We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Piazza Okinawa

Save Saved
You added Marine Piazza Okinawa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marine Piazza Okinawa
410 Hamamoto, Motobu-cho, Kunigami-gun, Okinawa Prefecture 905-0216, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Motobu-cho
Shiki, Japan
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Around the back of the hotel you can take a mildly amusing stroll down to see the dolphin's enclosure. You can walk around the edge of the dolphin enclosure, and when we were there, the dolphins were still jumping about although there wasn't a show happening! The hotel also keeps ponies and rabbits and goats!

The hot spring bath was fairly good. Definitely worth using.

We got dinner and breakfast included with our 1 night stay. Good value for money. Not much western food on offer - quite standard Japanese cuisine with an Okinawan flavour.

No beach by the hotel, but it's a good place to stay if you are planning a visit to the aquarium located close by.

The hotel gave us an hour's free karaoke. You have to book the room if you intend to use it. The karaoke system was not as good as most karaoke systems in Japan - the musical arrangements were not as good as usual. But you can't complain much when it's free.

To summarize: it's a hotel with a few quirks which provide a certain amount of distraction. While its not an impressive place, its not a bad place to stay, especially just for a night. It's comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had an ocean view, very beautiful view, but there was no beach. So we had to go by car to a beach nearby. The hotel was fine and if you have kids this is the hotel you should go, I strongly recommend it. As a couple, we were giving a simple room, good enough for us, but we got to see a family room and it has playing area and toys and kids books. So, if we ever have a baby, we will definitely go there again.
Breakfast was good with many dishes to choose in buffet style, several kinds of fresh fruits juices, speacil buffet table for kids, restaurante with great view to the ocean, kids friendly place, big lobby with a boat in the middle, no Internet in the rooms, but Internet in the lobby. Games room (table tennis), bycicles, swings, picnic area, lots of vending machines, KARAOKE room. I really like it, and I hope that if you visit it, you get the chance to see the dolphins they have (extra pay) and you can let your kids swim with the dolphins.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Read the few English reviews here and decided to give it a shot. Good on us! Cos it was a great stay. The resort is around a 90 min drive from the airport. Getting there was a breeze using the GPS in our rental car.
Our main purpose was to visit the Aquarium. The resort is very close, around 10min drive away.
We went during the Xmas season. There was a Xmas tree in the room! My kids were delighted.
Restaurant in the resort was just ok. Not much variety. But there are several great places to eat nearby. We stumbled across a yakiniku (Japanese BBQ) that was fantastic. Didn't get the name as it was all in Japanese. But you'll drive pass it on the way to the resort from the airport.
We didn't try the glass boats or petting zoo etc as it was very chilly and my kids had slight bronchitis when we arrived. But we could see the trainers practicing their act with the Dolphins. It was nice that we could enjoy the "show" from our room :)
The down side with the resort is trying to book the room. The resort site was in Japanese. No much English information available. We had a Japanese colleague of ours called the resort and booked the room for us. Think this problem is prevalent amongst most Japanese resorts/ hotels.
All in all a great stay, that's if you managed to book a room.

Room Tip: A few of the hotel staff speak Mandarin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadotsu-cho, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

The service was great. But we are very low maintenance. Okinawa has a much more casual atmosphere than the rest of Japan. We enjoyed the change,
Rooms were comfortable, and every room had a view of the sea. What more could you ask for?
The location was perfect for us as we wanted to spend our days at the Churaumi Aquarium and the surrounding park. An unexpected bonus was the connection to the Wellness Village Monobu where we could ride a glass bottom boat, see dolphins up close and learn about the ocean too.
Oh, I really liked their towels too.
Best 3 things:
1. Location
2. View
3. Open space, a great "back yard" with a horse for petting, rabbits, and open space for our toddler to run free. He slept well every night we spent there.

Worst 3 things:
1. The restaurant really didn't do much for us. I almost broke a tooth on some hidden bone. Breakfast was serviceable, with an Okinawa flair. Not horrible, just kind of there. But we explored a little and found some great restaurants nearby.
2. Concrete halls. Echo. Echo. Echo.
3. Shower head in the room was brutal. But the big, communal bath down stairs was much better.

Overall:
We loved our stay here, and are seriously considering returning again next year. There was just so much freedom for our son to run around and play, learn and explore. We went during the off-season and the prices were very reasonable, especially compared to some of the other mega-resorts. I don't think we would have had such a good time at one of those. If you are single, or retired? You might not enjoy it so much, but with younger Children? We can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Marine Piazza in February of 2007, after recommendations from a friend and obtained good off-season rates. The hotel was clean and modern, its buffet restaurant is very good, and all rooms have a balcony with an ocean view. There are separate mens' and womens' Japanese baths available to hotel guests, and a full range of sailing and sightseeing activities. It is very near the Okinawa Churami Aquarium, the butterfly park and the ferry to Ie Shima. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. This restaurant and hotel are great for families with children.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marine Piazza Okinawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Piazza Okinawa

Address: 410 Hamamoto, Motobu-cho, Kunigami-gun, Okinawa Prefecture 905-0216, Japan
Location: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Motobu-cho
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Motobu-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN and Rakuten so you can book your Marine Piazza Okinawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Piazza Okinawa Okinawa Prefecture/Motobu-Cho, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Piazza Okinawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.