We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alyth Hotel to your Saves list
Alyth Hotel
6 Commercial St, Alyth PH11 8AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Alyth B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great hotel situated in a beautiful village. Stayed as part of a 2 night dbb stay and cannot fault room which was very modern and stylish and breakfast was delicious and a wide choice of options were available. The manager David was fantastic and could not be more accommodating. Dinners were delicious and highly recommend haggis and black pudding balls as a starter!Will definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at front quite noisy from music from bar next door but not bad enough that we couldnt sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We visited the Alyth Hotel again on another Groupon deal. The management has now changed hands and they are making small changes. The hotel is very clean and we were given a family room which was amazing to have so much space but also super clean as well. The manager and staff are helpful and friendly.

The food is great and plenty of it, so nice to be served breakfast and not have to get it yourself, so no buffet style here.

It is a lovely place to stop at even if it is only for one night. The hotel has a pub adjacent to the hotel which can be lively with the locals but its all good and doesn't open too late so you will still get a good sleep.

We would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed on a Groupon deal but added on an extra night. Yes, the hotel is a bit dated but everything was clean, the staff were great and so was the food. Most enjoyable stay and would return. Felt the lounge bar was a bit of a staging post for customers dining in the hotel. A proper separate lounge bar would be better.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel get a bit of noise from the road outside especially as windows are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here on a Groupon deal we got as a gift. There were no doubles left for the weekend we wanted so we were given a family suite. Great friendly welcome and showed to our room - yes maybe the headboards on the beds were a bit dated - but our room had all the things you need for a great stay - Lovely crisp white linen, a great hospitality tray, mini toiletries and what lets lots of other hotels down but not the Alyth - lovely BIG white fluffy towels!! There's nothing worse than little hard towels when you want one to wrap around you. We had dinner that evening food was great - lots of pub favourites and some nice gastro pub options. Husband had the pork belly with bacon crisps and fancy mash, I had the chicken with stornoway black pudding in pepper sauce. Absolutely delicious. Even if our dinner hadn't been included with our deal, the prices were very reasonable. David the owner?/manager? who works incredibly hard and his staff are there when you need them but not in your face. Breakfast next morning was excellent. Alyth is small but we visited Kirriemuir and Blairgowrie both within 10 mins drive and noticed lots of other nice things to do in the surrounding area. Thanks David and the girls for a lovely weekend - we'll definitely be back!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you need a great family suite ask for room 4!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in March and were extremely happy with the hotel. Had dinner there on our first night and very impressed with our meals, both vegetarian choices and very tasty. The bedroom, a double, was a bit small but that's not a problem as we had everything we needed, a very comfy bed, flat screen tv and a good shower room. Alyth is a great little place, the hotel is well-placed next to the village square with shops, a bank and ATM and the bus stop. The bus to Blairgowrie takes about ten minutes, handy for going there for a drink and a curry if you don't fancy driving!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Visited on a Groupon voucher and it was great value for money. On the positive side, clean, warm and friendly. On the negatives, very outdated and overpriced bar charges. The rooms had nice towels and linen but the furniture and bathroom were well overdue for modernisation. Comfortable bed and central location, though there isn't a great deal to do in Alyth it is a good base from which to explore many other Perthshire locations. We had dinner which was plentiful and tasty (if a little overcooked) and breakfast was first class. Won't be back but in fairness this is due to location as well as hotel condition

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Short break for myself and my wife. All very good and great value though we never used pool and gym
Pity about the review below re not being dog friendly. If people want dogs they should live and dine at home. I hate being in accomodation where dogs have been. Dog owners may not be aware but it is clear to non dog owners that their canine friends have been there. My daughter has a dog which we often look after. Neither my daughter and ourselves would consider taking the dog to a hotel to either sleep or dine. It is most inconsiderate to other patrons. If I had thought for one minute that dogs were allowed we would not have stayed there.
Yahoo to the hotel. Keep up your policy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alyth Hotel

Address: 6 Commercial St, Alyth PH11 8AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Alyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyth Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alyth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.