We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to anyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kruger Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kruger Lodge to your Saves list
Royal Kruger Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1235 Oribi street | Mpumalanga, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fantastic Savings
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Would recommend to anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We had the best time. You could not ask for a more friendly place with the best staff!!! I would recommend to anyone as long as they are aware there are no TV's so be prepared to really get away from the chaos of normal life. Its good for you!!! Thank you all for making our trip so special!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will be sure to let the team know.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back at the Lodge again in the not too distant future.

Please let your friends know and ask them to contact me direct. I will organise as special package and we will be sure to look after them.

Thanks so much again and keep well.

Vic and the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    22
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
96
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and our wish to spend it in South Africa. This trip exceeded all our expectations especially staying at Royal Kruger Lodge. Where do you begin? The impeccable staff at the Lodge, the guides, everyone connected in making our dream come true, we thank you so much. We felt at home from the minute we arrived at the Lodge, after long days on Safari the staff would be waiting for us to feed us, make us feel special and comfortable, what more could you want. The safaris were outstanding, exciting and unforgettable, our guides Robert and Rick, on my list of "my heroes"! Julia, Number one cook, Emily, our Manager, just 2 of the amazing staff at the Lodge. Would we come back, yes, and hopefully sooner than later, we would recommend this trip to everyone, we saw young families and groups taken care of at the same they attended to our needs. Outstanding service!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I will be sure to let the team know. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and anniversary. Again many congratulations.

We are looking forward to your next trip and hopefully you will bring along some friends with you. Please loolk out for our specials on Trip Advisor or contact me direct.

Many thanks again and keep well.

Until the next time :).

Vic & the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I just wanted to thank you and your staff for such a great service.
You helped us organise everything at such short notice.
The food was so so so nice!
Thank you so much for the wonderful service. The staff is so helpful.
We will definitely call again.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Zebra room. Next to the pool and animals were there just outside our window. Beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
So glad you had a great trip. Will definately let the team know. Please tell your friends to look out for our specials on Trip Advisor.

Hope to see you back again.

Keep well,

Vic and the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed seven days and had the best trip of a life time. From the time we were picked up and arrived are the lodge we were treated like royalty. The all the staff( Robert, Chase Rick and the wonderful chef Julia) were a group that any other country that we stayed at could take lessons.
Would recomend this to any one. A wonderful country and people to meet and see.
Keep up the good work. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a lovely review for us. We really appreciate it and I will be sure to let the team know.

Keep well and hope to see you back soon.

All the best,

Vic and the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just absolutely loved it. From the beautiful rooms, lovely surrounds and friendly staff members. Our game drives were marvellous with our informative guides - Robert, Chase and Rick. Big hugs to the delightful Julia and her 'surprise' desserts. The personal touch sets this place apart. Hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. So glad you enjoyed everything. We love to see are efforts added to the enjoyement of your holiday.

Hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

All the best,

Vic and the RKL Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A very welcoming place to stay. Lovely staff who are very attentive and knowledgeable. Amazing food. Zebras and other wildlife just wandering by makes it extra special.
A special thankyou to Robert - we learnt so much and saw so much thanks to you

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a lovely review for us. I will be sure to let the team know and they will really be grateful their efforts are appreciated.

Sorry I did not get to meet you this time round but hopefully you will visit again in the future. Please tell you friends to look for our specials on Trip Advisor.

Once again many thanks and keep well.

Vic & the RKL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed two nights at the lodge and had a great time. Staff was very welcoming, from Rick who picked us up at the airport and took us on a great sundowner drive, Chase who took us on an excellent game drive in Kruger where we got to see all the big 5 in one day, and of course Julia's wonderful meals. Special thanks to Vic and all the staff for the birthday dinner and drinks on our second night. Will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic R, Owner at Royal Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Andy,

Great meeting you all and glad you enjoyed your stay even though it was quite short. Hopefully you will make it a longer stay next time and perhaps bring some of your mates with you. We can always celebrate your next birthday :).

Hope all goes well in Cape Town and keep in touch.

All the best,

Vic and the RKL Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kruger Lodge

Address: 1235 Oribi street | Mpumalanga, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Kruger Lodge ensures guests relaxation, adventure and a oneness with nature. This 4-star, privately owned game lodge is renowned for its exceptional personal service and intimate atmosphere. Situated in the Mpumalanga Province in the Wild Frontier region, the Royal Kruger Lodge is just beyond the Crocodile River and borders the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kruger Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.