We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilian's Restaurant & Cellar Door

Maximilian's Restaurant & Cellar Door
Main Street, Verdun, South Australia 5245, Australia
08 8388 7777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Verdun
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Description: An iconic restaurant, Maximilian's provides a quintessential Adelaide Hills experience. Nestled amongst vineyards, the heritage homestead built in 1851 provides cosy romantic corners, big open fires, lush dining and private function rooms. Only 12 minutes from the toll gate, Maximilian's is a complete celebration of one of Australia's most significant food & wine regions including Sidewood Tasting Rooms and exceptional wine list.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went for lunch here a couple of weeks ago, the first time since the new owners. We loved it. There was 4 of us including our 2 young children. We were all made to feel very welcome. Our waiter was helpful and attentive with a good knowledge of the food and wine on offer. The setting was lovely we ate overlooking the beautiful dam and the kids got to say hi to the resident Emu. The menu was interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed my duck. You can tell the owners are passionate about what they do and from what I hear there are even better things to come.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    27
    7
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Unley, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Back again, so good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were back at Max's retaurant to try their spring menu, not disappointed. For anybody visiting the adelaide hills this is a must go. They are only open thurs, Friday, sat, Sunday , for lunch and dinner. One cannot go past the duck, to die for. All of the desserts are great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I took my husband for lunch as a pre Father's Day treat to Maximilian's . The location and the homestead are lovely. We had looked forward to a nice meal knowing that this was quite an expensive restaurant and some wine tastings as is the style at many restaurants come cellar doors in the Adelaide Hills. When we have ordered our meal usually we are then encouraged to taste the wines to decide what to have with lunch. This was not offered at this restaurant, however we decided this is what we would do anyway. The waiter offered the tastings with some haste like it was a bit of a nuisance. Another staff member mentioned incidently that our starters were ready so we went back to our table. The food was wonderful. The snapper and the duck liver parfait were fabulous but the choice of wine by the glass was very limited and dissappointing given the extent of the list by the bottle. We are so used to fabulous service at winery restaurants in South Australia by very friendly and obliging staff who are very keen to ensure that you have a wonderful experience but the service at this restaurant could best be described as haphazard. Perhaps they need to forget the cellar door as it seems to be a distraction and just focus on the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Went with 11 family members for fatherinlaws birthday. Expected expensive meal as had been to Max's before. I had checked out the menu and was looking forward to the chateaubriand to share with my son and my partner was looking forward to the snapper. Surprise we have sold out of the chateaubriand, snapper and beans. Showed other family members the dessert and all loved the Autumn Forrest floor. When it eventually came was nothing like the picture. Service was slow food overpriced will not go back again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Delight and surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were regulars of the 'old Max's' and got sick of the same food and same atmosphere for so many years. We decided to go back and try with the new owners and heavens above are we glad we did!!! The food was astronomical! We decided to have the 7 course degustation menu and, although I was dubious at first as there were things on the menu I would have been too scared to normally try, each course was an absolute delight for all the senses! Tasty tasty tasty! The chef explaining each course was a really personal touch! The service was excellent, professional yet homely! I recommend this restaurant ten fold! Brilliant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximilian's Restaurant & Cellar Door also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Verdun, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Bridgewater, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to Maximilian's Restaurant & Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilian's Restaurant & Cellar Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.