We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, horrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Ridge Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ridge Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
The Ridge Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Japanese Pension   |   4608 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture (Hakuba happou Onsen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

It's beautiful, modern, comfy, luxurious. So it fitted the price. However the service is horrible. We (family with 2 kids) booked with friends (also family with 2 kids) 2 two-bedroom apartments. We were told that these were not available and they offered us the 4 BDR de luxe apartment for the same price. We accepted this. However, when we wanted a confirmation, we were told that something went wrong with the booking and if we were OK with a 3 BDR apartment with an adjacent separate BDR. We accepted this, with the promise that this extra bedroom would be next to the apartment. When we arrived the extra BDR was on a different floor. This of course is unacceptable with small children. And the 3 BDR apartment turned out to be a 2 BDR appt. This we were not told about. They just brought us to the apartment and pretended nothing was wrong. So now we had a 4 person apartment for 8 people. The kitchen only had 2 burners. We asked for extra plates/cutlery but ended up fetching this ourselves from the kitchen. The 1st night we were offered a dinner in the restaurant as a compensation. However it turned out to be only for the main course. Not for a starter or a drink. The staff is generally moody as if we were a burden instead of a guest.
As for the apartments, however nice they are, it would be nice if they had been cleaned. The beds were made, but the floor not even vacuumed, let alone the cups or dishes cleaned.
We had one small towel and no wash cloth for 2 adults, and no spare toilet paper.
After 2 days we asked if the apartment could get a vacuum clean. They did, but then the bedrooms didn't. The wonderful breakfast buffet from the website, didn't have any fresh fruit and only had white bread. So in general, get a new staff and a new attitude and it could be a really nice place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakuba1, General Manager at The Ridge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review Hakuba Hana Hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our luxurious modern hotel and apartments over the weekend.
There was a mix up with your original booking and once again our sincerest apologies regarding this. We were pleased that your family and friends accepted the other option of a three bedroom apartment with a hotel room across the hall which sleeps 8 people in total. The reason the new configuration was not mentioned to yourself on check in, was that it was previously discussed with your travelling companion earlier and he approved the changes.
We were delighted to hear that your group settled into the three bedroom apartment and the hotel room, as when the four bedroom apartment became available the following day it was immediately offered to you but you declined.
The bedding configuration included a total of 6 beds in the apartment and one king size bed in the adjacent hotel room.
I am sorry about the misunderstanding re. the complimentary dinner; as it was explained to a person in your group that a main meal was on offer. I do hope you enjoyed your meal in The Ridge Restaurant.
Hakuba Hana Hotel and Apartments has a very high standard with housekeeping and we pride ourselves on our cleanliness. The apartments are self contained, dishwashers are provided along with dishwasher tablets for your convenience. The kitchen is equipped with a microwave and convection oven, along with an induction cook top and I am sorry you found these insufficient.
Our buffet has a variety of foods on rotation to satisfy as many requirements as possible.
Our guest service levels are of the utmost importance to us as we always endeavor to exceed our guests’ expectations.
We have welcomed hundreds of guests during this fantastic season and look forward to many more. I regret your stay did not meet your expectations and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to surpass them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moree
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We travelled to Hakuba for the first time in Jaunary this year. We chose the Hana Hakuba from the internet because the apartment style rooms looked perfect for our family. We were really impressed when we arrived. The apartment was really large and modern and the view from our bedroom was amazing (the Happo-One mountain). Our children who are young (6,3) were made to feel extremely welcome. The staff were gorgeous to them and they absolutely loved the play room. The kids room had a lot of games and a Wii and X-Box. We could have a drink or a chat with adults in the bar knowing our children were safe and happy. The food in the restaurant was also great. We ate there twice in the week.

The location is excellent ie very close to good restaurants and a pub and also very short walk to Happo-One. There is an Onsen accross the road we used a lot. The staff were also very happy to drive us around if need be.

We loved our week at the Hana Hakuba and Happo-One.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We've just returned from the Hakuba Hana resort and feel most privileged to have found ourselves there. Having never been to this area before the most insight we had was the internet, so our choice was somewhat guesswork as well. However we were pleasantly surprised - most places look good in a brochure shot but don't live up to the same standard in reality - Hakuba Hana was the reverse. This is a very chic and modern property that has stylish finishes throughout. The staff are professional and friendly as well as hands on in many areas, one day they'll be delivering your kids a video for the evening, then next they're driving you down to a local sushi restaurant to complete a fantastic day in beautiful Hakuba. Wonderful place, don't hesitate to go. Meredith, Port Douglas

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW,Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We loved the Hana Resort, staff and everything the Hotel had to offer. The kids room was excellent with Wii and XBOX. The Hotel is a short walk to Happo-One. Staff will drive you anywhere in the village. Indoor/Outdoor Onsen across the road. Ski Hire and shop across the road.Restaurants nearby.Great location.The Hotel is very child friendly.The lounge,bar and dining room has stunning views to the mountains and when it snows it is beautiful. The apartments are modern and have everything you need,with views to the mountain and ski fields.You do need to bring a power adaptor to charge cameras etc. We loved the Hana and the Hakuba - Happo-One skiing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The first thing that stands out about the Hana Hotel is the beautifully designed and furnished communal areas. The main "living room", for example, has a lovely fireplace, large modern couches, flat-screen TV and the bar is only a few paces away. The other relaxation areas look much the same.
The main hotel rooms are extremely comfortable, with modern furnshings (good quality proper beds, easy-to-use heating system, flat-screen TVs), but with a nod of the head to Japanese tradition with traditional style tatami flooring and cupboards. The self-contained apartments, which have their own kitchen and living room areas, are also beautifully decorated, with modern fittings and appliances throughout.
The service was excellent, with the staff making every effort to meet our expectations and also to accommodate special requests. The hotel is Australian owned and staffed, so there are no language problems for English speakers.
The hotel's restaurant offered a top quality dinner menu comprising a controlled selection of thoughtful dishes. The Hakuba area has a number of restaurants, most of which are nearby, so there are alternatives if required.
For skiing, the nearest ticket office and chairlift was a short walk away. The hotel has a basement area with plenty of space for equipment, including 2 drying rooms. There is a good onsen (traditional hot bath) across the road in another hotel which can be used by non-residents.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

What a magnificent time we had in Hakuba, made that much more enjoyable having stayed at Hana Resort. We were literally a 5min walk to the chair lift at the bottom of Happo (the main slope in Hakuba).
To return to a room as comfortable as that at the end of the day was out of this world, the King bed was lush! We decided to sleep with the curtains open so that we could wake up to one of the most amazing views of the mountain and surrounds covered in fresh snow every morning.
Masashi the manager was so helpful and even drove us to get ski hire, groceries when we needed, picked us up and dropped us off at the bus.
A truely beautiful hotel, which comes with our highest recommendations. Thank you Hakuba Hana Resort for making our holiday even more memorable.

  • Liked — The overall room was amazing, great view, spacious, comfortable
  • Disliked — Leaving! Truely we had such a good time, there was nothing to complain about
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ridge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 4608 Hokujo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ridge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the prestigious Wadano area, only an easy, flat 200m from the base of the largest ski resort Happo One, this hidden jewel offers unparalleled Western style accommodation, luxury amenities and service. Surrounded by restaurants, bars and onsens, The Ridge is the ideal location for everyone. Complimentary buffet breakfast, plus daily shuttle service to supermarket and surrounds, and located opposite the resort bus and ski school collection/drop-off point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Ridge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ridge Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.