We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kawaichiya Ryokan

Save Saved
You added Kawaichiya Ryokan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kawaichiya Ryokan
8923-1 Toyosato, Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun, Nagano Prefecture 389-2502, Japan (Nozawa Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Second visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in Kawaichiya in Jan 2009, and again in January 2013. We were not disappointed. Kesanari Kono is a great host, and the Ryoken is great value. We are a family with teen-age kids. Last time we had a family room with en-suite, this time two rooms with private toilet. The onsen is so good that a private bathroom is not necessary.The accommodation is clean and comfortable, the food is excellent and the staff are helpful. The Onsen is great. I have recommended this place to many friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in February on our maiden trip to Japan and also our maiden skiing holiday. Kawaichiya was perfect - in a town where little English is spoken, the owner was extremely helpful in giving us directions and lots of helpful advice. Staff very hospitable.

The room was very basic - just two (slightly lumpy) beds but we didn't mind. The highlight of the place for us was the onsen - they were just super and unlike the ones in the village which can get VERY crowded, the one in the inn was pretty quiet (and has both indoor and outdoor options).

would highly recommend Nozawa and Kawaichiya.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We travelled as a family with our two sons to Nozawa Onsen for a week of skiing. This was our first time skiing in Japan and we had decided to stay in a traditional Ryokan. This was a good decision since we had a very nice stay at Kawaichiya with all family members enjoying the week very much. We stayed in a traditional Japanese room with connecting bathroom. Despite not being used to sleeping on tatami beds, we found it very nice. The very friendly staff around Kono-san and his team made us feel very welcome. The Japanese breakfast was very good with some changes to the menu every day, even though our two sons might have wanted some western style choices as well after a few days. The inhouse onsen baths were very welcoming and relaxing after a full day of skiing, this was certainly one of the highlights of the day. The only thing we did not get used to was the allowance to smoke in the corridor outside our room as well as in one part of the lobby. We would have preferred to have a choice to stay at a non-smoking floor, if possible. Despite this, we had a great week and we would love to return to both Kawaichiya and Nozawa Onsen again.

Room Tip: The rooms to the street seemed to have very nice views and larger windows.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights to ski and visit the hot springs. Our main concern before the trip was that it would be cold in the room. It wasn't, at all. We chose to have only breakfast at the hotel, and eat dinner out on the town. Our kids ended up not liking the breakfast so much (they're 2&4), since they're not used to eating hot foods in the morning. So we bought some bread in town. As for the rooms, they are typical ryokan rooms. I.e. quite boring decorations (brown naked walls), and quite hard floor. Personally, I find tatami floors too hard to sleep on (we stayed in japanese room), but it's a part of being in Japan, and not Kawaichiya's fault.
The onsen in town are not that accessible with kids, so we ended up using the one at the hotel every day instead. It's small, but very relaxing and convenient.
The service is excellent, very friendly and helpful. We tried their dinner once, which was quite nice. The breakfast changed almost every day, so their dinner probably does too.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was the first time to Nozawa Onsen. In tow were my wife and two kids 7 and 8 years old. Also, never skied before. The public bus from the train station dropped us in the heart of the village. It was a 7 min walk to the Ryokan. Bear in mind that we were pulling luggage and kids in the snow. We had good directions from the bus driver who knew this ryokan; and Koni-San gave us direction and signs to look out for.

Our room was ready when we arrived at 1pm. We managed to get in a ski lesson in the afternoon. The travellator was about 15 mins walk from the ryokan Uphill! Not a good walk when carrying skis, poles, helmets and boots for myself and kids.

What was really good is Kono-San speaks English. He explained how to rent the skis, where to eat, how to read the timetable for the bus, what time is dinner and breakfast, how to use the onsen, which was the best onsen in the village (naturally it was his) etc. In a country where English is hard to come by, him being in a village and able to converse with us was great!
He was always helpful as with most Japanese.

The room was clean and heating was very good. There wasn't traffic noise so great if want to sleep in. Breakfast is fixed at 8 am. I thought it was like a buffet so didn't turn up until 830 am. Of course, we had a call by then and was the last to leave the dining hall.

Soap and shampoo were provided in the bath area. Hair dryer to dry hair as well. The toilet was roomy with the usual heated toilet seat.

Also, free wifi which was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I were staying in this hotel for 4 nights during our ski trip in Feb 2013. This is our first time to ski in Nozawa Onsen and this hotel is just located at the heart of this small city, easily access to everything surrounding it, the ski ground, shops, public bath, transportation...etc. The staffs there (esp Kono san who can speak reasonably good English) were very friendly, cheerful, polite and willing to help whenever being asked. We requested a Japanese room and were placed in a quiet corner at the top of the old building. The Onsen was just located downstairs, good enough that you need not to squeeze with local people in the public baths after a hectic day in skiiing. Food is good and overall price is quite reasonable. When you stay there remember to get discount coupon for cheap ski rental in a nearby shop!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This year was our 3rd year back at Nozawa Onsen, and our 3rd year staying at Kawaichiya ryokan. Kono san has looked after us on all of our stays and we are always impressed with the spotless rooms, excellent service and fresh traditional Japanese food. The hot springs are very clean and are a fantastic way to finish the day. We travel with our teenage son and stay in a Japanese stylle room and we love the experience. The staff are very friendly, and despite the lack of English, will always go out of their way to help. This is a true traditional Japanese experience, a family run hotel that offers an excellent place to stay at an exceptional good price. We plan to return to Nozawa Onsen and to Kawaichiya again and again and again....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kawaichiya Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawaichiya Ryokan

Address: 8923-1 Toyosato, Nozawaonsen-mura, Shimotakai-gun, Nagano Prefecture 389-2502, Japan
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Nozawaonsen-mura > Nozawa Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Nozawaonsen-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nozawa Onsen Kawaichiya is a Japanese style ryokan located in Nozawa Onsen. Please enjoy with our excellent hot springs and local dishes. All rooms are Free Wifi, Non Smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Rakuten so you can book your Kawaichiya Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawaichiya Ryokan Japan/Nagano Prefecture

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawaichiya Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.