We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel in an awesome location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butter Milk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Butter Milk to your Saves list
Butter Milk
4266 Hokujo Happo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 stars 7 Reviews
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family run hotel in an awesome location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Really loved our stay at Buttermilk in January. Naoko and Eiichi regularly went out of their way to help and make sure we had a great time. We stayed with another family and the room set up was ideal with all four kids in a bunk bed room. The location next to the gondola is fantastic with transport close by and a very short walk to ski hire. Everything is well set up for both beginner and advanced skiers with an easily accessible and secure drying room. Great hosts who were happy to let us stay up late in the bar playing cards - highly recommend Buttermilk and the amazing skiing at Hakuba

Room Tip: Choose western or traditional Japanese style rooms. All are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed at Buttermilk for 12 days over Jan / Feb 2014. The hosts Naoko and Eiichi were amazing and went to a great effort to ensure a great stay. The location is fantastic, right on the snow and next to the gondola. The food was very tasty and filling after a big day skiing. Couldn't recommend it any higher.

Troy Q

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I had a fantastic stay at Butter Milk for 10 nights during January 2014. I cannot more highly recommend this pension; the owners are amazingly generous and friendly. The location could not be closer to the main gondola and one of the major ski runs, you cannot beat the location for ski in/ski out. It is also next door to the gondola bus stop and very close to many restaurants, onsens, and a short walk to the information centre.
We stayed in the double western rooms, plentiful space, lovely views out the windows. The building has a sun room facing the slopes which we used most days for après-ski. Served western or a Japanese breakfast which is well worth a try.

Room Tip: Both side of the building have views of the slops and ski lifts does not matter what room is chosen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butter Milk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butter Milk

Address: 4266 Hokujo Happo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 353 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at Happo Gondola station square. We are only one ski-in ski-out accommodation of slope to Gondola station. Also here is also another lift boarding area. We are offering No.1 fantastic access to snow to you! Pls check it on Google Map as Butter Milk, Hakuba.Gondola area is also so convenient to explore restaurants & bars, grocery store,rental shop. Because here is the center of Happo. Bus stop for night clubbing & other snow resort in Hakuba is next door to us.We are Japanese family owned & operated lodge with very welcoming Japanese hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Butter Milk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butter Milk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.