We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dona Luisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Dona Luisa to your Saves list
Hotel Dona Luisa
Duquesa de Arcos, 53., 29692 San Luis de Sabinillas, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Fantastic seaside location, large clean room with sea view and fridge. Very friendly and helpful staff. Some great restaurants..El Molino - very Spanish. La Pergola - Mediterranean and Heaven - tasty Tapas and live music

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    25
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a wonderful 18 day trip through Spain, and for our beach stops, chose only 2. This hotel was one of them. Through assurances in direct confirmations from Booking.com, as well as with hotel management we were assured a twin bedded, ocean terraced room. Upon arrival, they clearly could have cared less that they could not honor their commitment. There was a man who called himself Juan who pursed his lips and puffed as if as to say....'too bad' and after declining a corner room with a double bed for me and my adult son, we were offered the most foul smelling street facing room I think I've ever had. Through concerted email to a man named Augusto who had done the e mail confirmations, he had this arrogant, pursed lipped manager name Juan make a change for us on the 2nd day. Moving luggage for a 2 day stay is beyond inconvenient. This town has a superb Blue Flag beach, and we encountered wonderful shop keepers, and restaurateurs...but stay away from this place if only to avoid the arrogance of Juan.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I loved this hotel. Right on the front with a street and sea view. I could sit on the balcony all day and watch the world go by.

Although basic, the room was large with English TV, sofa and chairs.

Room cleaned every day and staff very friendly.

Breakfast was continental and coffee was good.

Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side which gave us a street and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd night at the hotel
We came here 5 years ago & loved it
The hotel has had a complete refurb, & is worthy of 3 if not 4 stars if you compare it to a holiday type complex !
A word of warning to those of you who've read reviews regarding the hotel being "Spanish" IT IS, don't come here expecting everyone to be fluent in English because they are not..... However, they are extremely accommodating & will do they're upmost to help you I presume looking at some reviews this means if you are not rude !!!!
The rooms are more than adequate with very nice bathrooms & it's location is to die for, walk out of the cafeteria across the esplanade & straight onto the beach
As for the area
We came for a little bit of "real Spain" but found it far more touristy than 5 years ago, however you only have to walk 100 metres & you will find real local places where you either speak Spanish or like us struggle a bit
I can recommend a couple of places please try them
El molino, a non "touristy" reastaurant which only the locals seem to use. It is only indoor but the tapas is good & large & the wine is good also
For a beach bar walk along the esplanade towards Puerto Dequasa, about 300 mtrs before the harbour you will find the Almijara Chiringuito the staff are very helpful & drinks are reasonably priced
HOWEVER THE GEM OF A FIND TO US WAS....
La Cana bar, come out of the front of the hotel & turn right the bar is 100 mtrs or so on the right what a great place Oscar speaks very little English but tries as hard as we try to speak Spanish the drinks are cheap & so is the tapas
€1.50 for a nice glass of wine & €1 for good tapas is hard to beat
ENJOY !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a family run hotel with very friendly staff, nice (actually quite spacious) rooms. Clean and tidy and off course the top selling point: It's right on the beach. Sabinilas itself was ok, it's a quite touristy, but for hanging around on the beach it's nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Welcome friendly. Great location on the beach. The room was a little small but clean. The bed was average comfort. Difficult to have alie in as the noise from the breakfast room in the monring work us up at 7.30. A bit noisy. Overall an average experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel situated very close to the beach. Actually you easily hear the vawes if the balcony door is opend. The staff is friendly and helpful. The beds are very good! We had a nice room in a corner, so we had a balcony in two directions. The room was big and so was the bathroom. This room was silent. We first had another room (also with sea view and balcony), but that room was a little smaller and was not very sound-proof. We did not complain, but they gave us the other room nevertheless. The breakfast was rather dull...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dona Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Luisa

Address: Duquesa de Arcos, 53., 29692 San Luis de Sabinillas, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > San Luis de Sabinillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Luis de Sabinillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dona Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dona Luisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.