We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst resort i ever stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kanha Village Eco Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kanha Village Eco Resort to your Saves list
Kanha Village Eco Resort
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Near Kanha National Park | Village Boda Chhapri, Kanha National Park 482002, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pune
1 review
“worst resort i ever stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

About Hotel:
During booking time it was nice & pleasant communication with Mr. Kamal. Earlier was thinking of booking pugmarks resort as it has not even single bad review and was cheap too. Eco Village has 4-5 bad reviews still because of its concept and photos i went for it inspite of it being expensive.

Thanks to Mr. Kamal for continuous help in my changing plans.

but when we reached at resort, Mr kamal was not there & Mr Krishnan accompanied us who was not pleasant at all.

This resort is very far from khatia gate and road are not good. also location is not that great.
also no directions from main road. Its 6 km away from khatia gate.

1st disappointment: i asked if you provide room service? he said we do but today we cant because we are short of staff. Although later on forcing he provided room service but it was not happily provided.

2nd disappointment: we asked for tea and that tea was nothing more than water. When i talked the same with Krishnan he did not accepted it.. he said our resort is famous for food. i said i had it and my family of 10 people is saying the same but still he was not ready to accept.

3rd good thing: we had bath in open swimming pool which was great attraction of this resort. it was clean and refreshing. also location was good surrounded by jungle.

4th good thing: Rooms were clean and bathrooms were also very clean. Provided 4 dry towels & 2 napkins in each room. Although location of cottages is better than standard rooms. Still interior and exterior of rooms does not meet 1500 Rs per night.

5th disappointment: we took AP plan meaning all meals, breakfast, stay. If you are charging 600 Rs per person per day for meals & breakfast i.e. 300 Rs per meal, you should strongly maintain quality and taste of food. But taste was too bad and quality was terrible :(. not at all value for money. fish was quite OK but veg food was terrible. and you get 1 chapati after waiting for 2-3 minutes.

6th good thing: gypsies were provided by resort and they were present on time at resort.

7th disappointment : Resort has given packed breakfast but it was not good at all. had done safari in pench national park were in breakfast was so good and along with fruits but here in village Eco, no taste, not variety, no fruits, no water bottles. 0/5.

8th disappointment: lunch at resort was terrible again. it was all veg, just potato- cauliflowers boiled in water. 2 of our members were breaking fast on such food. Still Mr Krishnan was not accepting the truth about the quality of their food. also same for chapatis, every person had to wait for 2-3 minutes for chapati. 0/5

9th good thing: again we had blast at swimming pool after evening safari where in we found snake in pool. which was not problem for us because we were staying in jungle and its not surprise finding animals there.we found 2nd snake near restaurant. again it was OK and nice experience for me. According to Mr. Pandeji, they are not staying in our home we are staying in there home. Strongly agree on this.

10th disappointment: Dinner was spicy but again taste was not good. although my vidarbhian members like food due to spices, i being for pune it was not tasty at all. Even no spicy food can be tasty but here it was not. 1/5

11th good thing: sweet dish after every meal was superb. also on request Mr pande provided extra sweet dish. Thanks for that.

12th good thing: staff helped us to carry baggage in cars while check out.

About Safari:
We spotted 1 tigress along with her 3 cubs. This was amazing experience. 5/5. Thanks to our luck.
We also spotted bison, owl, eagle, deer, barsinga, peacocks, wild chicken, wild bore, nilkanth, wood pecker. We did 2 safaris and they were nice. Some guides were good but some were not talking at all.

Overall:
i strongly suggest not to choose village Eco resort. Better go for pug marks at least you will not be fooled for money because its too cheaper than Eco village and all reviews about this resort are good,.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
16
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

first things first, the place is a lil in the interiors and abit far from the main Khatiya gate. the inroads haven't been constructed yet. My husband and I had gone for a weekend holiday. Apart from us, there was no other guest staying at the property. As far as the service is concerned, it was good, but not great. The food was very good and homely, but they would keep us waiting for every meal for 20-30mins (inspite of being informed in advance about our meal timings). also they were not very flexible, like if we would ask them for another desert they would gently refuse, and once wen we asked for a second helping of kadhi, we were told it was over.The milk i insisted upon, instead of tea, was half diluted. Thats not the kind of service you expect at a resort. People praise their breakfast baskets, but i did not find it to be special at all. it consisted of some sandwiches(which were OK) and alo paratha. on both the days.They offer you juice, tea and coffee along with that, but they forgot to pack it in our basket ( inspite of a 15 mins discussion the previous night over the breakfast menu). I didnt like asking them for anything bcoz half the times they would respond with a "yes, ofcourse" and the rest of times it would be a straight "no".
People also rave about the splash pool, but unless you are comfortable with insects, ants, lizards and dirt around you, you wouldnt be very comfortable using it.
The rooms arent numbered on the outside,and all look the same, so i would end up reaching other rooms, many a times.
Cleanliness is a bit of an issue too. the toilet seat had urine stains wen we checked in. also the bes had dirt wen we took off the bed cover.
All in all the food was the best thing. they can definitely do better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Before mentioning anything about room or food I would like to thank Mr Krishnan the manager and Mr Pandey the service manager for their help during my hour of need. My son 2.5 year old kid fell sick in the middle of the night and I received all possible help from both of them. God bless them. Regarding food quality : I have nothing to complain. I had booked 3 rooms with air coolers not air conditioned. The rooms were not excellent but quite clean. Once again I would like to reiterate that the best thing in Eco village resort that you will notice is the energy and willingness to work attitude of the entire staff and the managers. The location is also good around 5-10 mins from the Khatia main gate

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Kanha Village Eco Resort

Good location, as it's nice and quiet. A short drive to the park gate. But...

It may have been a nice place to stay 20 years ago when it was new, but that time has long passed. One gets the constant impression that they are about to go out of business at any time.

Food is served in an unheated shed, not a problem for much of the year, but having dinner in the cool/cold December air is not great fun. The food is good, but monotonous.

But by far the biggest problem is that the place is a dump. My room wasn't filthy but you could see it from there. Stained linen, dirty floors, unknown smudges on the walls. Over four nights I had housekeeping show up twice. Once was after I had returned from a morning game drive, then they wanted to clean my room--not during the five hours I was off site, nor during the three hours I was on a game drive in the afternoon, but rather during the few hours I was in the room.

The room came complete with the normal share of tropical critters: small non-biting flys, ants, and, one very large spider (about 2 inches in diameter) that crawled back into one of the many holes in the wall when the light was turned on.

The working staff are very nice. Management, however, clearly doesn't care--they have a "this place is going down" attitude.

The two positives, location and working staff, hardly make up for the condition (poor) and cleanliness (nonexistent) of the place.

With some attention to detail, a lot of repair and painting, some better training of staff, installation of wifi and tv, the place could really shine. But don't hold your breath. There are a couple resorts nearby that are clearly far better, I'd look to them the next time I came.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself and my wife had booked a room at Kanha Village Eco Resort for 3 nights.
The place is good with natural surroundings and good cottages. They also have a good swimming pool.
The staff is friendly and the food was good(specially the safari basket).
The staff helped us to plan almost all the trip.
It was a pleasure to meet Mr.Sanjeev and Mr.Navneet.

I would recommend this place for people who like to stay in natural surroundings and not in a hi-fi resort. Overall a perfect place to spend your Kanha safari stay for budget travelers like us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the air cooled room which was good in regards to the cost. Any room would be comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just left the resort after a realy
good stay for 5 days .

what can I say more ...
great staff and verry good help
with safaries .

sanjeev is just the best guide you can have
he nows everything about the park .

if I could I would stay voorever


Ronald ekkel from the Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is a real gem and we are so pleased we found it. Right from inquiring about a room the service was second to none! Our booking was managed by sanjeev, who has impeccable English and is a naturlist with over 20 years experience in kanha np. He helped us to organize our 3 prebooked safaris and then made numerous phone calls to organize 2 more shared safaris once we had arrived. He came on our safaris with us and we were so grateful for his knowledge, making each safari truly special (as many of the park guides speak very little English). Navneet, the owner, is a wonderful photographer and took time out of his busy schedule to give us a wildlife photography tutorial which was greatly appreciated. Raju, one of the waiters, went out of his way to ensure we were very comfortable during our stay, as did all the staff at kanha! Krishna, the other manager spent hours booking a train ticket for us and lent us his laptop to backup our photos (he also has a very cute 2 year old son). The rooms were spacious and clean with a good hot shower! The swimming pool is also a massive bonus, just what you need to cool off. We were only supposed to stay fro 4 nights and stayed for 7 we loved it that much here. It was truly a 10 star experience here but without the price tag!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kanha Village Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanha Village Eco Resort

Address: Near Kanha National Park | Village Boda Chhapri, Kanha National Park 482002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kanha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kanha Village Eco Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanha Village Eco Resort as the name suggests is an Eco wildlife lodge just adjacent to a pond and dense forest in the buffer forest of Kanha National Park. It has Cottages and standard rooms for guests. Construction has been done with locally available bio degradable materials like clay and straw. Cottages have Air condition, Writing table, Low sitting, mini refrigerator, splash pool and sitting area. Kodo - Kutki its restaurant serves Indian, South Indian, Continental, Chinese and ethnic food. Restaurant has separate kitchen for veg and non-veg cooking, a boon for pure vegetarians. Other hotels can give Jain food but it is cooked in same kitchen with Non Veg but at our place youu are sure to get pure Veg food. Choupal - the TV lounge is a good place to sit and chat in the evenings. We have a library which has collection of books for everyone. Mela - the Games room has table tennis, Carom and Chess facilities which can be enjoyed by one and all. Pokhar - you can enjoy at the swimming pool.Use Abhyanga ghar for a refreshing massage by local Khawas or take a jungle walk, visit tribal village home, or just relax in one of the Mandaps. Since most of the plants here are from local landscape you get a chance to see lots of birds visiting the property. With grass roofing, family pool in cottages and vicinity to forest Kanha Village is best modern property made in vernacular style in and around Kanha National Park. Our Owner Mr. Navneet Maheshwari is an avid wildlifer and bird watcher and has more than 200 awards / acceptances in national and international wildlife photography contests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Kanha Village Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanha Village Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.