We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique thatched roof village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of World Heritage Shirakawago Gassho Frame Housing Community

World Heritage Shirakawago Gassho Frame Housing Community
Ogimachi, Ono-gun, Shirakawa-mura 501-5627, Gifu Prefecture
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Covina, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very unique thatched roof village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Yes, it can be flooded with tourists and some of the attractions here are over-commercialized, but it still is a very worthwhile visit. Be sure to pay the extra nominal entrance fee and go inside some of the actual resident's homes. I visited the Nagase house and was struck by the display of their cooking, farming, and weaving tools. Also, despite the overall commerciality (especially of the main entrance areas), it appears the owners of the Nagase house (as one example) are quite religious, as evidenced by their beautiful obutsudan (home Buddhist altar) also on display. In addition, in the village is a very unusual example of a Shin Buddhist temple--Myozenji is constructed with the same unusual "gassho style" of roof construction.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    173
    43
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“old world lived in village, Shirakawa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Coming through the mountains to get here was in itself a beautiful trip, snow on the higher roads and colourful chalets, picture perfect scenery and an artists delight
Every country has some of their original structures and to see this small farming community made one aware of the life of these country japanese. we wondered through, visiting shops, temples and sites. Was the only day in Japan we had a bit of a drizzle, didnt stop us from having some delicious home made ice cream though. we sat in front of the quaint shop and watched the tourists going by wondering how we could eat ice on such a cold day! Aussies are tough.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We took the day tour package provided by nohi bus at Takayama station. The package includes return bus tickets, traditional lunch and of course, stopover at the village and a museum about 30mins drive from the village. There are a couple of museums within the village which may require nominal entrance fees to be paid.

The view at the village during summer is awesome. - think colourful flowers, hundreds of trout swimming in the drain, clear blue sky and sprouting rice paddy fields. We were able to still see snow capped mountains from the village. The traditional gassho houses were amazingly well structured and beautiful. We love the village for its simplicity, fresh air and cleanliness.

The road journey to the village takes about 60 mins and we took 2 hours to explore the village. Overall, we would recommend that travellers visiting Takayama to schedule a day for this lovely village.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“too commercial village”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We did a day trip to Shirakawa-go, as the accomodation there is too expensive, and I think we made a good decision, the whole village just less than a day to visit. We took the bus from Takayama, which is open ticket you can travelling at any time within the validity period, suggested you go early as we took the 8am bus and already so many tourists to line up for the bus. It was roughly 45 mins bus ride, the bus stop in front of the tourist information center and you can get the map from them. We walked up to the observatory to view the whole village and then walk down to see the villages, you may take the shuttle bus from the car park which is about 200 Yen one way. The gasso style architecture is really amazing, love the farm and flowers in the villages. We do enjoy the trip but I just feel so sorry for the peoples who living here , it seems like we are disturbing their daily life, with thousand of tourists arrival daily, if you are living there, do you feel you will enjoy it ? But the truth is this village is becomes very commecial, and peoples just transfer their traditional house to become restaurant, souvenir store, cafe. We had lunch at local restaurant which the price is not that expensive, and we had coffee in ony of the cafe, the owner is very friendly and gave us free candy and red bean soup. A day trip is good enough.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Amazing village to visit. you need to know a little bit of the history to fully appreciate the village.
As this is a fully functioning village to date, please do not expect to see perfect building or architectural here.. for example you might see a ladder hanging outside the most of the Gassho Frame House.
The famous straw bale roof only last 30 year. to replace those straw bale roof it cost AUD$200000.00 for just one house. Japan government does subsidy 75% of the cost but it is still expensive for the poor farmer who willing to stay in this small, almost isolated, but full of history & culture village. 300 population with only one primary school, no supermarket and no 7 eleven.
i really don't know how much longer this village will last. of course i wish it will last forever. for our next generation to see this beautiful village.
The river and street drain are so clean you can see many rainbow trout swimming in the drain. (not the river) ha ha..
why the transportation are so expensive to get there??? let me explain. before this new highway was built.. it took 5 hours from Takayama to Shirakawago and now only take 50 minute.
for all the above reason I'm strongly recommended this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Heritage Shirakawago Gassho Frame Housing Community also viewed

 

Been to World Heritage Shirakawago Gassho Frame Housing Community? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Heritage Shirakawago Gassho Frame Housing Community, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.