We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakes Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lakes Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Lakes Resort Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Brebner Dr, West Lakes, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5021, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Lakes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a large group golf trip. Was pleasantly surprised with room size and great view over lake. We stayed in spa room with King size bed ( room 124). Also had dinner twice at the bistro and couldn't fault the food, value for money and service. An added Bonus across the road is a great Westfield centre plus Reading Cinema.

Room Tip: All rooms have views over the lake - we were in kings size room with spa ( room 124) and found it ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
57
Solo
0
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our overnight stay was a mixed bag. First the good. I have stayed in many expensive high end hotels and have requested a "quiet" room, I rarely if ever, get one. We stayed here and got a quiet room away from the elevator, service staff and "other people" noise, I was amazed! The lake view from our room was appreciated and the breakfast (included in the room price) was excellent. The dining room also overlooked the lake and the enthusiastic rowers passing by in the morning was lovely to watch. The breakfast buffet was extensive and had everything you could wish for. Loved the freshly cooked pancakes, eggs florentine, eggs freshly prepared any way you want them, and hot coffee. Again I've had many of these items offered at upper end hotels over the years, but these were hard to beat! I note they have "Pancakes by the Lake" in the afternoons - I would highly recommend as they're great eating. Shame they only offered canned cream out of an aerosol with them, surely it couldn't hurt to whip up some fresh cream!
Staff were welcoming friendly, efficient and helpful - check in and out was a breeze.

On the downside? Room decor and fit-out is very, very dated. The bathroom basin had a rather large crack right through it, the shower is in the bath, the bathtowels were lovely and large but should have been white, not grey-white! The bedspreads, curtains, and furniture was bit '80's. Bed was very firm, and sleeping on it felt like we were sleeping on a trampoline. The pillows weren't that comfy either.
Airconditioning was non-existent on our floor (in the corridors) and our noisy room air-conditioner was totally inadequate for hot weather, and didn't even reach the bathroom, or entrance way.
Thankfully the room rate was low as I wouldn't have paid more for such a basic room. At least the rate included breakfast which was a bonus!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed there with my GF early Feb 2013 for Sat-Mon. Found the room to be big, great view of course. Lounge/bed a bit dated, but the rest of it was great. The resort had free parking (some undercover) which was handy, the view from the room was awesome. We loved the buffet breakfast, it had everything, very nice to have it included in the price. Also loved that there was a bar area, gaming area, close to shops, friendly staff... highly rated the overall stay. We paid approx $180 on wofif, so was good value

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just had our wedding here and I really couldn't thank the lakes enough for such a great wedding reception. Many of our guests stayed at the lakes and I loved every room I saw. We had the studio spa suite for 2 nights and loved it. The breakfast the following day was great, very large and anything you wanted was available! Thank you and we can't wait to continue coming back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our room overlooked the beautiful lake. (Though I think all the rooms do...) The room was very spacious, with a large balcony (with table & chairs). The bed was king sized & VERY comfortable. All the staff were lovely & helpful. And the buffet breakfast provided was delicious! You name it, they had it!!
The hotel is opposite a large shopping centre, only 2min walk away. We would definitely stay the again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Check in was fast and pleasant, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful(always a great start for me). On entree to our room the first thing that popped out when we walked in was the view....AMAZING!! You walk in the door to floor to ceiling windows from one side of the room to the other..Room was very clean and set out well, even though it was a little smaller than I imagined from looking at website pics and your bedroom isn't really separate from the lounge area...Saying that though you had plenty of room in the lounge area with a big screen TV and comfy lounge suite...Bed was amazingly comfortable and for me great pillows(I'm fussy when it comes to pillows) and another big screen TV. We had dinner at Crusoes Restaurant which was delishes and well priced...We had the romance package which included wine and choccies the both days and room service breakfast, which was huge and tasted fabulous...and even if we had to pay for it, was a great price we thought.. We did order room service for dinner and the food was fantastic and again a good price...Now, the best features of our room were 1) the amazing views, we couldn't get enough of the wall to wall windows with a fabulous view...2) The spa - HUGE, you could sit back and relax in the spa while watching the big screen TV in the lounge and listen to it with ease by the built in stereo system they had in the spa room...AWESOME!! Bathroom was large and had everything you want and need...

Overall we were happy and had a great 2 day stay...Will definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here when attending a work function nearby. We had a triple room which was spacious and clean. Furnishings were a bit outdated. Beds were very comfortable and pillows were to my liking. Lobby area was modern and staff were professional and polite. Room service was fast, and so what we thought was going to be a snack, was more like a meal. Buffet breakfast was either cooked to order or help yourself to the pre-made food. All was delicious and abundent. The view from the restaurant was lovely,watching the rowers and the lake. This hotel is close to AAMI stadium and a large shopping centre. The only downside, was as this is part of a pub and being so close to Christmas, carparking initially was a bit of an issue as there are no enough designated parks, so you have to park in the pub carpark.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakes Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakes Resort Hotel

Address: 141 Brebner Dr, West Lakes, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5021, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lakes Resort Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lakes Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakes Hotel Adelaide

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakes Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.