We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A meal to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kitley House Hotel and Restaurant

Kitley House Hotel and Restaurant
Kitley Estate, Yealmpton PL8 2NW, England
01752-88-15-55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Yealmpton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Overlooking picturesque gardens and lakes, Kitley House Hotel and Restaurant has a beautiful setting in South Devon. The award-winning restaurant offers fine dining in magnificent, historical surroundings. Featuring three elegant dining rooms and a stylish cocktail bar, Kitley Restaurant has striking classical decor, with marble pillars, open fireplaces and lake or terrace views. Housed in a Grade I Listed building, this popular Plymouth restaurant offers a menu fresh local and regional produce. From the exquisite dinner menu, choose from saddle of lamb with fondant potato and spiced parsnip puree or whole grilled lemon sole with herb butter and crayfish. The indulgent dessert menu offers Turkish delight pannacotta, warm chocolate fondant or rhubarb and champagne crumble. Diners can also enjoy a traditional South Devon cream tea, a healthy breakfast or light bar snacks from the terrace menu. Close to Plymouth, this impressive English country house hotel is set amidst the stunning private Kitley Estate.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A meal to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

friendly ,informative and,helpful service.Beautiful room & excellent food,with a comfortable ambience

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    17
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great bar food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The bar in the hotel has excellent fare and is a relaxing place to view the grounds. Try the patio which is facing the marsh.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth uk
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Lunch time specials briliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

lovely lunch two meals for a tenner xx we came early for our evening stay and the staff were lovely, weather was excellent so we had some wine odwn by the river marvellous xxx

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently had Sunday lunch here and found both the food and the service to be very good. We were on holiday in the Plymouth area and Kitley House had been recommended to us for Sunday lunch. It was just what we were looking for - a nice roast dinner but a little more sophisticated than a pub carvery. The food was nice and well presented. The staff were very attentive especially to my mother who is disabled. The restaurant was busy but there sufficient staff to cope which is not always the case. The only downside was a limited menu but it was good value for money and I would happily recomend it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely stately home but run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I recently had dinner at Kitley House and the food is good and service excellent. The drinks were not particularly cheap though and I think the hotel is a little run down and could do with some TLC.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitley House Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kitley House Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitley House Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.