We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food and Great Staff...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Bontemps

O Bontemps
Place de l'Eglise, 34480 Magalas, France
04 67 36 20 82
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Magalas
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Great Staff...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you're in the Magalas area you really must eat here if you can.
We had a fantastic meal featuring delicious local produce cooked and presented beautifully.
There is a choice of set menus available and the staff- including the chef- explain what's available.
The prices (around 30- 50 euros per head for 3 courses) are very good value, and there are various extras supplied between courses.
Be sure to book well in advance so as not to miss out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    21
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An amazing small restaurant in a charming village near Beziers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were advised to book ahead, as this small but perfectly formed restaurant offering delicious and innovative cuisine is very popular with the locals and visitors and proved to be a real find! Life and choice was made easy as there is only a small choice of set menus, all at reasonable prices for the quality of the food (and especially at today's exchange rates). The menus were well planned, with a variety of complementary 'amuse bouches' served between courses. In a nutshell, this was a great experience and we very much enjoyed the fusion of the ,best of Languedoc, ingedients with the flavours from the Orients! Service was exellent and professional and enhanced by the cahrming young owner chef checking with all his guests that everything was satisfactory. We will be back again next time we are hoidaying in this lovely part of the Languedoc.!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always a special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

all the dishes & the food is a thruly fine dining!
a true gourmet!
we come beck agin and agin
olivier the chef and his stuf are excllent & very knolgeball abut thir work .
we defanly recomend it (dont forget to make a reservation wall a had!!
he shuld have a michelin ster (or two)...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A special meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely meal with some fantastic interesting flavours and great service. The chef asked about our preferences (including the fussy foibles of our picky tweenager) and then produced a fantastic meal for the family. A very special meal, whether for a couple or a family. Make sure to book!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Gervais sur Mare, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pretentious over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We chose the menu du degustation, thank fully we weren't paying. Fine if you only want to be impressed by the décor but don't go expecting good food

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Bontemps also viewed

 

Been to O Bontemps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Bontemps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.