We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Needles Lodge

Save Saved
You added Needles Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Needles Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4 Night Safari Adventure
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you're looking for great food, perfect safari location, well appointed accommodation , local wildlife interaction ( kudu, zebra, warthog, giraffe, wildebeest , Fruit bats , bush babies ) on your doorstep, a warm, friendly relaxed , hospitable yet professional atmosphere ..... Then look no further than Needles Lodge..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgafrica, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear David & Jenny,

Well what can we say but thank you very much for your sparkling review! We really enjoyed the bottles of French wine you shared with us and having you guys here was a real pleasure. We are very happy we made your first Safari experience a memorable one!
Warm regards
Denis & Dawid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
49
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Needles three times and have had equally great experiences each time. Denis the proprietor is particularly hospitable, as is David, and both will make sure your stay is worthwhile. Denis often stays up with guests to socialize before, during, and after dinner and is a very interesting guy to hang out with. We've been warned to inquire as to whether safari lodges are actually located in the bush, since many claim to be but are actually on a busy road, but Needles truly is in the bush. Denis will make sure that you get wildlife visitors throughout your stay. He even has nicknames for his regular zebras, kudus, bush babies, etc. - who all seem to appreciate his hospitality as much as the human guests. My wife and I tend to have high food standards, and the food at Needles is also very good, with Denis paying meticulous attention to the quality. The rooms and main area of the lodge are overall very well kept and especially comfortable. I'd recommend this to any Kruger-bound traveler.

Room Tip: The rooms are basically all the same, so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Alex & Nicole,

Always a pleasure to have you spend some time with us! Thank you for coming back and your very kind review. We're looking forward to your next visit on the 7th June with Nicole's family!
Best regards
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a great place to stay and book your African Safari experience. The meals, lodging, and safari are outstanding. The meals are actually of gourmet caliber! They are served while watching the local wildlife! They are located about 15 km from Kruger National Park and this allows them to provide the safari experience without paying all the park fees.... this provides for an outstanding value. The owner Dennis and his assistant Davey go out of their way to help you feel at home and very welcome. Outstanding South African wines, cordials, and beer are always available at a very modest price! They have enlisted a very knowledgeable guide, Dylan to provide the most thorough of experiences in seeing all of the wildlife.

This is truly the place to consider for a most outstanding safari experience while enjoying great meals and outstanding hospitality.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great as they are a small entity...we used three during our stay and all were grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Len,

Thank you very much for your sparkling review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your Needles experience and to have you and your lovely family share the magic of the African bush with us!

We enjoyed your fine wines too! :)

Very best regards to you all,
Denis & Dawid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We ended up at Needles Lodge unexpectedly for two nights and it was a real treat. Denis is the consummate host - not too close, not too far. We loved the super close up contact with the zebra, warthog, kudu, bush baby, fruit bats and genet and the easy walk to the bird viewing hide. Sundowners on the deck with good wine, good conversation, and animals and the sounds of Africa all around are memories to treasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Kylie, Mike & Lucy,

We were very happy that we were able to be your "Plan B"! Thank you very much for your lovely review, we appreciate your kind words.

Warm regards
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending three nights at Needles Lodge in April together with a friend. When we arrived we were greeted with a welcome drink and shown to our room which was lovely and spacious overlooking the swimming pool. Denis and Dawid could not have been better hosts and the rest of the staff were superb as well. We were asked upon arrival if we had any dietary needs, the food and the wine were out of this world. While we had our meals on the terrace we were visited by Zebras, Kudu, bush babies and wart hogs. Denis arranged two tours for us on the two full days we were there, the first was the full day safari which was truly enjoyable and believe it or not we managed to see the "big five" which doesn't happen that often. On the second day Denis took us on the "Panoramic Mountain Tour" with it's spectacular sights within a couple of hours of Needles Lodge.
I highly recommend Needles Lodge and would definitely return for a second visit, check our their Facebook Page which has some great pics

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgafrica, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Gigi,

Wow what a fantastic review, thank you very much! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We enjoyed having you and Ailsa as our guests and look forward to your next visit!

Also a big thank you for posting your Needles experience on Youtube!

Warm regards
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After a weekend at Needles Lodge we felt we had been on holiday a week - it was such a relaxing experience. Our hosts David and then Denis made us feel right at home, dinner was like having a meal with friends.The highlight of our stay was the wild animals that frequent the lodge. A graceful kudu female pranced around the stoop, a warthog lay down a few metres away from us, not to mention the zebra and the bush babies and the genet and.......Denis took us for a mountain bike ride along the Kruger National Park fence where we saw elephant, buffalo, water buck as well as hippos. He shared his knowledge of the birds in the area as well as some wonderful animal facts. We had so many beautiful experiences amongst the African wildlife - it was as though they let us into their world as we spent quality time on the stoop at Needles Lodge. Thank you Denis. Thank you David. Heh, the food was great too!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Angela & Patrick,
Thank you! It is always a pleasure to have bush and wildlife lovers like yourselves at Needles. We enjoyed your company and the great ride on the Crocodile River. We look forward to you guys coming back with all your cycling buddies!
Warm regards
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Needles Lodge in Marloth Park. Even before we arrived, we were being cared for. It was night, raining, and we were late. David called our cell to see if we were lost or having car trouble and to offer help. Denis and David were at the door to greet us as soon as we arrived, unloading our luggage, taking us to our rooms, introducing us to other guests. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with lovely duvets and fluffy towels. Very welcoming after a long day touring Kruger! The food is fabulous and dining on the deck makes it even more special. Best of all staying at Needles Lodge feels like staying with best friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisGof, Owner at Needles Lodge, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Anne,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and having your family reunion at Needles Lodge. We enjoyed our late night cognac's and chats with you on the deck! Laura & Ellen are lovely young ladies and you must be very proud of them! We look forward to welcoming you back to Needles in the future.
Warm regards
Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Needles Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Needles Lodge

Address: 340 Bushpig Avenue, Marloth Park 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Needles Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to five-star service at three-star rates You deserve to give back to yourself and your loved ones. You deserve to reconnect. And what better way to do so than at an affordable four-star game lodge in the African bush. Up close and personalWarthogs, giraffe, zebra, kudu, wildebeest and impala wander around Needles Lodge. As you get up close and personal with them, you will experience their lives – and the heart of the African bush. At this warm, owner-run lodge, your comfort, your experience, and your needs are our top priority. As one visitor said, "You looked after us beautifully" – see 'Reviews'. Food, wild animals on your doorstep, peace and tranquility At Needles Lodge, delicious local cuisine, African hospitality, and tranquility complement country-style luxury, resulting in the experience of a lifetime. Your time in the African bush, at Needles Lodge, will revitalise you and your loved ones.Your memories – the animals, the people, the sounds, tastes and scents of the African bush – will live with you for the rest of your life. A bouquet of optionsIf you're looking for a peaceful retreat, escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life; enjoy the hospitality, relax, and soak up the sun at the pool. Or let Needles Lodge be your launching pad to the following day trips – see 'To Do':Kruger National Park (safari in one of the largest and oldest game reserves in the world) Mpumalanga province (landscape, culture, nature, wildlife) Mozambique (craft markets, architecture, history, African/Portuguese cuisine)Swaziland (tribal dancing, bushman paintings, crafts, culture, nature, wildlife)Needles Lodge is located in Marloth Park, a private nature sanctuary in Mpumalanga province, South Africa. Marloth Park is situated on the border of the Kruger National Park, and is neighboured by Mozambique and Swaziland. Opportunities for close-up animal interaction.With Kruger Park in the 'back garden', Needles Lodge is the perfect launch-pad for your safari trip. Stay a few days, enjoy the hospitality, take a day-trip to discover the diverse attractions in the province of Mpumalanga or, if you're looking for a peaceful retreat, simply relax by the pool and escape the hustle and bustle of every-day life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Needles Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Needles Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.