We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Cherry Tree to your Saves list
The Cherry Tree
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   33 High Street | Abingdon, Steventon OX13 6RZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Steventon B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Friendly & accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this hidden gem whilst researching my wife's family heritage and what a lovely experience it was, the staff were engaging & friendly the food was great & the accommodation was comfortable & clean with easy access from the car park to the room being only 15 meters away.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
38
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with our lovely dog who was welcomed along with us.
We had a fabulous court yard room which was wonderful for our dog as I could take him out without disturbing anyone.
The room was very clean, loads of hot water, large fluffy towels and at last a sensible hair dryer!!
The breakfast was out of this world served hot and fresh to the table.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teading
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We ate here on 23rd August, it was a sort of birthday meal for a colleague. We did not stay in the hotel.
The menu was a pretty typical 'pub menu' with one or two gastro delights such as 'confit of duck leg'.
My starter of risotto was awful, to be more exact it was just dry, and overcooked and did not taste freshly cooked, maybe it had been frozen or re-heated I don't know.
My friends fared better on the starters and the breaded goat cheese looked very nice - wish I had that now.
Mains were disappointing for most of us.. The pie of the day was very dry, overcooked not enough gravy or kidney but with a 'huge' puff crust.. The fish and chips were very overcooked and the chips were dry and tasteless. The lamb burger that I had was ok as burgers go but the bun was too big for it, and they smothered it in some 'salsa' which I didn't like very much it tasted too much of ketchup and there was not enough salad with it.
The steak from the specials board was nice but did not come with the sauce described but it was good.
I wish they had more choice of salads and some grilled fish (ie sea bass, trout or similar) on the menu I asked if I could just have grilled fish with and salad.. it seems they dont have a grill or maybe the fish is 'ready battered' so not possible to grill it ?
Overall I felt it was expensive as well.
We did not bother with desert, the menu was not very inspiring.
The restaurant/bar itself is a bit drab and really needs updating.
They did not really cater very well for one of our party who was allergic to gluten.
We were reasonably well looked after by the bar/waiting staff, shame the food was not very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in the old part of the Hotel, in a very characterful room, with loads of beams and wonky walls. The Breakfast was very good and enough to last all day! The only slight drawback was the road noise, but i think this i more a problem with me as i life in a very quite place and am a light sleeper.

This is a very pleasant welcoming hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed last weekend for one night during Truck Festival.
We had a nice clean room (#1) with complimentary tea/coffee, water, biscuits & toiletries, while the shower was hot & powerful.
The full English breakfast was great & the check in/food service was pleasant and completed with a smile.
You can't complain at B&B for £65.

I used to work locally and had been in at lunch time before, so can also confirm they serve a decent sandwich & pint of real ale.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed in this charming road side hotel on a last minute booking due to an unforeseen family problem . From first entering the place to leaving the staff were superb, absolutley first rate, making us feel welcome from the moment we stepped in to the place to when we left . We ate in the bar and the food was first rate, reasonably priced and plentyful, breakfast the same with a great choice
The room was clean and tidy , but be aware if your 5ft10 or taller you will bang your head at some point on the low beams if your in a room in the old part of the inn, ground floor back rooms are better laid out I was told .,Shower / bathroom was good with plenty of toiletries and soft towels, only word of caution would be the Inn is right on the road side, which could be noisy for some people who are light sleepers. however after several pints of Wadworthshire finest ales ( I tried most of them,,, superb.) I slept like a baby, apart from knocking my head in the morning, I was warned..
Well done to all who work there for doing a great job..inparticular the chaps at breakfast..Thankyou.

Room Tip: Ground floor rear..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and i stayed here on a Saturday night and loved the experience.

To start with, the village itself is very nice with 2 pubs (including the Cherry Tree) and a co-op store near by. It is also aparently a great place to have walks from as you are close to the ridgeway (although we didn't get the chance on our visit).

When we entered, we where greeted warmly by the staff. You are usually not able to check in until 2pm but they lets us into our room 2 hours early to allow us to change for the wedding we where going to.

The pub is lovely with log burning fires and lots of cosy spots, there is also a nice patio outside which was nice as it was the hotest day of the year.

We where in an upstairs room and it was very spacious with a good double bed and separate bathroom. Complementary tea, coffee and mineral water was included which was a nice touch.

The breakfast was a good full English but they also offered eggs Florentine and other options (all included in the price).

Overall it was a great place to stay and the staff made it perfect by being so friendly and helpfull.

We are planing to go back in the winter to do some long walks then hunker down by the fire and have a few beers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree

Address: 33 High Street | Abingdon, Steventon OX13 6RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Steventon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Steventon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cherry Tree 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Cherry Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherry Tree Steventon, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cherry Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.