We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter's Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lands of Loyal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lands of Loyal Hotel to your Saves list
Lands of Loyal Hotel
Loyal Road, Alyth PH11 8JQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alyth
Kirriemuir, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Daughter's Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We attended our daughter's wedding at the Lands of Loyal Hotel on the 2nd August and found the staff very helpful and friendly throughout the day and evening.
The food and service was excellent throughout
The hotel is in a unique setting above Alyth with magnificent views over the Strathmore Valley and highly recommended (especially as a wedding venue for that extra special experience for family and friends)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    17
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
50
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband (!)and I love the Lands of Loyal Hotel (especially the amazing food) and decided to get married there on Saturday. The venue is unique and beautiful; the staff are attentive, friendly and nothing is too much trouble; Xhosa and Patricia in particular were amazing when dealing with quite a stressed bride to be; the tables and decor looked fabulous and the food was ABSOLUTELY amazing with lots of delicious choices in each course. Throughout the day staff were continually asking how we were, which was lovely. We want to thank you so much for making our day so special and memorable. Any couples out there looking for a wedding venue - look no further! We'll be back soon! Mirren and Martin :-)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We attended our nieces wedding on the 2nd of August and was amazed at the beautiful setting,wonderful interior,exceptional food and the most friendly and helpful staff what a wonderful weekend thanks to the owner and staff well done.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We attended a wedding at the hotel and stayed 2 nights. The room was lovely (v clean) with 4 poster bed and magnificent view. The wedding itself was a triumph. The meal was excellent. Staff were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 5 had a fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked in on Saturday the 19th of July, reception area not welcoming looks like a dinner hatch,
The manager/ owner very abrupt on check in, insisting i wait till the young guy who was busy take my case to my room, even when i said i can carry it as it was only an over night bag, but no she was quite sharp telling me to wait, but i insisted,

Room very dusty not what you expect for a room charged at £100 a night.
Dinner at night was so expensive main £18.95 small portions and not very good.
Breakfast porridge was from a packet not what you expect from a 4 star.

Was not a very pleasant stay and would not stay or recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Would not recommend any room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed last weekend at the Lands of Loyal Hotel as we were golfing and visiting family in the area. We arrived at 6-ish and our family were joining us for dinner at 7pm. Having rushed to get there it was a joy to have a seamless check-in and a nice welcome. A member of staff arrived quickly to take our bags up to our room.
The Hall/lounge is superb: a period piece that is quite baronial and certainly impressive. The room was comfortable and great attention has been paid to detail throughout in terms of the period décor. The only quibble was that the four poster bed creaked at the least movement. When our family arrived for dinner the staff went to great pains to cater for our needs (our great nephews who are very small were with us). Nothing was too much trouble and we were all made to feel really welcome. There are several small dining areas which gives a lovely intimate ambience and again the décor has a period feel. Food and service were both very good. After the family left we brought our well behaved spaniel into the hotel and were surprised to find another party had their retriever with them in the lounge. We decided to stay and have a nightcap and our dog sat happily with us. Full marks to the hotel for being so dog friendly.
This is a lovely relaxing place to stay with local staff who know how to give their customers good old fashioned service. One very slight niggle was the compact car park-but we got a friendly wave from the kitchen staff when we eventually found a space! Happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 2 for the creaky bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Booked a private room for my Dad's 70th Birthday in June. We had lunch for 22 which was absolutely delicious, he had a lovely day. My mum and him also stayed the night which was a surprise present from my brother and I. The service was so friendly and efficient , we can't thank you enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lands of Loyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lands of Loyal Hotel

Address: Loyal Road, Alyth PH11 8JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, traditional, owner run, country house hotel in pretty town of Alyth close to Blairgowrie in rural Perthshire. Excellent restaurant, food served all day, open to all, families welcome. 17 lovely bedrooms all ensuite with flat screen digital TVs and free wi fi access. Including a specially designed room for wheelchair access with adjacent room for a carer or travelling companionThe area is set on a hillside overlooking one of the three golf courses in the town and has its garden listed in the prestigious Scotland's garden scheme. Events take place locally throughout the year including festivals, concerts and highland games, Dundee and Perth city are both within easy access and Edinburgh and Glasgow are just 90 minutes drive away. The circular walking route, The Cateran Trail goes directly passed the door of the hotel making it a perfect stop for rest and refreshment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Lands of Loyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lands Of Loyal Hotel Alyth, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lands of Loyal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.