We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Bonjour-Pere Marie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Les Arcs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Bonjour-Pere Marie
Save
You added Chalet Bonjour-Pere Marie to your Saves list
Le Pre, 73640 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Horsham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fab week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just had a spectacular week skiing in Les Arcs, staying at the Ski Bonjour chalet Pere Marie in Le Pre. Practically ski in-ski out, with super friendly staff, great food and lots of extra touches (boot/ski room with heated boot rack, sauna, change of towels mid-week, scrummy cake on return from the slopes and a very friendly guy called Ben to show us the best slopes to ski), our group of six friends had a fantastic week.
We stayed at Ski Bonjour's chalet in Val d'Isere 2 years ago and loved that, so reckoned Pere Marie would be a good bet, and we weren't disappointed.
Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff who work for Ski Bonjour and that, coupled with a great resort like Les Arcs, ensured we had a great time.

Room Tip: The ground floor seemed the quietest, but choose the top floor if you just want to tumble straight o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at Bonjour Pere Marie and will definitely be staying again. Yes the village is quiet but for those looking for a chalet that is finished to a high standard, serves excellent food by fantastically friendly staff and is a stones throw from the base of one of the best summit descents in Europe, the Aiguille Rouge, this chalet is for you. I can find no complaint with any aspect of my weeks stay and would recommend Pere Marie to anyone wanting to stay in a first class chalet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Another excellent Ski Bonjour week - yes the seating in the communal area is not overly comfortable and yes the village is very quiet but if you're looking for superb food, terrific hosting in terms of "nothing is too much trouble" and a vast ski area on your doorstep, then this is a chalet well worth a visit. A couple of people in our group commented on the lack of noise insulation but we were on the ground floor so were untroubled by this. It's almost ski in/ski out and the lack of queues lower down means you are quickly en route up the mountain. The lifts in the whole area are pretty slow (annoying given the cost of the ski pass!) but the variety is awesome and we were blessed with fab snow even though the weather threw everything at us! Cannot recommend Ski Bonjour enough - they really do have the Personal Touch and the whole "crew" were first class.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms would appear to be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

As per the other reviews, the chalet is in a very quiet, small, unspoilt
village with only a single bar in town. Also that there are 3 slow chairs lifts
(absolutely no queues) up until you head into the main Les Arcs resorts.
At the end of the day getting back to the village is not suited for total
beginners, though there was a first time boarder in the chalet who made
it down alive each day (well done Wayne / Alan! ?). At the bottom of the
run into Villaroger the chalet is 100 meters in one direction or head for
the bar which is 100 meters in the other direction. Its 6euro's a beer but
with rustic surroundings and a roaring log fire, its what skiing is all
about.

The chalet itself is a gem, newly built with furnishings in keeping with the
style. Bedrooms are a good size spread over 3 floors the top floor having
the lounge and dining area to ensure everyone can enjoy the amazing views
over the surrounging mountains. Being on the lower floor and consuming my
share of the wine ensured I didnt get disturbed by the night time noise from
the lounge that some others have mentioned. Chalet holidaymakers are
usually considerate but everyones body clock is different and we all
holiday to have fun and relax.

The food & wine as i've found with all of the bonjour holidays is excellant,
varied and plentiful.

The chalet & ski hosting in Pere Marie was excellant this year and really
made the holiday enjoyable. The team were all down to earth, socialble and
fun.

If you're a group/family of non-beginners looking to ski/board by day and
socialise over great food & wine in the evening, within comfortable
surroundings and great hosts - You shouldn't be dissapointed booking this
chalet.

Room Tip: If you need your early nights or are a lighter sleeper then book the lower floors and take some earp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nearly Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed in the Chalet in January and it was up to the usual standard of this company, excellent staff, food, accommodation etc etc you couldn't want for more from the chalet. If you haven't stayed in one of their chalets then I recommend that you do

It is a very quiet village as has been said with just the one bar/restaurant and no shop

Access to the slopes is via 3 chair lifts and then the whole of the Les Arcs/La Plagne ski area is available to you. The ski home is fine in good conditions, which we had, I wouldn't want to do it if there was less snow. This is not a chalet for beginners or the faint hearted unless you have transport of your own to take you into Les Arcs or La Plagne. We can ski so the home run did not present a problem to us (unless you count being tired at the end of a day making the last part of the home run feel very long) but there is a bar half way down that is to be recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are probably the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Agree with comments made below. Lovely chalet in a picturesque village. Suited to family / couples skiing holiday. Definitely not for those seeking any après ski, shopping, nightlife etc. Communal area could do with some comfy sofas. And yes, can be a very noisy chalet as the sound carries from open plan living area down to the bedrooms. Bit of a nightmare for those wanting to sleep before 1am. But nowhere else in the village for people to go…

Good staff. Customer focused. Ample food and wine. Car parking outside. Reliable free WIFI. Great en suite shower.

Would I go back the Chalet Marie Pere? Probably not. Prefer somewhere with a few bars – so I can sleep whilst others party;-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Pere Marie, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for your review
We As it is a new chalet we were not aware of the noise issue and will look at it during the summer
john
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February. The chalet is newly-renovated with comfy beds and great en-suite facilities. Ample storage for kit in a warm boot room. Catering provided by friendly staff with ample good quality wine. Open-plan lounge with plenty of seating but not particularly conducive to relaxing after a day’s skiing – functional rather than comfortable.
The chalet is well situated close to a queue-free chair lift and, yes, it takes three chairs to Arc 2000 but the journey is picturesque and tree-lined. I’d much prefer this than stand shuffling in a line for a gondola for half hour but each to their own. Ski back is easy black or blue with a finish not ideal for complete beginners. Ski hosting throughout the huge area of Paradiski provided by cheerful and accommodating Ben.
We knew beforehand that the Chalet is based in a hamlet with very few facilities. We go on holiday to ski not to shop or go out in the evenings so this wasn’t a problem for us (bits and pieces can be picked up in the supermarket at 1950). However it was a problem for the group of lovely blokes who wanted to party hard before, during and after skiing. They made use of the open plan living area and enjoyed drinking cheap, honestly-bar booze until the early hours every night. Great fun for them; misery for me in particular who likes early nights and lots of sleep after skiing all day, every day. The lack of sleep spoilt the holiday for me and I won’t go back to this chalet.
I do recommend the other chalets Ski Bonjour manage – in Val D’isere and Tignes les Breviere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skitlbHarrogate, Manager at Chalet Bonjour-Pere Marie, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for your comments
this chalet is new to us this season . the noise problem is something we will look at in the summer for next year.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Bonjour-Pere Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Bonjour-Pere Marie

Address: Le Pre, 73640 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Bonjour - the ultimate chalet experience!Large/Small groups, twin, double, family rooms all en-suiteComplete with Sauna - our most luxurious chalet 5 days free on-piste ski hosting included!Free WiFi and UK TV in all bedroomsEasy 3 minute walk to piste and lift • Traditional alpine style chalet, newly built for us for 2012/13• Huge sitting room with balcony & spectacular panoramic views• Stunning position in centre of totally unspoilt alpine village• Real log fire in sitting room and under-floor heating in all rooms • Individually designed, spacious bedrooms• Sunday to Sunday holidays• Ski Bonjour quality service• Free 1 day trip to ski Tignes /Val d’Isère area with host• Spectacularly beautiful tree lined skiing in Paradiski• Unlimited quantity of excellent wines with meals• Sauna, boot driers and ski storage inside chalet• ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Bonjour-Pere Marie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.