We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penke Panke Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Penke Panke Lodge to your Saves list
Penke Panke Lodge
4836 Hokujo | Happo Wadanomori, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Penke Panke Lodge and had the best time imaginable. It was recommended to us by a friend and Penke lived up to that recommendation and the other reviews on Tripadvisor! We stayed in a Queen Room with en-suite and it was clean, quiet, warm and very comfortable. The proximity of Penke to the Happo-one lifts is also a massive advantage. It is only a very short walk to the Sakka Lifts, and if you want to visit other mountains there is also a bus stop there. There was a wide variety of guests staying whilst we were there from singles, couples, families and small groups. The Penke Bar that is next door was the perfect place to have an evening drink and provided a cool atmosphere for the everyone with the live music that was on each night.

The previous reviews are spot on about the staff. Justin and his team cannot do enough to help out and made our stay so easy. Whether it was booking us dinner and tours, to the daily runs they do to the ATM's/Supermarket/Onsens to organizing the most suitable lift tickets the staff could not be faulted. If like us you want to eat out, the street that Penke Panke is on has quite a few places to eat (Mimasakatei was our pick, the Shabu-Shabu was awesome) or you can eat at the Penke Bar which does excellent food also! If you prefer to cook for yourself, there was a massive share kitchen that seem to be well utilized.

Overall the lodge seemed to cater for many walks of life and suited our stay perfectly. We couldn't fault it and already looking and next at seasons trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
29
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here just before the start of the official season so there were a few little 'startup' issues with breakfasts etc. However, the staff went out of their way to do anything they could to help out - lent me some boots, rented us (at a REALLY cheap price) snow goggles because we had forgotten to get them from the ski hire place, drove us anywhere we wanted to go at any time and were generally wonderful!
However, the actual accommodation is a little 'eclectic' to put it politely so if you like your 5-star modern hotels, this place is not for you! I also found that I got terrible hayfever every time I walked into our rooms so there were probably some mould/fungus issues somewhere.
But these were minor gripes and more than overcome by the unbelievable service and friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A great lodge, well managed with friendly staff that seems to attract great guests also! Together making for a friendly, fun and hassle free holiday. They cater nicely to a mix of families and independent travellers and seem to pride themselves on repeat business. Get there and enjoy the fantastic hospitality and great mountains and you'll soon become a returning customer also. Thanks Penke for a great stay and I look forward to next time I can get back to Hukuba!

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've just spent the past week at Penke Panke and would have to rate it as one of the best lodges I've ever stayed at

Justin and the team do a great job at looking after their guests, from booking tours, pickup and drop-off to the train station or bus terminal as well as daily supermarket and ATM runs.

I was lucky enough to secure a self contained apartment room as I enjoy a hostel social environment, but prefer my own bedroom & bathroom.

The lodge itself has a great feel to it, with guests ranging from young singles, couples and family's

The separate bar and bistro was great with awesome live music! If you have been to Japan you will know that the food is amazing almost everywhere you go, and the food at the Penke bistro is no exception.

There are some great options in Hakuba however I found myself eating dinner here three out of the six nights because I enjoyed it so much

Location is good as the lodge is situated a short 1 min walk from the ski lifts and quite a few good restaurants and bars.

I'll definitely come back to Penke and will have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

Thanks again to Justin and the team, couldn't be happier!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Penke Panke in Jan 2012 - It was excellent.
We had spent many hours researching and were glad that the research paid off. We traveled with 2 families with kids. The 2 bedroom apartment is excellent if you can book it. The lodge is not 5 star accommodation but we did not want that, pay for that or expect that. It was clean, warm, the staff are very friendly, the food was great. The location of the lodge is excellent as the kids can walk to the lifts so you aren't dependent on the bus which was usually full. The owner/manager - Justin - will help you organise anything. It has a great area outside for the kids to build snow forts and muck around, play and build jumps. We ate out nearly every night and walked most nights somewhere different. Skiing - well AWESOME. Cant wait we are heading back there again in 2 weeks!!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartment is big and gives the kids room to chill out if they need it. It even has a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

3 season in a row, keep coming back as there's absolutely nothing to complain about - the place is awesome, the crew super helpful, the location perfect, the atmosphere fun and happy, the place clean and well looked after by Justin and his hand picked team of gnarly shredders!! See you guys in January!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We looked around for quite a while before we found this great cozy lodge in Hakuba. Great service by very friendly staff. Sooo close to the Happo One lifts, which is very very convenient. Cool Bar on the same property for extra convenience too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penke Panke Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penke Panke Lodge

Address: 4836 Hokujo | Happo Wadanomori, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 359 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Penke Panke Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penke Panke Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.