We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned duty, hospitality and costomer service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tregarth Homestay B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tregarth Homestay B&B to your Saves list
Tregarth Homestay B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Llain y Grug, Dob, Tregarth, Bangor LL57 4PW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Tregarth B&B and Inns
Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned duty, hospitality and costomer service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

Superb.

Very simply, the couple who run Tregarth Homestay are people who put themselves totally at the service of their guests.

They are not business people who are trying to make easy money. They are people who love welcoming new people, who treat customers with total respect and genuinely see it as their duty to do everything possible to make their guests comfortable, and valued.

I stayed at Tregarth Homestay for a long time - I enjoyed every single day.

PS Great breakfasts too!

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
15
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Tregarth Homestead is a very comfortable B&B in beautiful North Wales, run by a very friendly couple, Peter and Kathleen. We had a comfortable room with bathroom next door, the breakfasts were terrific (full cooked Welsh or just toast and coffee) and Peter and Kathleen were extremely helpful. They could recommend good places to eat, beautiful places to visit and the care they took of us was excellent. (They have visited New Zealand and Australia several times and are very knowledgeable about both places which might interest prospective guests from either country.) We highly recommend this B&B and hope to pay a return visit before too long.

James and Felicity
Melbourne, Australia

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

This is an EXCELENT B&B, well appointed, clean and confortable, and its best asset are its owners, Peter and Kathleen. These are trully warm people that know how to make you feel at home. Their local knowledge was particularly useful to us: we're moving to North Wales and stayed at Tragarth while looking for a house. Peter and Kathleen knew someone that knew someone that had a house available; they made several phone calls until they tracked down the owner of the house. This house turned out to be just the perfect property for us! Peter and Kathleen helped us through out the entire house-hunting process, lending us maps, giving us info about the different areas, etc. From the very first moment we felt we had made a couple of friends. Tragarth is also very much child friendly, and the owners are flexible to accomodate children's needs. They run the place with a combination of profesionalism and personal warmth that is rare to find.
Now about the B&B itself: the rooms are very comfortable and well decorated, with everything you need to make yourself at home. The bathrooms are spotless, and there is a small kitchenette for the use of guests. Also, they have wireless internet access and a TV room with very comfy sofas. The garden is beautiful, and the views from the house will surely lift you up. Breakfast was delicious, NOT the usual greasy fare you get at other B&B's, but tasty and cooked to perfection using high quality local ingredients.
In summary, this is a GREAT place to stay, we highly recomend it!

  • Liked — The hosts and their personal service
  • Disliked — We really liked everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

A little gem -
friendly and helpful hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble;
great views of sea and mountains which made us feel we really were getting away from work-life;
excellent breakfasts with plenty of choice, cooked to order; attention to comfort and detail beyond what one would expect in a B & B;
very convenient location for exploring North Wales coast and mountains.

We thoroughly recommend Tregarth Homestay - enjoy!

  • Liked — Welcome. views, breakfasts
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2007

Magnificent stay in North Wales in the village of Tregarth outside Bangor. Had originally intended to stay 3 nights, but business took me to another town and I was only able to spend 2 nights and one full day. There was no problem changing my reservation.

Not only did my hosts pick me up at the train station (the only B&B that did this during my time in the UK), but when they heard I wanted
to see an old mining site on the island of Anglesey, they picked me up after my business meeting in Bangor, drove me out to Anglesey, hiked all around the mine site, toured me over to a birding site by a lighthouse, showed me ancient stone circles, and topped it off with a stop at a British pub for a late dinner.

While I'm sure they don't have the time to tour every guest this way,
they are lovely people with a lovely B&B. There is a garden with a little pond, a TV room, and plenty of information on hiking in Snowdonia. They are very accomodating in breakfast preferences, and even make sandwiches for guests that will be out hiking all day.

The village of Tregarth itself is quite pretty as well. There are many stone cottages with shingles actually made out of slate, and one of the biggest slate quarries in the world just 2 miles away. Very picturesque. Buses run regularly into the main town of Bangor, and the B&B is just a few blocks from the bus stop.

I highly recommend Tregarth Homestay for anyone wanting a home base for hiking around North Wales!

Kendra Zamzow
Reno, Nevada

  • Liked — host hospitality
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

A well situated B&B overlooking the isle of Anglesey, there is a pub within walking distance however it does not serve food, we arrived on motorcycles and were soaked to the skin, Kath, the host made us a welcome cup of tea and even prepared us an evening meal so we did not have to don our wet clothing again to set of into town, she even dried out our wet gear overnight.
The accomodation is clean, tidy and has everything one needs for a comfortable stay, and all the attractions of Snowdonia are close to hand including the ferry port at Hollyhead.
Kath and Peter are really helpfull and friendly, and are prepared to go the extra distance to ensure their guests have an comfortable stay there.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

My sister and I just returned from a trip to Bangor, Wales. We found the Tregarth Homestay B & B listed on a web search. I can't say enough about this clean, hospitable, comfortable B & B. We were transported from the train station to Tregarth by the owners - late at night and raining. We had our own spotless modern bathroom , two very comfortable twin beds, plenty of covers and the makings for tea and coffee. In the morning we were given a menu from which to choose our breakfast, french press coffee, the works - prepared by Mr. Coleman.

Mr. Coleman offered to give us a car tour of the area surrounding Bangor. And what a tour it was! We drove with him by car from 11 to 6:30, complete with a comprehensive explanation of everything we saw.

When we returned that evening we were given access to the kitchen so we could prepare our food that we had purchased while on our tour. Then we spent a delightful evening watching a taped broadcast of a Welsh evening of classical music.

The next morning we were driven back to the train station to catch our train to London - Mr. Coleman was more than willing to
leave by 6:30 a.m. to enable us to have plenty of time., waiting until we we were on the train.

If you stay with the Colemans, you will be welcomed into their home and treated like true friends. I can't say enough good about our stay.

  • Liked — hospitable, clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregarth Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregarth Homestay B&B

Address: Llain y Grug, Dob, Tregarth, Bangor LL57 4PW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor > Tregarth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tregarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregarth Homestay B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Tregarth Homestay 3-star B&B. Situated at the entrance to the beautiful Ogwen Valley/ Nant Ffrancon Pass in the foothills of Snowdonia, the elevated setting gives views of the mountains, the Menai Straight, Anglesey and Puffin Island. In a quiet rural location on the edge of a small village, yet just two miles from the A55 Expressway/A5 and 4 miles from Bangor. Llanberis (for the Snowdon Railway) is 20 minutes drive; Caernarfon, Conwy and Beaumaris medieval castles are 20-30 minutes. There is something for everyone within easy reach! We have 1 double en-suite bedroom, 1 twin and 1 single bedroom both with their own private bathrooms, and a cosy lounge. Arrive as guests, leave as friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tregarth Homestay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregarth Homestay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.