We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Zip Line Pura Vida!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Viejo Wetlands

El Viejo Wetlands
10 miles East from Filadelfia, Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Costa Rica
2296-0966
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, Zip Line Pura Vida!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We did visit the place and the location, structure and history ther it is amazing!!!
Taking you back in history of Costa Rica, the restaurant accommodates lots of people and a traditional lunche served.
The Zip Line tour includes 6 cables with top of the line safety conditions and gear.
Pura Vida!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edo de mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I went to El Viejo early 2012, everything was fantastic! Food, the boat ride, the canopy adventure, it was all awesome! We saw alligators, tucans, parrots, iguanas. Overall it was amazing!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lots of birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We did not take the boat trip, but we did get a guide and go out to the wetlands area. Saw lots of birds that we had not seen before in Costa Rica. We live about an hour away, so it was exciting to see new species. The gift shop and the restaurant at the entry are both very nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“amazing river ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We cannot say enough about this trip. The service at El Viejo was amazing, the tour guide fantastic, the boat operator amazing and the wildlife was stunning. we saw more animals on this tour than any other one. We loved every minute of it. We had a great horseback ride followed by the fantastic river tour and then the sugar mill. This was the best trip we had in Costa Rica. We saw all kinds of animals including beautiful birds, Howler Monkeys, White Faced monkeys, crocodiles, snakes, lizards... the list seems endless. Do this tour!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“More than a river ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Despite a rainy day, this was a great morning activity to enjoy seeing much of the wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. We had the honor of seeing both white face and howler monkeys, crocodiles, Jesus Christ lizards, and coatimundis. This is a great ride to relax and enjoy nature. Do have lunch at Cosona Hacienda El Viejo. The restoration of the property is notable and the arroz con pollo is excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Viejo Wetlands also viewed

Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
 
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
Tilaran, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Viejo Wetlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Viejo Wetlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.