We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent jungle experience @ Muba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muba At Mukki, Kanha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Muba At Mukki, Kanha to your Saves list
Muba At Mukki, Kanha
1.0 of 5 Resort   |   Village Bahmani Mukki Gate, Kanha National Park 481111, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent jungle experience @ Muba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited Muba resorts from 23 to 25th Dec 2012. It was a family outing with 4 adults and 2 kids. I must say that the ambience of the resort is absolutely amazing. The resort is located on the boundary of the core jungle area and every care is taken by the owner Mr. Khan to keep it as natural as possible. At the same time the resort rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious. We reached late in the evening on 23rd and had planned to leave the resort next day after our jungle safari. But hardly 10 mins after entering the resort, we extended our stay seeing the natural beauty. The dinner that night was absolutely sumptuous. Also, the kitchen staff lead by Ms. Archana took utmost care that the food is served hot to the entire tourists, being the winter season. It was a very thoughtful gesture of them. The resort arranged a safari vehicle for us which was quite comfortable. Our jeep guide Mr. Bhimsen Patil is a very knowledgeable person and has numerous experience of safari in the all the jungles in the khana corridor right from Tadoba to Pench to Kanha. Infact, we noticed that he has more experience in spotting animals than the official forest department guide who accompanied us on the safari. We had booking for Mukki gate pass for morning safari. We did not see the tiger. However, we enjoyed the safari as the jungle is extremely beautiful. We spent the rest of the day in the resort and enjoyed the nature. In the evening, we met Mr. Khan the resort owner and the other management staff over a cup of tea and realized that they have a vast wild life experience. The experiences they shared were very interesting and informative. Although Mr. Khan was a little unwell, he still promised to take us for a night trek on the natural trail along the border of the jungle inside the resort. We started the trekaround 8:30PM with Mr. Khan, Mr. Bhimsen and other staff. They were telling us how tigers have often started trespassing in their property in search of a "easy" catch. They showed us a couple of spots along the trail from where tigers possibly enter the property. We were hardly walked 600-700 meters on the trail and we noticed fresh pug marks of a male tiger. The tiger had once again trespassed in the property and was near somewhere as per them. Mr. Khan immediately took as back to the main resort area as he felt there is no point in taking risk in the night with us tourist with him. I still remember his words, “We are in his (tigers) area, and we better give him space". He immediately alerted other tourist and the staff in the resort about the incidence and asked everyone to stop playing any music if they want to enjoy being near to the tiger or possibly see it. They took utmost care that night that the resort staff was accompanying tourists to their rooms if the rooms were away from the main resort building. After that we had a nice time talking about this incidence and others shared by Mr. Khan and Mr. Bhimsen near the bonfire area. Overall, staying @ Muba was a very enjoyable and memorable experience for us. I would definitely return back and recommended this resort to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    38
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
58
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chinsurah, West Bengal, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We are a group of 8 and one infant, visited Muba on December 3rd-5th. We find it very enjoyable. First of all the place is excellent one with a fantastic environment. The staffs are very helpful and cooperative. My 2 year old child felt ill due to the long travel, but they cooperate us providing extra care. Manager, Mr. Vijay took good care of us. Can't forget fantastic experience of listening jungle experience from Mr. Bhimsen in the evening during bonfires. Ms. Archana who is the kitchen manager also shared her experiences. They are true jungle lovers. Food quality is great and also tasty. Wish to visit Muba again in future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mud house and it's really great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

group of 6 with 6 safaris pre-booked by Muba Resorts Mr. Junaid Khan.
Mr. Khan and Mr. Vijay were most helpful in guiding us from Ahmedabad itself on various routes to take.
They arranged our Taxi pick up and Drop, Safaris etc in a complete package.
Night one:- we thought we could stay in the Mud Rooms but unfortunately the Mud rooms are relatively old and not for the faint hearted like us.
On request we were changed to the delux rooms the next day.
everthing at Muba @ Mukki is natural and environmental.
Imagine 4 nights of No Cellphone service, No T.Vs, no contact with the outter world just the Jungle Sounds. Amazing.
And what Food by the Staff. Amazing. in all the 4 nights we stayed there, we Enjoyed each and every lunch and dinner to the fullest. Mind you if you are looking for a 12 course buffet with food getting cold on the buffet table, this is not your place. If you love freshly cooked food (even if there are only 2 or 3 cooked veggies) with hot chappatis, you are in for heaven at Muba. FYI none of us had any stomach problems all the days (which is a comman sign while travelling into remote regions).
So 5 Stars for the people at Muba, if visiting Kanha again i would not go anywhere else.
Had an amazing Jungle experience as this is the true Evergreen Forest.
However, we were also not luck enough to see a Tiger in any of our safaris.
Regarding Gates, we tried all the gates Mukki, Kisli, Kanha but were in vain. Kisli guides say that Kisli gate is the best while Mukki guides say that Mukki gate is the best. However, i found the Kisli gate to be better (maybe cos i had taken 4 safaris at the Mukki gate). Tiger siting is purely on Luck and we did not feel disappointed for a minute because we enjoyed a thorough jungle experience. hope this review is helpful to you.
If you are travelling from and to Jabalpur please check out a place which is 20 kms approx from Jabalpur "Bedaghat" it is most amazing i have been told. We missed it as had not planned it before. So want to pass on the favour to other travellers.
Please pack warm clothes beforehand as the morning and evening safaris are chilly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My visit to Kanha was made memorable by the stay at Muba Resorts. Excellent surroundings, very natural - no TV, no Phones, no Internet .... but who cares when you are on an adventure jungle trip. The food was excellent and we were always served piping hot meals. The staff is very courteous lead by Mr. Vijay who himself is very guest-centric and that makes it easy for everyone else. The mudhouses are the best if you want to enjoy the nature and also save some money. The driver Lakhan singh was very helpful on safaris and tried his best for a tiger sighting but its very difficult in winters. The safaris were managed excellently without a single hassle and same goes for my stay. Muba is about 3 km from the Mukki gate and the travel is easy. Moreover, Kanha is a much better managed park compared to Bandhavgarh and is also way more beautiful. If you love nature, you will find a lot of variety of flora and fauna at Kanha.

One thing I would like to mention about Muba is that during the morning safaris, all the hotels pack the BF for guests and keep it in the safari-jeeps and there is a convention centre in the middle of Kanha where guests enjoy the BF - and the spread we had for BF was the best among all those having BF at the centre. The fishing pond is an excellent place to relax and if you like fishing, its a great place to catch some fish.

The campfire place at Muba is excellent and guests can enjoy the surroundings well while enjoying the campfire.

Some Important Info:

If you book Muba, make sure you book the safaris for Mukki Zone or Kanha Zone (Only mornings) else you will have to travel about 10-15 Kms around the park to get to the Kisli Gate or the Khatia Gate (Kanha Zone Evening) and this journey is filled with potholes and dust.

Kanha Zone safaris can be taken from the Mukki gate only in the mornings but for Kisli Zone safaris you have to enter from the respective Kisli Gate only. Most people do not know this information and have to struggle to get around the other gate which is usually a 20-30 min drive in rough terrain.

Room Tip: If you are more than 3 Adults, choose the Mud Houses - they are comfortable and 4 bedded along with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Muba Resort is a true jungle resort. It is surrounded by the jungle. We stayed there for 2 days, we really enjoyed the beauty of the kanha jungle. Dr.Zaffar (owner of the resort) is a real wildlife lover, he came with us in the resort at night & give us a very good information about the Jungle. He also share his experiences with us in the jungle.
Intercoms of the rooms was not working & food is an average but i think this doesn't matter with the true wild life lovers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I really enjoyed the natural surroundings in which the resort is situatued. The resort has the natural fauna and everything is so nice and beautiful. Got an opportunity to do some wonderful photography of butterflies, birds, reptiles and different species. The place is so peaceful and quiet ......a good place to be away from the city guss buzz...!

Room Tip: Carry some mosquito repellent or mat as too many mosquites may disturb the night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raipur
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our visit to Kanha in the first week of June 2012 was memorable for many reasons; foremost of which was our stay at Muba at Mukki. The resort has been designed to bring the forest in to the rooms so as to experience it at close hand. The thoughtful layout of the cottages, the wide open windows in them, the open dining area, the machan, the central campfire area, the small wooden bridges, the mud paths all blend in perfect harmony with the mighty sal tree forest that surrounds the resort. The resort lacks air-conditioning, television in rooms, swimming pool, internet and good telephone connections but these do not get in the way of ones enjoyment of the lush green foliage, the sounds and solitude of the forest or a beautiful night sky. The other strength of the resort is its staff, who are extremely courteous and welcoming. Ms. Archana, the Manager was caring, sincere, obliging and active in her efforts to make the stay comfortable. Mr. Vijay who guided us in our safari besides his knowledge of the flora and fauna at Kanha is earnest in sharing the beauty of the national park with the visitors. The safaris that we undertook under his stewardship were a notable and unforgettable experience not only for the abundance of wildlife that Kanha has to offer but also for his sincere efforts that we see all. Yes we saw the tiger and the leopard and also a score of other animals and birds that Kanha is well renowned for and thanks to him for this treat. Does the resort have any shortcomings? Which resort located in the remote wilderness in the heart of India will not? But the simple beauty of the evergreen sal trees, the relaxed sylvan surroundings of the resort and the warmth of its staff make any such shortcoming trivial. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Cottages best deal to feel close to the forest. Mud houses are cheaper and a novel concept but lack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muba At Mukki, Kanha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muba At Mukki, Kanha

Address: Village Bahmani Mukki Gate, Kanha National Park 481111, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Kanha National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Kanha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Muba At Mukki, Kanha 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muba invites you to join us on an adventure into the forests of central India. Mingle with nature in its primordial form and yet get the comfort that you will crave for when you come back to your room after a safari or the nature walk. Meet like minded people and discuss the latest sightings of the day while you huddle around the bonfire. You will feel and experience the stillness around the jungles except for an occasional sound of birds and animals. The sunset and sunrise are your clocks here and the whistling of the wind or the water flowing by is music. The glory of nature is on full display. Your stay at Muba will leave you with a beautiful understanding of the wilderness and its occupants and a yearning to come back for more. Tourism can be good or bad for the environment and local people depending on the attitudes and sensitivities of the players involved. At Muba we believe that Responsible Eco tourism is the key word; and that it only increases the good and eliminate the bad. Responsible tourism goes hand in hand with conservation needs and is all about helping man coexist with nature. Travel can be much more than simply visiting places, taking pictures and buying souvenirs. When executed mindfully, and with the minimum impact, travel can inspire cultural awareness, tolerance, and commitment to environmental responsibility.We engage in a variety of activities that help man co-exist with nature, such as employing local talent, buying village produce, assisting in the sale of village handicraft and keeping a close eye on our forests and helping the Forest Department safeguard it. The forests, wildlife and natural wealth are the epicenter of the Muba’s business. As initiators we seek to create awareness among our guests to be a part of this rewarding and wild experience that embraces nature the eco-friendly way. Muba works with a responsible aim to conserve the environment and ecology thereby minimizing the adverse effects of traditional tourism on the natural environment. “While, providing guests with world class facilities and experiences is our primary business objective; complying with environment standards and initiating responsible tourism is our primary business responsibility. Muba at Mukki-Kanha National Park is truly and exclusively a wildlife resort - we aim to preserve nature in its original form and also to make people aware of the true meaning of wildlife and nature. We provide accommodation, meals, jungle safaris, bonfires, wildlife library, fishing in water pond, trekking, tribal dance, games both indoor and out door, cycling, star gazing, wild life documentaries and much more raw fun with the nature than you can ever imagine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Muba At Mukki, Kanha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muba At Mukki, Kanha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.