We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overated and slightly pretensious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sede

Sede
37 Booth St, Annandale, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
+61 2 9660 6600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 restaurants in Annandale
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Tapas
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Overated and slightly pretensious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As previously noted, Vicini's is now called Sede. The same menu is now available upstairs and downstairs. Apparently they only take reservations for 4 or more people. However, we were lucky to get a table upstairs for two. There's not a lot of room between tables so it's a bit squeezy.

After receiving the menu, the waiter disappeared for some time. Eventually he returned and took the order. We ordered a drink and a main course each. We waited and waited and waited for our drinks to arrive to no avail. They had forgotten the drinks and we received them after the food arrived. The portions were extremely small, although tasty enough.

I believe the food and wine are overated and overpriced for what you get. The service was extremely disappointing. I won't be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    8
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila
2 reviews
“A simply good dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The atmosphere was relaxed, friendly, no pretentiousness here. All one need be concerned about is enjoying the food. And enjoy the simply delicious pasta and fish dishes we did!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vicini is now called SEDE - have the cocktails, skip the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We dined at the newly refurbished and renamed SEDE, at the roundabout on Booth Street Annandale, on Friday night 11th January, 2013. It seems to have new owners and reopened - we think - in November 2012. We dined upstairs on the full dinner menu, rather than downstairs at the pizza bar.

The greeter/front of house fellow was delightful and helpful. However the wait staff are really trying too hard to be formal and snotty, in what is otherwise a delightful comfortable environment.

The tomato salad was an absolute joke, although in fairness the waiter did warn us the portion was very small! But for $9 there was about .35 cents worth of salad on the plate. The pork belly was spongy and flavourless. The $9 potatoes were salty with a bit of rosemary as an afterthought, rather amateur.

The worst element of the meal was when the waiter arrived with 2 bread rolls on a plate, and said "bread for you?". We said sure, and the plain sesame white rolls were placed in front of us. Then to our surprise there appeared a $7 charge for bread on the bill. We found that rude!

The shining lights of the meal:
1.calamari fritti, dusted with paprika, quite a good value for $18 as a shared entree, and perfectly delicious!
2. margherita cocktail was perfectly mixed and ice cold.

If the new owners can adjust the attitude of the waiters, abandon the cost for bread, and so something more interesting with the vegetables - then they might have a winner for Annandale.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Favourite restaurant in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This restaurant mixes great food and service perfectly, something that I think Sydney restaurants are missing. We had two entrees, two mains, some bread and brought our own wine (I think it's byo during the week only), which came to just under $100 ($50 per head).

For entree we had the scallops and the braised octopus with chickpeas. They were both stunning and I have never eaten anything like them before in terms of flavors/combinations. They were presented beautifully and tasted amazing.

For mains we had the salmon and the crab linguine! YUM! Absolutely stunning again.

Seriously great restaurant and I kind of don't want to tell anyone about it... But I have to because it is so great.

I just hope they don't get a smh review because it will ruin the place.

Oh and the only reason I didn't give full marks for value is because the entrees are quite small.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sede also viewed

Annandale, Sydney
Annandale, Sydney
 
Annandale, Sydney
Annandale, Sydney
 
Annandale, Sydney
Annandale, Sydney
 
Annandale, Sydney
Annandale, Sydney

Been to Sede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.