We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place (We will be back!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Alpine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hakuba-mura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aqua Alpine Hotel
Save
You added Aqua Alpine Hotel to your Saves list
22203-151 Kamishiro, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9211, Nagano Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Place (We will be back!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had a great time, very nice place to stay.
We have never come across such great service. They go the extra mile for you.
Everything was great. Food at the Hotel was beautiful.
The only minor negative point worth mentioning would be there was no English TV channels in the room.
Apart from that "All Good"

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Besides the skiing, which was incredible, this hotel was as good as it gets.

The hotel itself is walking distance to Hakuba, and a 30 min drive to another 3 or 4 great mountains (5 min to Happone). The restaurants in the area are great. A 5 min walk had us eating some wonderful Chinese and Hibachi. The rooms were big and comfortable, and the shower had great pressure.

The kitchen was top notch. An American style breakfast was a treat, and we had dinner there one night which was fantastic (Goat Cheese Stuffed Chicken with roasted potatoes). The bar is great too - you're sure to meet some fun Aussies as you unwind by the fire.

The staff was the best I experienced in Japan (Tokyo, Nagoya, Kyoto, Osaka, Nagoya). They did everything from clean the room to guide you around the mountains. We also had an in-room massage after a couple days of skiing, which was worth every yen.

When I'm back in Nagano, I will be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed at the Aqua Alpine Hotel on three separate weekends during February and March 2012 and would highly recommend it as a place to stay for anybody looking to go skiing or snowboarding in Hakuba. Josh, Akbar and the team are so incredibly friendly and helpful - if there is anything that you need, or anywhere you need to go, just ask them! The cafe, bar and rooms are all newly renovated, well maintained and spacious and high speed wifi internet keeps you connected with the world when you are not out on the slopes. Breakfast is a real treat (particularly for a vegemite-starved Aussie living abroad!) and the meals served throughout the day are fantastic. I will definitely return again for the 2012-2013 ski season!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stay here and enjoy quite fun, rest and don't forget the relaxation in the special 'onsen-like' bath. Management was friendly and highly accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I would best describe Aqua Alpine as being like a home away from home. The place was comfortable and welcoming.

We stayed in a Mountain Room which had everything you need. King size bed as well as a Single bed(but we didn't need it),, fridge, ensuite, hair dryer, tv, DVD. It had more than ample space and large wardrobe. The room was squeaky clean! Bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Cannot find any fault with the room at all. Room was serviced daily and with fresh towels too.

The bar and restaurant area was fantastic. With the big comfy couches to sit down and relax on after a long day it was just like being at home. Sitting around the open fire enjoying a drink was heaven, what more could you want!

The service and the people were the most amazing part of our stay. We were always made feel welcome and they couldn't do enough for you. Everyone there was fantastic.

The laundry was great. You just need to but your washing powder and the washer and dryers are free to use. Washing powder is available at reception.

Didn't try the Onsen but will next time. The Pool room was fun with a great DVD library which are free to borrow.

We will be going back to Aqua Apline for sure. Will be taking the kids and staying in the Garden Room for our next visit. See you again soon Josh and the Team! Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Spent 2 nights at Aqua Alpine. Staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable. Offered to book lessons, rentals, reservations etc. did not need to ask. Bar/restaurant is large and very laid back. Loved sitting in front of the large fire. Hotel is a few minutes drive from most of the Hakuba restaurants and stores, so unable to walk around town.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya-shi, Aichi, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I stayed at Aqua Alpine with a group of business colleagues for a long weekend. There were other guests staying as well, but it truly fell that we had the hotel to ourselves. The restaurant/bar/lounge was a great place to relax and unwind, and the rooms were large and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, setting up our lift tickets, rentals, providing transportation, and answering questions. It was a very personalized experience--especially compared to a chain hotel.

The food was spectacular (we ate breakfast and dinner there everyday), and the amenities were quite nice (dry room with personal lockers, DVD library and in-room DVD players, in-room iPod stereo, mini refrigerator, pool table, wood-burning fireplace, and a private onsen).

I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Alpine Hotel

Address: 22203-151 Kamishiro, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9211, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Alpine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.