We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Arcos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Esteli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Arcos
Save
You added Hotel Los Arcos to your Saves list
Del Costado NO de Catedral 1/2 C Al Norte, Esteli, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Esteli
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I was in Estelie for three nights and stayed two nights at Hotel Los Arcos.

The first night was in their premium suite, which was approximately $90 US. It was a very large, open suite with a changing room, large bathroom with two sinks and a shower with body sprayers in addition to the shower head. The room, in addition to a king size bed, had a small lounge area with chairs and a tv and a balcony over looking the street.

On the second night, we were moved to a smaller suite on the ground floor (the premium suite was reserved for that night). This suite was much more basic, a two double beds and a bathroom (which was much more basic, sink, shower and toilet). The window looked out in the courtyard of the hotel and was approximately $60 per night.

Both rooms were clean and simply decorated, although the premium suite had more decorations, including a stocked book shelf. The rooms were both stocked with the standard soap and shampoo but also included toothbrush, razor for shaving and a small bowl of candy. In the premium room, the quality of the items were better but it was a nice touch in both rooms to have the extras.

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful, we had arrived late night on the night before Hipica (unaware that it was taking place) and although the first night we arrived in town they had no where for us to stay, they did call around to other hotels in an attempt to find us somewhere and when we returned the next morning, they were happy to accommodate us and kept our bags for us while our room was being prepared to we could explore Estelie. I saw others say that they had items stolen, that was not my experience, although had I read those reviews earlier maybe I would have thought twice about leaving our bags behind. I did, as a matter of common sense, keep one bag with me that held the stuff that would be worth stealing such as money, passport, ipod, kindle. But again, that's just common sense.

There is a breakfast buffet included, standard fare (in my experience) for a Nica breakfast buffet, good but not exceptional.

I have traveled fairly extensively in Nicaragua, and this hotel is above average. It has a great location (very central and easy to explore the rest of the city from), very helpful staff and is above average for cleanliness.

Room Tip: If you've got the extra money to spend, the premium suites with balconies over looking the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    21
    3
    7
See reviews for
17
36
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Esteli is not really on the tourist circuit but a nice cooler place to stay after the heat in Leon. Location is just off the main square. Great roof top patio to look out over the city to the north, east and west. Three bright, colorful murals (8 feet by 20 feet) in one of the courtyards. Staff are friendly. There are a few restaurants nearby to eat in addition to the one in the hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor has better air circulation but both floors are good. Internet (2 computers) are on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

To me, Los Arcos is the best place to stay in Nicaragua. The rooms are beautiful, the service is wonderful and the tropical garden is amazing. A tasty breakfast is included, so the price is worth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteli, Nicaragua
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

While the appearance is pleasant, and the breakfast is adequate, our room was entered and belongings stolen each time we left the room. Then while two of our group was at breakfast and I was in the room alone i heard the door open. A hotel employee had entered without knocking and when she saw me dripping wet in a towel she left in a hurry and shut the door. When I ran to the door and asked what she needed she asked me something about if I was having trouble turning the water in the shower on. We packed immediately and went to another hotel. This was the only hotel we have had problems with in our traveling around Nicaragua. Los Arcos was not restful at all with the light and noise, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

If you are staying in Esteli, Cuallitlan Hotel is secure and pleasant, with a kind and accommodating staff, and great food, and is well worth the money. It was quiet and had a wonderful ambiance like a private and exclusive resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinotega, Nicaragua
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

When we arrived at Los Arcos we were put in a nice-looking, comfortable room. When we were leaving the hotel to get lunch we realized that the door to our room would not lock and asked for help from the front desk. They kindly obliged and "locked" the door. We thought nothing of it and left. When we returned to our room in the afternoon the door was unlocked and the next morning we realized that a twenty dollar bill was missing from our luggage as well as a purse. I asked to speak to the manager but was informed that he was not in. We left directly after breakfast to stay somewhere else. I would NOT recommend staying here for security reasons. We ended up staying at Hotel Cuallitlan which was awesome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We have spend night at Hotel Los Arcos on numerous occasions while on business trips in northern Nicaragua.The price of the hotel is a bit more than many of the other places in Esteli, but well worth it if you are wanting clean and comfortable accommodations. A delicious breakfast is included in the price of the room as well as free Wi-Fi. The location near the central park in the city is idea for the tourist who wants to spend time walking around town. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is enclosed parking if you have a vehicle.The courtyard of the hotel is painted with a very colorful mural which gives the hotel a touch of class.
There are numerous restaurants within a short walk from the hotel, but the food at the hotel restaurant is as good as any you'll find in town. The food is a bit pricey, but well prepared and flavorful.
Of course, if you are looking for a budget hotel, this may not be the place to stay. But if you want a good, safe place with lots of amenities this is the hotel for you in Esteli.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a balcony available. They are a bit pricier, but are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Hotel Los Arcos was a welcomed surprise to my group when we arrived. It was clean and bright and the front desk was helpful and actually had our reservation. They explained when and where breakfast was served and where we could find the center of town. The rooms were large and very nice. They had amenities such as disposable toothbrushes and shavers, soaps, candy and combs. This is a true rarity in Nicaragua! The hot water was welcomed after many hours at the Somoto Canyon. I have lived here for eight years and this was the first time I had such a pleasant experience in a hotel other than my own! Good job and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Arcos

Address: Del Costado NO de Catedral 1/2 C Al Norte, Esteli, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Esteli Department > Esteli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Esteli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Arcos Hotel was set up in 2004 thanks to a training project led by "Fundacion Familias Unidas." Thanks to the work done by the brickwork students from the Foundation's Training Centre, they have rebuilt and extended the Training Centre and they have given birth to what nowadays can be called "Escuela de Hosteleria." The earnings obtained from this school are invested in the rest of social projects carried out by the Foundation in Esteli. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Arcos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.