We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with this chippy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Street Fryer

Town Street Fryer
Town Street | Marple Bridge, Marple, Stockport SK6 5AA, England
+44 161 449 7290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Marple
Cuisines: English, Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with this chippy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Good value, great food and lovely staff, need now more from a village chip shop. I particularly like the irish curry sauce on my chips mmmm

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Our Current Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We tried this 'chippy' shortly after it opened. No problem, though it was early days and they were still getting to grips with the business. And - a big improvement has come along.

In recent weeks it has now become our favourite for fish & chips. Really good; great to have them in the locality of Town Street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fish & chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've been buying fish & chips since they opened. Always very good, fresh and well cooked. There is a welcoming atmosphere. Long may it continue!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real chunky pieces of fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Excellent fish. You don't have to dig around in the batter to find it like you do with most chippies

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go To Town for Fish And Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I write this review with the following qualifications. My family had a very successful fish and chip shop and restaurant in Blackpool and I worked in the business. I am a qualified fish inspector and I worked on the Fleetwood docks in their heyday. With this pedigree I have no hesitation in declaring the Town Street Friary a treasure among fish and chip shops. The fish is fresh, cooked fresh and whether your preference is for cod or haddock you will be delighted with your choice. The batter is crisp and light and the portion size is good value for money. The chips are produced from the raw potatoes, peeled and prepared on site and subsequently cooked to perfection. The potato fritters are a delight, a favourite of mine, and all other ancillary products match the fish and chips in quality and monetary value. The service is polite, friendly and efficient. This is another treasure within the Marple region and one of which both Marple and Marple Bridge can be proud. Don't take my word for it, find out for yourself. It will be a guaranteed favourite.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Street Fryer also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Town Street Fryer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Street Fryer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.