the hotel for us.

We tried a couple of the restaurants, which were ok, but they're pretty expensive. There are lots of restaurants both nearby and a short drive away which are excellent. There is a nice afternoon tea set (tea/coffee and a slice of cake) which is good value.

Most of our time was spent driving to different parts of the island. There's plenty to see and do, and everything is at a nice, gentle, un-rushed pace.

There are a lot of public beaches to visit too, not just the hotel one which is also nice.

Overall, the hotel was adequate. Didn't feel much like the usual Intercontinental - very white, almost sterile in design and appearance. Okinawa is great place and I'd definitely visit again, but maybe when it's warmer.

Room Tip: Sea view has to be the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideoSuzuki, Executive Assistant Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear ForeverHoliday123,

Thank you very much for staying with us this month and thank you as well for sharing your feedback.

We really appreciate your detalied comments and tips regarding your trip and travelling in Okinawa in general. In winter months, sometimes it gets a little bit cool to enjoy leisure activitlies, but when sunny, the outside temperature can go up over 20C, which is warm enough.

Next month, we are opening our new Italian Restaurant in the beach area, and in swimming area, we will have new, more exciting Ocean Park, both opening on 15 March 2014. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Manza for your next vacation.

Yours Truly,

Hideo Suzuki
Executive Assistant Manager
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Indeed it is battery charging place. Natural environment really gets into you, service is great, hotel offers diving as well... Yeah, prices are not like in Thailand, however, experience is complete, and enjoyable.
I would highly recommend September/October as very warm, not too hot, and no raining period. Even though last year typhoon hit the Okinawa, and flights were delayed, i don't think it's regular activity.
Also, VERY IMPORTANT, pay attention of the time of your arrival and departure, because in case you arrive late at night, you will need to take taxi to the resort, and i bet it is not cheap since its more than an hour ride.

Although, i must say i miss some special touch of the resort. There's kinda everything, but rooms are not as highly equipped as you expect to see in intercontinental in Japan. I was very satisfied, but... I left hotel with feeling something is still missing about the whole experience.

Room Tip: hotel is indeed set that all rooms have beautiful view to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideoSuzuki, Executive Assistant Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Shenzhen,

Thank you for staying with us last year in September, and thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us.

Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding our facilities and services. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at Manza. Yes, September/October are good months to visit Okinawa as it is not too hot but warm enough and you can avoid very busy season of summer vacation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Manza and making your stay a perfect one next time.

Yours Truly,

Hideo Suzuki
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This hotel is just wonderful! Besides being a privileged place since the staff begins to treat you right from the moment you arrive at the hotel and are always smiling at you. There are several restaurants in the hotel, private beach with restricted area for children that is a dream, water sports for guests, tennis courts, swimming pool and much more. The rooms are meticulously clean, spacious and I stayed with stunning views overlooking the sea. The breakfast you can choose to take in three restaurants, Chinese, Japanese or normal that has it all. All are very good! Still watched from my balcony in a wedding chapel inside the hotel has. I have only wonderful things to talk about this hotel because I spent the best four days of my life in Okinawa, back to the same hotel for sure turn the island. Jean-Marc Poli, Thank U for everything!
Denise Amorim ( Best Trip Turismo - Owner)

Room Tip: Os que tem vista pro mar acredito que são os que mais valem a pena pois aonde o hotel se encontra va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HideoSuzuki, Executive Assistant Manager at ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you also for taking time to share your review with us.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our offerings, services and facilities, and that we were successful in making your stay at Manza the most pleasant and memorable one. The Ocean Park will be more fun and bigger and will open on 15 March 2014. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Manza to give it a try.

Yours Truly,

Hideo Suzuki
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort

Address: 2260 Serakaki, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0493, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Onna-son
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#4 Family Hotel in Onna-son
#4 Luxury Hotel in Onna-son
#4 Romantic Hotel in Onna-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Intercontinental Manza Beach Hotel Onna-Son
Intercontinental Onna Son
Onna Son Intercontinental
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.