We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service. Very friendly. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hakuba Yamano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hakuba Yamano Hotel to your Saves list
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
3477 Hokujo | In fron of Jump Stadium, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture (Hakuba happou Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 stars 63 Reviews
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service. Very friendly. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here in jan 2014 for 4 days. The staff work really hard to keep their guests happy. We had two adults and two kids. The setup was great as we slept downstairs and the kids had their own Japanese style beds in an upstairs loft area. It's about a 10 min walk to the nearest ski lift. Overall great stay. The kids loved the food and practicing Japanese with the friendly staff. The guests are mostly Aussies.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We are so happy we decided to stay at Yamano hotel in Hakuba. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. The hotel is in a perfect location for access to the ski fields with incredible views. A great place for families.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in the Hakuba Yamano Hotel in March 2013. The hotel is located in front of the Olympic ski jumps which gave a great view from the dining room. The room we stayed in was very large, ideal for accommodating ski wear. Our room was a twin rather than a double which we'd have preferred but the beds were large and comfortable but the decor and bathroom was tired. We had read many reviews that suggested the food was good, however we were a little disappointed and ate out most nights after the first meal. The breakfast did the job but wasn't amazing. This hotel is a little walk away from the main gondola and ski hire, but they are more than happy to provide a shuttle service into town when required. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We are extremely grateful for the hospitality shown by Keita San and Monika San.

The hotel is a perfect location to grab first lifts, which are only about 300m walk.

We got some great recommendations on local restaurants from Keita San, as well as lifts in the hotel minibus to the further afield ones.

The hotel onsen is a great way to finish after a full day at Happo. All in all, a great Japanese experience.

Will be back - next time with the family.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed 4 nights with our family and i have to say it's a great place. Great service and very helpful staff. Shuttle service, ski pass delivery.

Top management (owners) are very dedicated and we had lot of fun too.

Location is just fantastic, abt 300m from ski departure. You will find pleasure, good food and family care in Yamano hotel. We will come back.

Hotel is recommended.
Vincent

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient purpose built ski accommodation only a short distance from the chairlift in Happo, Hakuba.
The beds are comfortable and breakfast a perfect start to an active day on Hakuba's various ski fields.
The Husband and Wife team were extremely helpful, friendly and very attentive to customer needs especially with travel advice,transportation needs and I was pleased to be able to also rent modern, comfortable and affordable ski equipment from the lodge adding to the convenience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

3 nights 24-26 over in Dec 2012

Location:
Good location! Just situated outside the olympic ski jump ramp, the Happo One skier is just a 10-15min walk, approx 300m away from the Nakiyama chair lift. If you intend to venture out to the other ski locations, the shuttle bus stop is just across the road from the hotel entrance.

Accommodation:
Rooms are clean and cosy with all the basic necessities you will need. Toilets are small but include a mini bathtub which can accommodate the average slim sized adult (but why use the bathtub when the hotel provides complimentary onsen for guests), Decent shower head provides good pressure with a hot shower (excellent after a long ski day!). Basic toiletries such as towels, shampoo and soap are provided. Ski locker room available in the basement with direct access to the outside.

Staff/Management/Service:
This is where the hotel truly shines as a favorite, like many great businesses, its the people that make it great. Keita san the hotel manager is one of the most sincere, accommodating, all round all round nice guys! (not to mention he used to ski jump competitively!) He helped us arrange for ski gear rental, ski lift passes, helped us get around Hakuba, help arrange dinner reservations, helped us with our taxi transfers and really went the extra mile to make sure we had a comfortable stay.

Conclusion:
Thumbs up! Great place, great experience! I must say, the selfish side of me didn't want to write this review because I don't want the hotel to be full when I next go back. But I would feel hellofa guilty if I don't. Keita san and Monica san, you are both superstars! Domo arigato gozaimasu! Dewa, mata chikai uchini.

Jonathan Tan (from Singapore)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hakuba Yamano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Yamano Hotel

Address: 3477 Hokujo | In fron of Jump Stadium, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#3 Spa Hotel in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best powder skiing holiday in Hakuba!Hakuba Yamano Hotel offers cozy accommodation, great mountain views, easy access to ski resorts, hot spring & sauna, delicious food and knowledgeable staff. Ranked by Michelin Green Guide Book for 2009 for its superior service, food and rooms.There are 5, 7 Nights and 10 Night Packages including Lift Passes available. Packages can be booked with breakfast and dinner or with breakfast only.A delicious breakfast, a mix of Western and Japanese and transfers in Hakuba when you stay. You can also choose a Japanese style dinner or a 5 course Western dinner included package. Also for early bird bookings we offer 15% off from our rates/person/night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Rakuten so you can book your Hakuba Yamano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamano Hotel Hakuba Mura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakuba Yamano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.