We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Lovely,Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Libby's

Libby's
1-3 Town St, Marple, Stockport SK6 5AA, England
+44 161 427 2310
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 34 Restaurants in Marple
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, Lovely,Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were given a voucher as a present to eat at Libbys, we went with a couple of friends, and we ordered a selection of tapas and pizza, service was quick and we were soon tucking into lovely hot food and drinking a nice red wine.. The place was warm, friendly, and lit with candles, lovely music was playing in the background, all in all, a brilliant night. Thank you to all the lovely staff.

And to everybody who bought the voucher for us, thankyou!! It was a lovely present.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    22
    9
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent food served here, lunchtime is not so special as just sandwiches, (excellent) cakes and soups but the evening menu is gorgeous. Tapas style dishes, pizza, mezze etc all fantastic, cooked to order and taste amazing!
Great for coffee's and pastries/cakes in the day but this place comes alive at night, the atmosphere is lovely.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent fayre but inadequate seating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It was a follow up evening visit and we had specifically reserved a window table for two,on arrival we were told that the whole seating plan had been altered and we were squashed into an area which very disappointing.Whilst the food was of good quality the way were treated, with no attempt to apologies for us not having the table we requested,has resulted in us not returning or favourably recommending this as an evening venue.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely setting and premises. Great service. Pulled pork and coleslaw was absolutely fantastic!!! First of (hopefully) many visits

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"Absolutely fantastic "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite cafe in Cheshire. My wife and I live in Romiley and we go at Least twice a week for lunch. I recommend the Ham and cheese toastie and the ham is from Maurice Thorley butchers in Romiley as he is my local butcher and I saw him deliver it there. Also the soups are nice and you get a basket of freshly baked assorted bread and an I individually wrapped French butter to go with it. The chicken pesto sandwich is nice and the signature cake is the Manchester tart and you won't be disappointed. Everything is home baked and reminds me of Northern Ireland's cafe's as everything is made on the premises. Try the Tapas bar at night and there isn't a bad item on the menu. I also love that everyone who works there is local and British which is a bonus and a rarity in England. They try there beat and provide a great service. The owner is a hard working man who obviously bakes all morning and works most of the day and night so I'm sure the last thing he wants to do is grin like a Cheshire Cat all day! There is papers for your pleasure to read in the cafe. Please ignore the negative posts above as they obviously are used to costa coffee with stake cakes and sandwiches and polish workers with no personality. Not that I'm against foreign workers but it is refreshing to speak to someone with a personality. It's rustic with charming staff who aim to please. Give it s try and you might be addicted too!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libby's also viewed

 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Libby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Libby's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.