We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grapes hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grapes Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maentwrog
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grapes Hotel
Maentwrog, Maentwrog LL41 4HN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Maentwrog B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“grapes hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

It was a really great place to stay. Met by friendly helpful staff who assisted with my luggage. Settled me into my room and gave me all the details of meals available and made me feel very welcome. The dinner was lovely as was the breakfast. The room was clean and quiet and the facilities excellent. Good local knowledge and happy to have friendly chats. Very good price for room.
Would stay again!

Room Tip: Not applicable as any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    8
    7
    10
See reviews for
18
35
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very friendly staff, nice rooms and good food at very reasonable prices! Nice location with great views! The breakfast was just lovely and you get a good choice. Nice pub with a good atmosphere and a menu that is varied and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I loved this hotel. There is plenty of parking, and the building is warm and comforting. The staff was friendly and pleasant, the food was excellent, and the beds comfortable.

It is a great place for staging into Snowdonia national park, and many attractions within a short driving distance.

I can't recommend this place enough! It is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, Europe
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I arrived late at night and the hotel had reserved a ham salad sandwich for me because of my later arrival. Plenty of parking, old building nicely made up. A comfortable lounge area and a spotlessly clean bedroom. Bathroom was clean, with shower and bath. Breakfast was simple but perfectly OK. Would certainly return. The hotel is a little out of character with its environment - in a Welsh-speaking area, but the staff on the night were not able ot speak Welsh and the men in the bar drinking in the bar all had accents from afar. I think that they could do with a bit of work to support the local culture and language - e.g. some bi-lingual signs to welcome visitors would be nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Good good pub, good food , good beer, good interior. Not a bad word to say, comfortable place to grab a good pint, drink good whiskey and socialise with friends long into the night
Regular visitor
Highly recommend
Check it out

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and i used this Bar/Restaurant while on holiday nearby. Friendly enough place and service was good. Beer also was a good pint and not too pricey. Meal was ok, nothing special just plain pub grub and what you would expect price wise when out in the sticks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Recently stayed here as a base to venture off to mount Snowdon, Nice secluded location which we enjoyed. Staff were really friendly and welcoming, Food good other than oily linguine. As a veggie they were keen to offer alternatives. My meat-eating boyfriend loved the homemade burger!
Room was basic but came with all necessary facilities. TV and wi-fi just about works but if that's an issue maybe you have missed the point of visiting Wales. Only issue was with the sani-flow system (rm5). Basically sounds like the toilet is being flushed repeatedly all night. The authentic Welsh singing from the downstairs bar was much more welcome.
In summary a pleasant welcoming B&B with its heart in the right place but the night time noises need addressing in rm 5 at least.

Room Tip: avoid room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grapes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapes Hotel

Address: Maentwrog, Maentwrog LL41 4HN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Maentwrog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maentwrog

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grapes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Grapes Hotel to your Saves list