We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant family ski holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Villa Nozawa

Save Saved
You added Alpine Villa Nozawa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Villa Nozawa
6631 Oaza-Toyosato | Nozawa-Onsen-Mura, Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun, Nagano Prefecture 389-2502, Japan (Nozawa Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant family ski holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We haven't even left yet, but I have to rave about Alpine Villa Nozawa's stand-alone Nozawa Cottage. Our family of 4 has spent the past week in the winter wonderland of Nozawa (even though it's spring!) and will struggle to pack up and leave tomorrow.

The cottage has everything you need to be comfortable - kitchen, cosy heating, tv with loads of movies (for adults and kids) for lazy afternoons and nights, WiFi, washing machine/dryer and views of the mountains. It is just a few minutes walk to the gondola and allows complete independence but with the knowledge that the staff down at the Villa are there to help if we need anything at all (very useful with the limited English spoken by the locals).

On arrival, Gabriel showed us around the cottage, which had already been stocked with a good supply of breakfast ingredients including eggs, bread, milk, vegemite, cereals, jam, tea, coffee and giant apples. He later kitted us out with the necessary ski gear we needed from the rental office at the Villa and then drove us back up the hill (as we parked our car in their lot). He and his wife have continued to help us out whenever needed, even providing a bandage for our daughter’s sprained knee. They are fantastic!

We admit to having been somewhat lazy after our days skiing (especially with the snowfall), only venturing out for dinner a couple of times and instead cocooning with homemade meals (we stocked up in Nagano - but there are also some basic supermarkets in the village), books and movies.

All in all fantastic !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Hello ten2one,

Thanks for the review.

Great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. You’ve mentioned most of the things we try to get across on our website - it sounds so much better coming from a happy guest! Glad to hear everything at the cottage was perfect for your stay, we try to kit it out as well as possible. The cottage is only a couple of seasons old, but we’ve had a phenomenal response to it.

Thanks again and safe travels,

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

If my husband and I were to chose from the 5 different Ryokans and Hotels we stayed in during our 8 day tour of Japan, we would rate this villa our best lodging experience! We stayed in some of the most amazing places in Japan, but this one tops the list... and by a margin! There are quite a few reasons for the same:

1. Everybody there speaks English, which is a relief if you are a Non-Japanese speaking tourist.
2. Everyone is warm and caring which makes the place feel like home. Fellow travellers can be seen relaxing in the lounge (which had been given the look and feel of a living room in your home) either reading books, listening to music, drinking sake, or just chilling out... The entire atmosphere is cozy and comfortable and immediately puts you at ease.
3. You can cook your own food if you are choosy or have special culinary requirements.
4. One of the staff members very strongly recommended we try the neighbouring onsen (public bath) and though we were initially hesitant, we gave it a try and were not disappointed! The experience was... for lack of better word.. magical! :)
5. They have comfortable rain boots and umbrellas for you to carry around when you visit the village and places nearby. A very thoughtful gesture since it can get pretty slushy during rains

I want to thank Mark and the rest of his staff for making our first day in Japan a memorable experience!

Strongly recommended to anyone travelling to Japan. Nagano and the villa are definitely worth a day's trip. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Hi 5shyams,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review and let others know about your stay.

We’re thrilled to hear you had such a fantastic time! So pleased that little things like the umbrellas, lounge and kitchen facilities made your time here so much more enjoyable. We try very hard to provide guests with the best experience possible and it’s great to hear we were able to help.

The onsens really are amazing - so many guests are hesitant to try them, but it’s so worth the experience. So glad you gave them a try!

Thanks again for the kind words and safe travels,

Mark and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Mark and the team always put on a good time, and guests are made to feel like family. Nozawa itself might be a little tricky for non-japanese speakers flying solo but these guys make everything simple. Good value for money and great fun.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Hi morinomiya,

Thanks for the taking the time to leave such a great review!

So pleased to hear you had such a nice stay - Nozawa Onsen really is a beautiful village and it’s great to hear you enjoyed your time here.

Thanks also for your kind words about the staff - I’ve passed your comments on to the team.

Happy travels,

Mark and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Had a superb stay in Nozawa at the Villa. Great staff, Mark has that great combination of being laid back but also very professional, Kyoko was exceptionally helpful too us and thanks also to Gabriel. Nozawa is one of those magical places that you just hope doesn't turn into another Niseko and recently Hakuba. Anybody going to Nozawa please respect local social protocols in the onsens etc, it would be a huge shame if we were suddenly not so welcomed in this beautfiul place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Hello Steve G

Thanks for your kind feedback. I've passed on your nice words to the entire team - appreciate it.

And yes, one of the charms of Nozawa Onsen is the ski village feel rather than a big resort. We hope it stays like this forever.

Thanks again Steve and happy travels.

Regards

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed at Villa Nozawa for 3 nights from 27th Dec 2011 with 3 mates. The lodge has a great Japanese feel that fits right in with the quaint old Japanese ski village that is Nozawa Onsen. For non-Japanese speaking tourists this is the place to stay. Mark and his staff are super friendly and welcoming, organise everything you need and advice on where to eat was invaluable - every single meal we had on recommendation was phenomenal!

Stayed in the Japanese tatami rooms which have all the space you need, provide a great Japanese experience and given the price, the value is outstanding. Great breakfasts included too.

The lodge is a 100m walk to the slopes which is super easy and convenient - especially if you're a powderhound looking for first lifts. Nozawa Onsen terrain is excellent, some nice steeps, trees and plenty of powder - it simply didn't stop snowing while we were there but for a few brief glimpses when the sun poked through.

Short walk to the heart of the village with restaurants and a few bars. Nice hot onsen to soak the sore muscles after a day on the slopes is located directly behind the lodge.

In short, I'd recommend Villa Nozawa for anyone from families with kids to mates on a powder trip. Outstanding value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Hello David V

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and let others know about us. Really appreciate the support.

Glad you had such a blast and that our recommendations worked out so well.
Breakfasts are a big hit and fuel people up for a big day on the slopes. Important this year with amazing snow!

Pleased you found Villa Nozawa such terrific value too and enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again for the review.

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Mark and everyone at the lodge are not only friendly but also helpful and patient with the guests. The staffs are around all the time and available to answer any questions you have about the ski slope and the town. From my room, the bathroom, the common area to the ski/gears room, it's so clean that I have no problem walking with just my socks on at all. The lodge is only 10 mins walk to the slope and 3 mins walk to the nearest hot springs. The town center is also walkable distance from the lodge. Breakfast is fantastic and it is included in the room price already. I have such an amazing experience at Nozawa and I'm going back to Villa Nozawa for sure! Mark and the crew, thanks for being such wonderful host!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Hi Carmen N

Wow! What a great review - thanks for the support.

You've mentioned everything we try and get across and it sounds much better coming from a happy guest. So thanks for that.

I've passed your feedback onto everyone here. Hope to see you next season!

Kind Regards

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

Great place- very nice. We had great skiing and a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NozawaHolidays, Owner at Alpine Villa Nozawa, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Hi Vertullo

Thanks so much for the review and rating. Great to hear you had such a wonderful time.

Regards

Mark and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Villa Nozawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Villa Nozawa

Address: 6631 Oaza-Toyosato | Nozawa-Onsen-Mura, Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun, Nagano Prefecture 389-2502, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Nozawaonsen-mura > Nozawa Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 137 Specialty lodging in Nozawaonsen-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alpine Villa Nozawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Villa Nozawa Japan/Nagano Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Villa Nozawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.