We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay review in St. Georges Motor Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Georges Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St. Georges Motor Inn to your Saves list
St. Georges Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   334 St. Georges Rd., Thornbury, Darebin, Victoria VIC 3070, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornbury
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“My stay review in St. Georges Motor Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is my first time for me to come to Australia and I did not know any one in Australia. Michael, Paulo & Wendy they made effort to help me a lot.

The cleanliness and comfort of the room was excellent. Also a lovely location.

Thank you Michael, Paulo & Wendy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managers_SGMI, Manager at St. Georges Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We truly hope that you are settling in great in your new house and that all of you are enjoying the new life in this wonderful country. Please do not hesitate to contact us on (03) 9416 8233 if you require any further assistance. Many thanks, management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My Wife and myself had a very enjoyable stay
The breakfast was very good and the coffee was very tasty
The room was very clean and tidy and all appliances were working well
The Motel is in a very central position,to Train,Railway and the tram stop is just outside the front door
I will stay there again on my next visit to Melbourne

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managers_SGMI, Manager at St. Georges Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property when the opportunity arises. With kind regards, management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I recently stayed at St. Georges Motor Inn and found the rooms to be clean, nice and the staff friendly and polite... it's not too far from all the High Street action in Northcote... I totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managers_SGMI, Manager at St. Georges Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and for choosing the St Georges Motor Inn as your preferred accommodation provider in Melbourne.Your feedback is highly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Absolutely first class comfort and service from you guys. Nothing is a problem for you or your room staff and food from either the dining room or breakfast room service is fresh and beautifully presented - Thank you St Georges Motor Inn for a perfect seven days in Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great for access and certainly do not suffer greatly from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managers_SGMI, Manager at St. Georges Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Tracey & Brian, thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your remarks about the service we provide are very humbling. We are delighted to see that your stay was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming back to the St Georges Motor Inn in the near future. Best regards from management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Having stayed here twice for 3 days each time, we found it to be very satisfactory. Requested room at the back & had no noise from the road. Rooms are spacious & comfortable, bathroom very clean & amenities good. The staff were very helpful with assistance for visitors to Melbourne. There is a tram stop opposite which goes down through Brunswick St, CBD & continues on to St. Kilda. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managers_SGMI, Manager at St. Georges Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are delighted to see that you are one of our satisfied guests. Our guests' experiences are of the utmost importance to the St Georges Motor Inn and we truly thank you for taking the time to share your views with Tripadvisor which, too often, fails to authenticate and legitimise the reviews published on their website.
Please do not hesitate to contact us again when you're next in Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We travelled to Melbourne for Christmas which we spent with family in nearby Northcote. The location was perfect for travel in and around Melbourne. The staff was very helpful, especially when a problem occurred with parking because of a minibus taking up 4 spaces - sorted very quickly. We had no problems with noise and/or smokers. The room had a good TV with multiple choice of channels to watch (if we had had the time). We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor was suitable - covered car space right outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managers_SGMI, Manager at St. Georges Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted with your comments in respect to our privileged location to Melbourne CBD as well as in regards to our brand new LED TV's and the variety of channels available (which include 2 complimentary Movielink channels - 801 and 803).
Please do not hesitate to contact us again when you're next in Thornbury.
Best regards, management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked a night here because we had a family wedding the next day and it was convenient to walk to the reception.

We booked and received a spa room that was actually quite a good size bedroom and bathroom.

The room was quite tired, cigarette burns on some areas of the carpet and a television set from the 1980's with no Cable TV.
Expensive for what it was.

We arrived quite late and retired soon after. We found the room very light from external motel and street lighting, and we found it impossible to keep out the street noise, even though we were at the back of the motel.

The location is actually quite good; it is about a 10 minute walk to High Street, Thornbury with plenty of shops to stroll around.

We were supposed to stay a second night but chose instead to drive home after the wedding rather than endure a less than perfect night's sleep.

This hotel needs an upgrade; smarten up the rooms, put in a reasonable size flat screen TV, give at least some free Wifi access, and try to sound-proof the rooms.

Room Tip: Away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managers_SGMI, Manager at St. Georges Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Your comments are obviously disappointed as although you affirm that you couldn't have a 'perfect night's sleep', you have never requested reception to be moved to another room. The rooms have brand new LED TV's broadcasting 2 FREE Movielink channels 24/7 and are officially AAA rated 3.5 stars.
Our back rooms are consistently described as quiet, spacious and extremely comfortable and, although you affirm that these rooms are not 'value for money', it is a fact that we offer the best rates of all of the accommodation providers in the North Melbourne area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Georges Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Georges Motor Inn

Address: 334 St. Georges Rd., Thornbury, Darebin, Victoria VIC 3070, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Thornbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Georges Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to St Georges Motor Inn! Only 6km from the CBD, we're close to the airport, with a direct tram to the city and sporting venues at your doorstep. We have undercover parking and are only 2km to the renowned Brunswick St restaurant area, Darebin Arts and Entertainment Centre and Darebin International Sports Centre. The surrounding suburbs of Thornbury are Northcote, Preston, Alphington, Darebin, Reservoir, Thomastown, Epping, Heidelberg, Coburg, Eaglemont, Fairfield, Ivanhoe, Brunswick, Fitzroy, Moreland and Essendon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your St. Georges Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Georges Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.