We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, service/food needs improvement, wouldn't recommend it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   442 Crocodile road | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, service/food needs improvement, wouldn't recommend it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My family stayed 3 nights at the Lodge and we we're happy to leave after 3 nights. Generally we liked the lodge but there were many things to improve. The rooms are nice with a great view (don't take the self catering appartement!) but the service needs much more improvement. The food wasn't on a 4-star-level either.

about the food:
- if you get up early for safari they prepare a breakfast-package, but belive me, its not worth eating it, cheesy sandwhiches you could even buy better ones at the full station, no milk, no fruits. its pitty
- the main course is good but the portion aren't big, the dessert and the starter is not self-made
- i wished the waitress to get more salad and more vegetables, they promised to bring me, but they didn't
- white wine is served warm, red wine also too warm
--> just don't expect too much about the food, there is no real cook in the kitchen and the serving staff doesn't have the knowledge about "how to serve".

about the lodge:
- its far away from the kruger park (you need 30 minutes to crocodile gate, even 50 minutes to the other one)
- internet connection is poor, they quit internet after 9pm
- the staff makes a very unhappy impression, nobody seems to be happy
- the pool should be cleaned every day, insects are lying dead in the pool
- you won't get any snacks in the afternoon, there is no kitchen available
- there is also no bar which serves drinks/wine (we were waiting 30min to get our ordered white wine)
- wines just per bottle, a glas of wine is not available
- there was a scorpion in the shower of the kids-room

honestly, we enjoyed our stay, but we wouldn't come back - there are nicer lodges in this area. actually we would prefer to stay inside the park and not in this area.

Room Tip: the rooms on the first floor are very nice. the self-catering appartement has no view and the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABRILR, Owner at Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Firstly we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we apologise if we were unable to fulfil all your expectations. I would however wish to point out some inaccuracies in the review.

We do provide packed breakfasts on our guided open vehicle Kruger Park Safaris and never had any complaints so far but will look to improve further. We apologise for the service during dinner and for the warm wine from our fully stocked bar (yes we do have one) but wish to point out that dinner and breakfast is included in the room rate. We do not serve lunch as the guests are usually out on one of the many activities available at the lodge. Light lunches such as toasted sandwiches are always available even when the kitchen is closed between the included meals. Portion sizes and tastes do differ but our chef (yes he is a qualified chef ) always try to find a balance to suite everyone.

The lodge overlooks the Kruger Park and animals can be spotted from the patio and most rooms. The drive to Crocodile Bridge gate should not take more than 30 min , most of it a game drive through the Marloth park reserve. The road is tarred in in good condition so should not be a problem in any kind of vehicle.( Unfortunately the road to Malelane gate was damaged by recent heavy rainfall but should be fixed after the rainy reason .)

We do not have fixed land lines and have to make use of 3 G to provide free Wi Fi to our guests. This is linked to the office computer that shuts down at 9 pm when the office close. We have no control over the signal strength but we do try our best to keep our guests online during their stay.

In summary we really appreciate any criticism as this helps us to improve our standards further. Remember when considering a lodge stay inside the Kruger Park that you can expect to pay 5 to ten times more. We try to provide an affordable alternative to this.

Happy journeys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are a family group of 6-8 people who have been visiting Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge at least once a year for the past 3 years for a quick getaway and we have yet to be dissappointed!!
The service is excellent, Jacques and his staff are always extremely friendly and helpful and the food very, very tasteful. The traditional boma night is well organised and always something to look forward to, some members of the family are even brave enough to try some "African Mopani Worms". Game drives into the Kruger Park can be arranged and are highly recommended.The lodge itself and the scenery are out of this world !! Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge will definitely be seeing us again and again. We highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for an affordable, relaxing and luxurious getaway ! Absolutely Magnificent!!!

Room Tip: The view from the upstair rooms are superb. Bathrooms nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My hubby and I spent a few nights at Crocodile Kruger in January 2012. We had a fabulous time, thoroughly enjoying the atmosphere of the Lodge, the service and the views over Kruger from the pool and balcony. I wish we could have stayed longer; on our second day we were visiting real estate agencies, dreaming of living in Marloth Park!

The animals (giraffe, zebra, warthog, kudu, baboons etc) roaming free and so unbothered by human presence was really revitalising - you truly feel in harmony with nature there. We also felt very safe with the security gates and guards at the entrances to the Park, as well as the impressive response of the security company we encountered (we went for a walk and passed two slightly unfriendly men; literally two minutes later a man in a ute arrived and asked us if we'd seen them, that he was looking for a couple of thieves. Speedy!)

Jaques and his team offered us wonderful, friendly hospitality. The rooms were lovely and clean, with very "African" decor and the original artworks were a great touch. The lodge itself ticked all the boxes for me - I'm a big fan of thatched anything. We sat in the lap of luxury on the balcony, watching elephant and impala just across the river, listening to the "laughing" of hippos and sipping on cocktails as the sun went down. The pool area where dinner was served was magical in the evenings, with fire crackling and the warmth of the night enveloping us. Love, love, LOVE! Authentic to the bugs attracted to the lights - it wouldn't be Africa outdoors without them. Authenticity stopped at the right time though, and the air-conditioning in the rooms was very welcome - we had excellent, comfortable sleep, even in the middle of summer.

My only complaints were that when you swam a huge amount of leaf/flower litter got stirred up from the bottom of the pool and was less than pleasant (probably the time of year when that particular tree was shedding, so pretty hard to stop, I did see one staff member cleaning the pool in the morning, but he only got what was floating at the time - obviously what had settled at the bottom was missed), and that the food was a little unexciting. The standard of eating out in South Africa is generally very high, so I was disappointed with the execution of the meals, for example one night dessert was something like instant pudding. But then I'm a foodie, so others might not find that an issue. The dinner service, however, was fantastic. Those are the only reasons Crocodile Kruger didn't score 5 out of 5 from me.

I would love to go back, and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are probably quieter, but you do have to climb stairs and walk a little to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the lodge for four nights between the 2-6th October 2012. Jacques, Erika and all of the staff made us feel very welcome from start to finish. The room was clean and tidy and perfectly adequate for our needs. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff who treated us so well throughout our stay. The food was included in our booking and was served on the terrace outside by a fire pit. There was not a single meal that we did not enjoy - all excellently cooked and presented.
The lodge is perfectly situated about 40 minutes drive from Nelspruit Airport and very easy to drive to. The Airport itself is stunning - a thatched lodge which services the two major airports of Johannesburg and Cape Town, along with many others. We transferred from Jo'burg to Nelspruit on South African Airlines and were very impressed with the service.
The weather was hot (mid 30's), which allowed us to take advantage of an all day safari with Kobus, which was fantastic and we managed to see all of the 'big 5' . We also took a sunset drive with Sandra, Kobus's wife, during which our jeep was chased down the road by a black mamba snake - such a talking point for ages afterwards ! Both drives arranged by the lodge.
The lodge sits on the banks overlooking Crocodile River and the Kruger Park. Within Marloth Park, you can still 'bump' into Zebra's, Giraffe's and many other animals right on your doorstep !
We hired a normal saloon vehicle but would probably have been more suited to a 4 x 4 type vehicle, however our vehicle was more than adequate. For a small fee, we even got our car washed prior to departure.
All in all, we would recommend this lodge and certainly consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The riverside location is beautiful. The apartment is well equipped + spacious, with a private terrace (which is unfortunately used as a passage of employees). Bathroom and kitchen could be cleaner.
Jacques is with the heart and does his job very well.

The driveway is borderline for a normal car; the roads in the Kruger, even the dust and gravel roads were much better. There is a new and better approach - which for us would also have been much shorter (because we passed it coming from Kruger).
Unfortunately, the staff has not made us aware of it.
The welcome wasn't warm in any way. We wanted to participate in a boma (barbecue), but when we arrived, Lydia, one of the executives, told us that this has taken place the day before, and not as described on the web and booked just 5 days before our arrival, on Saturday.
She also told us that we now unfortunately could not attend the dinner, as we had not reserved 48 hours before arrival (we did'nt get a a message about these facts). To next shop near the park entrance, we would again have had to track about 20 minutes, and this shortly before closing..We were very upset!
Jaques finally "saved" us: we could participate with two people at the dinner. Thanks Jacques! The lady behaves just very impolite and we felt to be her annoying- too bad for business, but no problem, there are some other beautiful lodges around, that gladly take our money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge is a wonderful and tranquil place to stay. The location looking across the Crocodile River is exceptional. We saw Elephant, Hippo, Impala and Waterbuck amongst others. Taking a walk along the crocodile river is a "must do" activity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Crocodile Kruger Lodge is a good place to stay with direct view to Kruger Park.
The Boma Evening is a really nice experience that is well organised by the staff.
The staff can also book to you Game Drives at the Kruger Park. We recommend you to do them! They are great.

Now some negative points:
- the rooms were not very clean (spiders net everywhere), and the carpet and curtains also do not help to keep it clean. Maybe they should change to a material that does not attract so much dust.
- the swimming pool was also not very clean.
- the area around the pool, including tables, chairs and laydown beds could also be cleaner.
- the drum player at the Boma evening, should be present so the people can see him.

Sometimes we got the idea that the owners had a diamant in hands, the staff is really happy with it, but the owners do not have the know-how to polish it. that means, that Crocodile Kruger Lodge is a good place, but it could be an amazing place. We recommend it. We just wrote some negative points, because we really hope that this helps the friendly Staff (specially Jacques) and owners to polish that diamant.
Maybe the owners are happy like that, and dont let the Jacques and the remaining Staff improve it. I dont know, I just find a pity, that Crocodile Kruger Lodge does not reach completely its potential.
But again, we recommend it, and you should stay there. I'm sure they will still improve it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge

Address: 442 Crocodile road | Marloth Park, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge is situated on the banks of the Crocodile river overlooking the world famous Kruger National park.The lodge is situated in a nature reserve with free roaming wild animals on your doorstep.The six luxury en-suite rooms are all airconditioned and is fitted with a mini bar , safe , coffee making facilities and private terrace/balcony. The self catering options sleeps either 2 or 6 persons and is equiped with a kitchen as well as braai facilities.Meals are served on the pool deck or in the traditional African Boma and is included in the Luxury romm rates. Self drive or guided game drives in Kruger Park is available from the lodge. Game walks and mountainbike routes in the nature reserve is also available.Free Wi-Fi is available in common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crocodile Kruger Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.