We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place for holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Mist Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lockeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Mist Cottages
Save
You added Ocean Mist Cottages to your Saves list
1 Gull Rock Road, Locke Street, Lockeport, Nova Scotia B0T1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
germany
1 review
“Our favourite place for holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

If you come to the South Shore you should stay at Ocean Mist Cottages at any rate. It's a lovely place at the Atlantic Ocean. In front of the cottages there's a one mile sandy beach where you can go jogging, have a walk and find sanddollars, seaglass, driftwood and shells. The sound of the waves helps you to relax and forget about everyday life. You can watch ducks and gulls and at night you can see the flash of Gullrock Lighthouse. During Lobster season you can watch the Lobster boats picking up their traps.
In the little town of Lockeport you can buy everything you need as there's a drugstore, post office, gift shop, pharmacy and a bank. If bringing your children with you, you could sent them to Lockeport Regional High School opposite the cottages for one day which is an unforgettable experience. All the Lockeporters are friendly and helpful, especially Bill, the cottage owner. He has got a large bookshelf in his office from which you can borrow books for rainy days.
We have stayed at the cottages four times so far and would love to be there right now. Bill, we miss you!! See you soon!
Margrit & Stephanie (your favourite German guests ^^)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

After my toddler daughter was very sick the previous winter, I wanted to have an escape of tranquility and fun for both of us. I had never been to the east coast, however, our trip found us while searching the web. I came across Ocean Mist Cottages and immediately called the property for a booking.

I cannot say enough good things about this property. The owners are so incredibly helpful, kind and accomodating. It was a home away from home! Clean, comfortable, inviting, beautiful location, family friendly, and relaxing!

It is now January 2009 and I have re-booked because my three year old is STILL talking about going back to the cottage in Nova Scotia, and I think this will become a yearly family trip for her and I.

If you are looking for east coast charm and hospitality then this is the place for you!

  • Liked — The location, cleanliness, comfort and owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

The thunderous clap and flash of lightning signalled the start of my girlfriend and mine’s mad dash from the car into our toasty seaside cottage perched along Lockeport’s white sandy beach.

The unusually warm December weather had brought a thunderstorm with it to our weekend getaway at Ocean Mist Cottages, leaving us completely drenched upon arrival. We settled into dry clothes, cranked the propane fireplace, turned off the lights and laid on the couch, watching through the cottage’s large picture window as the dark sky and surrounding ocean lit up with each bolt of lightning. As the stormy waves crashed on the beach, spraying a light mist against the big window, it was clear Ocean Mist Cottages would live up to its name.

People come to Ocean Mist for the scenery, the white sandy beaches, and the unbelievable hospitality – at least that’s why we each drove three hours from Halifax to be there. We’ve both lived in Nova Scotia for a number of years but never quite understood why people made a point to come here until we experienced it ourselves.

The cottage had every creature comfort you need for a weekend or week away from home – coffee maker, pots and pans, plates, the whole nine yards. There was a bbq on the patio overlooking the water and a fire pit a few yards away toward the water. We did all of our cooking in the kitchen which opened up into the main living room. In there was a couch, a larger chair, small TV, coffee table, propane fireplace and rocking chair that looked out the big picture window toward the water.

Although we stayed there during the winter and it was too cold to take advantage of the quaint little deck, we are eagerly counting down the days for our return in warmer weather, when we can wake up before dawn, make some coffee, and enjoy the spectacular sight of watching the sun rise over the horizon from the comfortable chairs; content to stay outside for hours.

  • Liked — The ocean, the comfortable feeling that we could hole up inside the cottage for a weekend and not worry about a thing.
  • Disliked — The rain storm when we first arrived, lol.
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We have just returned from a week's stay at Ocean Mist Cottages in Lockeport. We had a marvelous time. The location of these cottages can't be beat and the cottages themselves are perfect. They are immaculate and have everything you need.. Our kids, 13 and 11, had a great time as well. They enjoyed looking for sand dollars on the beach, trips to the Town Market for candy, and the local playground that is a five-minute walk away. An additional bonus, they could go everywhere by themselves. Lockeport is friendly, safe, and there is something for everyone, even bowling!

We have been to lots of places and while we always have fun wherever we go, we will return to Ocean Mist. The proprieters are wonderful, and our fellow vacationers were lovely too.

We travelled around the area a bit but we always enjoyed coming back to the cottage, cooking some local seafood and finally a bonfire in the evening. Some nights there was a bit of a chill that the charming gas stove made quick work of, we truly relaxed here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitouwadge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Our second stay at Ocean Mist Cottages was as memorable and wonderful as our first stay three years earlier. We had great fun walking in the ocean, relaxing on our front deck, and exploring the many beaches for beach glass, shells, etc. Our first week included our two small grandchildren who loved the beach, the warm sand, the local play ground, and "Mr. Bill" our gracious, knowledgeable, and hospitable host.

The cottages, just a "stone's throw from the ocean", are nicely decorated, comfortable, well-equipped, cozy, and very clean. The view of the ocean and Gull Rock Light House is spectacular. The sound of the ocean waves breaking on the beach lulls you to sleep and greets you in the morning.

The town of Lockeport is friendly and you can find local artisans who are more than willing to talk about their craft, local history, and more. Local and nearby restaurants provide excellent dining experiences.

We would definately recommend Ocean Mist Cottages to others and look forward to returning ourselves.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We have just returned from three weeks of assorted ocean pleasures at a relatively famous and yet quite obscure location by the name of "Crescent Beach". The beach is located in Lockeport Nova Scotia and is famous enough to have once adorned the back of the Canadian fifty dollar bill.
The stay was made "Excellent" by the amazing beach accomodations provide by Mr. Bill Crosby and his Ocean Mist Cottages.
I mention the name of the proprieter along with the name of the cottages as Mr. Crosby provides a local hospitality that we have not experienced anywhere else in our travels.
The cottages are located right on the beach protected by a gentle set of sand dunes and the location lends itself to incredible early morning sunrises, mysterious fog shrouded beaches, sitting by the fire spinning a yarn, romantic evening sunsets, and rapid access to the beach.
The cottages are decorated with locally made nautical crafts and are very cozy and comfortable. They are well equipped, you won't need to bring anything except your self & your bathing suit. On the cooler evenings after you have a bbq on your ocean facing deck, you can retire into your cottage and curl up with a good book in front of a nice warm gas fireplace. Or you can take a stroll on the boardwalk and come back by the beach. Make sure you tip your hat to the locals, they are friendly warm people. We liked to have campfires at night & invite all the visitors in each cottage. What interesting tales we heard & good friends we met. In fact we timed our visits each year so that we would see some of the same folks and have kept in touch throughout the years with some.
We can't say enough for the hospitality of Bill and Sue (the owners) as well as Marianne. Between them, the wonderful cottages and the spectacular beach, you won't find better anywhere.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Basin, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

I stayed at Oceanmist Cottages in March 08 to take advantage of the off season rate. I was assigned the Lobster Pot Cottage.
These cottages are directly on beautiful Crescent Beach so location is everything here. The cottages are right next to one another on a small property so if you are looking for privacy this wouldn't be your spot. What you do have is open water access just feet from your front deck which is wonderful.
The cottage itself was quite nice, very comfortable beds in both bedrooms, a well equiped kitchen, a large picture window overlooking the sea as well as a sliding glass door to the front deck with chairs, bbq etc. The decor was a bit boring and not very homey feeling, lack of pictures on the wall, ornaments and that sort of thing. I have been to much nicer cottages on the Lighthouse Route but it was clean and location can't be beat if you love having one of Nova Scotia's finest beaches right at your doorstep. The sound of the waves was very peaceful and a storm kicked up my last day and that was something else, talk about an angry sea, I loved it !
So much beauty nearby. The town of Lockport is very quaint and the cottages are right in town so you can walk everywhere and keep the car in the driveway.
A short tour outside the town limits is recommeded "
West Head
Louis Head Beach, beautiful wide expence of white sand, private and isolated. I saw one lone fisherman in his hip boots about 20 feet offshore and that was it, huge and rustically beautiful place.
Osborne Harbour
Pleasant Point where you will have the best view of Carter's Light.
Little Harbour
In town check out The Locke Family Heritage Seascape just to the left of the cottages, very historical area.
Mostly this accomodation is for beach orientated travellers, great for familes or a romantic getaway. Personally I prefer a more remote type of cottage for me, some personal space outside to bbq or sit at the picnic table without streams of people passing by as the walkway to the beach is directly in front of the cottages but I do see the appeal to many who frequent this accomodation.
I read the guestbook within my cottage and this place has many repeat visitors year after year.
Would I go back, sure I would but for the location and beach as opposed to the cottages themselves.

  • Liked — the location right on Crescent Beach
  • Disliked — the cottages are way too close together................
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Mist Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Mist Cottages

Address: 1 Gull Rock Road, Locke Street, Lockeport, Nova Scotia B0T1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lockeport
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lockeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bedroom winterized cottages located just 50 feet from Crescent Beach in Lockeport, Shelburne County, N.S. The cottages are tastefully decorated and fully equipped with four piece bath and well stocked kitchen. Each unit has a nautical theme with locally crafted pine furnishings and cathedral ceilings. Equipped with electric heat and propane fireplace. Less than a five minute walk from all amenities. Open year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Mist Cottages Hotel Lockeport
Ocean Mist Cottages Lockeport, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Mist Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.