We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation and hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bet's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annandale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bet's B&B
Save
You added Bet's B&B to your Saves list
176 Johnston Street, Annandale, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best rate at our website
Ranked #1 of 2 Annandale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ivybridge, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation and hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the Studio for 3 nights in early February while we had a quick look at Sydney en route to New Zealand, and we felt blessed that we'd chosen Bet's for our stay.
Keith and Bet were wonderful hosts, taking so much time to provide helpful hints and tips on things we could do in our limited time in Sydney. It was immediately apparent that they take great pride and pleasure in doing their utmost to provide guests with a great stay.
The apartment consists of a bed-sitting room/kitchen area on the first floor and a shower room/toilet with washing machine and dryer on the ground floor. We found the bed to be super-comfortable with high quality bedlinen. Everything was immaculately clean and well-maintained. The wi-fi connection was fast and reliable. There are loads of leaflets and maps for helping guests plan their activities.
We thoroughly enjoyed being in Annandale - a lovely suburb only a short bus ride from central Sydney and a short walk from the local park and waterfront. The bus stop was a short walk from the property and there were good cafes and shops in Annandale village too. We also appreciated Bet and Keith's advice to try Newtown for eating out - an area we would never have found on our own.
We left feeling like we'd been staying with old friends, and if we're fortunate enough to return to Sydney in the future we just can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks, Linda and Tony, for such a comprehensive and positive review. It's great that you were able to explore Annandale as well as the usual Sydney landmarks. Our collection of tourist brochures seems to get bigger and bigger, but they're always appreciated by first-timers to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
38
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shetland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent 5 nights at Bet's B&B while visiting our family in Annandale. Bet and Keith were great hosts going to extra mile to ensure everything was perfect, they are true ambassadors for the tourism sector.

Room Tip: This attic conversion is perfect for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you Annette and Angus. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. In particular, it was really interesting to hear your B&B experiences in the Shetland Islands...such a contrast with Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay in Bet's B & B for 8 nights early March. We left this place with a heavy heart because Bet's B & B is the most amazing B & B we have ever stayed.
The host, Keith & Bet are such warm, friendly and understanding people. They go the extra mile to your stay is well taken care off. The bus stop to the city is just less than 5 minutes walk away. Within the same area, there are quite a number of restaurants , grocer and pharmacy which makes it convenient to purchase items and have your meal. Not forgetting to mention the delicious food at Fat Fish!
This place is absolutely clean and comfortable. There is also washing machine and dryer provided which means you can bring home clean clothes after your holiday. How great is that!
I strongly recommend this place to stay if you are visiting Sydney. Looking forward come back here one day. Thanks Bet & Keith for having us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks Melanie and Raj for such a great Review. It doesn't get much better when guests describe the studio as "the most amazing B&B we have ever stayed". Fat Fish is a favourite and we know you tried out some of the other cafes and restaurants, but you are the first guests to use the Trip Advisor Review to make special mention of the guests' laundry facilities. We agree. Packing clean laundry is certainly better than the alternative and it makes Customs inspectors happy too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, NS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My friend & I stayed at Bet's for 6 nights. I would not stay anywhere else if ever I am able to return to Sydney. Bet & Keith were wonderful hosts & provided lots of info to help us plan our days. They gave us a little orientation tour to help us familiarize ourselves. The B&B is lovely.
Spotlessly clean, there was nothing that wasn't thought of. It was amazing that everything we needed was there. The area is nice too. Lots of restaurants close by, able to feel the community atmosphere. Just a short walk to the bus stop. The pics on the website are great but you still can't appreciate how lovely it is until you stay there. I will recommend Bet's B & B to anyone going to Sydney. If you don't stay here you will be missing out on a great experience. Thanks again to Bet & Keith for making our visit to Sydney extra special!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, Heather. It was also the first time we had a chance to try out the fold-away bed and we're glad it won Elaine's approval. We're glad you got to see much of Sydney and, maybe, you can return some time in the future to see even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Bet's B&B is clean loft like unit in Annandale, an accessible neighborhood to downtown /CBD. A true neighborhood experience with local restaurants, 10 min access to waterfront, and public transportation. The owners are caring and take the time to set you up with orientation, but leave you to your own as you like! The unit is detached from their house, with separate alley entrance. Extra helpful resources, such as guidebooks, movies, good wifi, adapters, decent kitchen, laundry, and breakfast stocked items make this an easy entry for living your holiday/trip in Sydney. The place is exceptionally clean.

Room Tip: There are local community resources for exercise and swimming
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us, Roger. We can't remember a guest who managed to pack so much sightseeing into three days as you did! You got to know Annandale too - the cafes, restaurants and even the gym. Now that you've sampled what Sydney has to offer, we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed for five nights at this beautiful studio room in the very lovely Annandale and it certainly contributed to a great trip to Sydney. Keith and Bet have thought of everything, the room is beautifully finished and furnished, the breakfast is spot on (loved being able to cook ourselves and decide what to have and how much we wanted) plus there is a wealth of guides, maps, books - really everything you could need. Keith and Bet we're both so friendly and helpful but also left us to our own devices. Really couldn't recommend this place enough, it's definitely worth the 20 min bus journey to/from the city as you get real tranquility and more! Thanks to Bet and Keith for a fantastic start to our trip!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks Emma and Steve for such a positive review. It's such a pleasure to read that we have met, maybe even exceeded your expectations. I'm particularly happy to see that our policy of providing daily breakfast provisions was appreciated. We provide a good selection and don't skimp and I think guests like that. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Bet's is a very relaxing place to rest after travelling the city for a whole day. It is a spotlessly clean studio with everything u need. The hosts, Bet & Keith, are very friendly and let us know the most out of the 2 days we spent in the city. I definitely will come back next time i visit Sydney, and hope Bet's will remain a hidden gem ;p

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Owner at Bet's B&B, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you Amelia and Tony for choosing to stay with us during your all too brief stay in Sydney. We don't get too many visitors from Hong Kong and we certainly hope you get a chance to return for a lengthier stay next time. In particular we appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the studio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bet's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bet's B&B

Address: 176 Johnston Street, Annandale, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Annandale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Annandale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bet's B&B is a modern, fully self-contained artist-style studio with exposed brick, timber flooring and a high-arched timber beam ceiling. It's light and airy, spacious and clean. With its own private street entrance, you can come and go as you please. The studio's two-level open-plan design caters to all your needs. Upstairs is a comfortable Queen-size bed, bed-side tables, wardrobe and cabinet; a writing desk with free Wi-Fi connection; modern leather three- and two-seater sofas; a four-seat dining table; and a fully-equipped kitchenette that gives you the freedom to cook when you like, what you like. We supply fresh, daily, breakfast provisions. Downstairs is the bathroom: a spacious shower, toilet and laundry facilities for your exclusive use. There's a washing machine and clothes dryer, a hair dryer and ironing facilities too. Bet's B&B is only 15 minutes by bus or light rail to the sights and attractions of Sydney, a three-minute stroll to the restaurants, cafes and shops of Annandale Village and a 25-minute taxi ride to Sydney airport. There's plenty of free on-street parking. Or if you prefer public transport, the 470 bus takes you to Circular Quay, the Opera House, the Harbour Bridge and The Rocks in 20 minutes, and the Light Rail takes you to downtown Sydney, Chinatown and Darling Harbour in 15 minutes. A 10-minute walk from Bet's B&B brings you to Bicentennial Park where you can stroll the shorline of Sydney Harbour to Sydney's Fish Market and on to Darling Harbour and the city.Bet's B&B is private and quiet, clean and comfortable, cosy and convenient. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bet's B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.