We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late season skiing in Les Arc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cachette Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Cachette Hotel to your Saves list
La Cachette Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arc Pierre Blanche, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Late season skiing in Les Arc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Booked a late deal with Crystal to Les Arc 1600 staying at La Cachette. Resort was fantastic for us with a few easy chairs and the ability to board down to the Gondola at Arc 1800. Got the last good week of the snow and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves (2 nervous boarders and a confident 11 year old skier). The hotel was fantastic, great room, great view, fantastic food and really friendly staff. Back entrance to hotel when dropped off not very welcoming but when you get past that and the small hotel lifts which cause a bottleneck on arrival, everything else is great.
Overall fantastic holiday and even managed to win the Crystal pub quiz!. Would recommend this resort and hotel highly and will be looking to return soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 603 which is a quad with views of the valley and across to Mont Blanc - fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Régine Chenal at La Cachette Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you had a good stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Régine Chenal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We made a last minute booking with Crystal, and were pleased with every aspect of the holiday. La Cachette was outstanding; our room which was huge, with a balcony overlooking the piste, and everything was spotlessly clean. The hotel was well situated, quiet and well appointed, all the staff were pleasant and efficient, but the real highlight was the food - a great choice at both breakfast and dinner. Some evenings were 'themed' - e.g. Italian one night, and the restaurant was decorated to match. Having not been to Les Arcs/La Plagne before we found it to be a large,well-planned ski area, served effectively by lifts and signposts. This was our 3rd ski trip this season and we hadn't booked a package before, but would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the piste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Régine Chenal at La Cachette Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are pleased you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Régine Chenal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Us ladies didn't manage to get to the hotel this March but the guys did and my partner Dave has asked me to write on their behalf. Once again there was no faulting the hotel and staff. From the moment they arrived the service was exceptional with the staff even singing happy birthday to John who was celebrating his 72nd birthday and a birthday cake was even produced on the next evening. The room was huge and had good views of Bourg St Maurice. The food is still the best we have ever experienced on any European ski trips. Particular thanks go to the waitress who was as cheerful this year as she was last year. There wasn't a free bar this year but this didn't matter as the quality of everything else is so good. I have no doubt we shall all be back again next year.

Jeanne & Grenville on behalf of Dave, John & Steve
Yeadon

Room Tip: I actually prefer a view of the piste but the guys said the room with valley views was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Régine Chenal at La Cachette Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you had a good stay and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Régine Chenal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

we went as a group to la chachette on feb 1st 2014.
in total there was 8 of us in 3 parties.
hotel is good value for money.
service good - although wait staff in evenings can be quite abrupt.
superb food for breakfasts, lunch & evening. this really is the hotels strong point!

great location for ski-lifts. ski in & ski out.

rooms very basic, but when your on the slopes from 8am - 5pm then hitting the apres-ski... what more do you want?

Room Tip: upgrade to one of the larger rooms. well worth it with a nice big balcony overlooking the alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Régine Chenal at La Cachette Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.

We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Régine Chenal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

La cachette is a great hotel, food amazing, location perfect, it's a pity you can only book it with Crystal. The rooms are small but adequate, a little dated but for a ski resort we were very happy. Great view over the slopes.
It is advertised as ski school at the door so you can imagine our annoyance when we were told on the morning of our lessons that our children were having afternoon lessons despite being told it was mornings and were being bussed to another resort. We have three children under 10 and one bus went backwards and forwards three times to the resort, there was no room for parents and they had to find their instructor when they got off the bus and wait around. The first day they left at 2 and were back at 630. Needless to say poles etc were lost. Such a waste of all our time. I booked this hotel for the ski school at the door.
They are still advertising it as ski school at the door. I have formally complained but heard nothing back. It's such a pity as the hotel is so good, Crystal very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Régine Chenal at La Cachette Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.

We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Régine Chenal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripponden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Arrived back from Cachette after going during w/c 22 Feb with group of 6 adults, 6 kids. Never been to Les Arc before although we ski most years.
Resort - hotel is based centrally and front doors open out onto pedestrianised area with lots of crepe shops, pizzeria, spa etc. The ski set shop is about a minute walk and is on the way to the two main lifts which are a further minute away. There is no ski storage at the hotel but ample at the ski set shop for free.
Hotel - is lovely. We had a family room which was big in skiing terms. I looked at previous reviews and asked for valley facing room for quietness and we had peaceful sleeps all week. Beds very comfy, bathrooms fine (albeit typical half sized ski bath!). Nice area with sofas to relax.
Food - excellent. There is one night buffet, next night service and so on. Always options for the kids, loads of variety and plenty to eat. Breakfast good too. Definitely no complaints, best ski food I think we've had.
Staff - were all very nice with the exception of some surly faced restaurant staff. Not sure why they seemed so miserable because they certainly weren't dealing with food complaints. Otherwise reception, bar and cleaning staff all very pleasant.
Creche - we ended up putting three boys from our party into creche at the hotel as we took them out of ESF Piou Piou because it was so bad (more to follow). Kids club great area. Staff mostly spoke French but didn't seem to matter, perhaps because the three boys all knew each other.
ESF Piou Piou - too crowded, kids not learning anything and left to stand and cry if they got upset. Really not good. We have used ESF before and I am sure the older kids lessons were fine, but wouldn't do the tots again. That said, we then booked the boys a private hour for the three of them with an ESF instructor and they loved her.
Overall really good hotel that I would recommend to anyone....enjoy!

Room Tip: ask for valley room, we had 618 which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Régine Chenal at La Cachette Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Régine Chenal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just returned from a week’s stay at La Cachette and we were very impressed. We requested a room facing the slopes with a balcony and even though the hotel was busy our request was accommodated which was great. Room was perfect, a little dated as mentioned in different reviews but very clean and tidy, radiator in front of window does a great job of drying gear and keeping the room warm. Food and services were both superb! Cannot really fault the place especially considering the price and proximately to the lifts!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the slopes with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Directeur-Manager1, Régine Chenal at La Cachette Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your comment.
We are glad you had a good experience and we look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regard,

Régine Chenal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Cachette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cachette Hotel

Address: Arc Pierre Blanche, 73700 Les Arcs, Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Bourg Saint Maurice > Les Arcs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Les Arcs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Cachette Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Cachette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cachette Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.