We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just WOW!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kruger Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Kruger Lodge to your Saves list
Royal Kruger Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1235 Oribi street | Mpumalanga, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5 Night Safari Package
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Royal Kruger for 7 nights and can't thank the staff enough for making our African experience truly magical. The care and attention provided was second to none and from the moment we arrived we felt so welcome and comfortable.
Leanne and Gavin, such gracious hosts went above and beyond to ensure that our experience was everything we could dream of, even going out of their way when our luggage was delayed offering their own jackets and following up with the airlines on our behalf so that our safari adventure wasnt interrupted.
Rick was the most amazing guide, so knowledgable and again went out of his way to make our experience special - we learnt all about the beautiful surrounds and thanks to his keen eye, saw the big 5 and so many wonderful other sights.
Julia and her girls are just lovely and her cooking - AMAZING!!
To the whole Royal Kruger team, we can't thank you enough for the wonderful experience you gave us. We have not stopped talking about our adventures and can't wait to come back to stay with you again soon.
If you are looking for somewhere special to stay, do yourself a favor and join the Royal Kruger family - you will not be disappointed, we can't recommend it highly enough!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
92
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had a great time at the lodge. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Great start to our holiday. Robert one of the guides was so incredibly knowledgeable and helpful, which made getting up at 5am for a game drive no problem. To make the trip even more special we were lucky enough to see the Big 5, fed the zebras at dawn in the lodge and enjoyed the communal dinners in the Boma with Julia's cooking. Nothing was too much trouble and would recommend staying here for your trip to the Kruger.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The staff were fantastic and the service was outstanding.

. Julia's meals especially dinner were a real treat
. Ric was an outstanding safari guide and made the trip fun and worthwhile
. Leanne and Vic were excellent value with great advise and help on every request

The entire experience was absolutely amazing and we saw the Big 5 and a whole lot more.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Royal Kruger for 4 nights but should have stayed more! We knew the moment we drove through the gates we picked the right place for our stay in Kruger.

The lodge is like a home away from home and has the feel of one big happy family. The rooms are big and beds very comfortable. There are only 10 rooms so you dont get that feeling over being overcrowed with people. The lodge is in a beautiful rural setting with a choice of different areas to relax. The zebras you see in the photos are real - they are not pets! The feeling we had sharing this place with wild zebras was an unforgettable experience.

Julia the chef cooked wonderful food - especially the Bomas at night - this is something to experience, where all the guests come together at the end of the day and you feel like you are having a dinner party with friends. Ask Julia for an Elephant Beer!

Gavin, the lodge manager couldnt do enough for us to make our stay enjoyable. He organised all our tours and even had a round of golf with him. If you want an entertaining day do this! Always smiling, Gavin gives the lodge that little bit extra personal touch that makes your stay not just great but AWESOME!

Your tour guide can make or break your holiday and Rick our tour guide, certainly made our holiday! He took us on our game drives, sundowners and a very interesting bush walk around Marloth Park. With so many years experience, he is a wealth of knowledge from plants, animals to the culture. On our game drive he took us off the "beaten track" to make sure we had a chance to see the animals without all the tourists around. Great sense of humour thrown in and we had a fantastic guide during our stay. Make sure you go on a Sundowner with him to the lookout!

We were very sad to leave Royal Kruger as we took away so many happy memories that is in our hearts forever and made some wonderful friendships. We will be back!

Room Tip: Add an extra 2 nights to your original stay. You wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were a honeymoon couple and managed to get the deal through groupon which we feel was superb advertising otherwise we from Singapore wouldn't have had the thought of doing something as different as this. Our stay at the Royal Kruger Lodge was one that will always be in our minds always! The hospitality, the surrounding environment, the staff and rooms were all of high standards. The resident chef, Julia makes wonderful steak and her desserts are simply mind-blowing! We did a night safari, a morning game drive and a sundowner at crocodile river and the experience of seeing animals in their natural habitat is something we will never experience! Our guide Rick was full of knowledge and was always trying to get us to see the 'the big five'. Gavin the manager was simply a great gentleman always making sure we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves. We took a 4 days 3 nights package and on top of that were given an extra night with complements of Vic, the owner.
Overall we will really recommend anyone thinking of traveling to South Africa to make a trip down and stay at the Royal Kruger Lodge. It will be a memorable experience.

Thank you all at Royal Kruger Lodge!
Regards
Mr&Mrs Royston

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Wonderful holiday. We stayed 7 nights, did 3 morning game drives, 1 evening game drive, 1 elephant experience and 1 panoramic tour. The Staff are truly great with of course special mention of Gavin, Rick, Julia and Tambo. You will see their names a lot in these reviews I suspect. Just nice people.
Rooms were wonderful as was the food and service. We saw 4 of the Big 5 animals on our first drive and the leopard on our second. I would recommend the panoramic tour to see some great sights and get the feel of more than just the reserve. We both want to go back again! Soon.
If you are new to Africa as we were, we had a nights stop over in Johannesburg (stayed at the Emperors Palace with a discount deal online through Agoda) and flew up to Nelspruit and were picked up by the staff from the lodge so it was easy and safe. Don't hesitate to go with this lodge if you want a great time and want to see the animals. Also don't leave it too long as South Africa is changing rapidly.

Room Tip: The Zebra room is further away and closer to the other reserve so you can hear the lions at night! H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently returned from a 6 day stay at Royal Kruger Lodge and it was one of the best trips I've ever been on. The lodge is ideally situated in Marloth Park, where zebras, warthogs, giraffe, etc. are free to roam. The grounds were very clean and the rooms were comfortable. However, the highlight was definitely the wonderful staff. Julia, the resident chef, provided such amazing meals (lamb shanks and steaks were some of the best I've tasted) and even asked our group for suggestions on what we wanted to eat. Gavin, the Lodge Manager, immediately felt like family. He not only arranged our tours and itinerary for us each day, but was always there to make sure we were satisfied and receiving the best luxuries. Finally, I cannot say enough great things about Rick our tour guide. He took us out on 2 game drives and a panoramic tour to the Blyde River Canyon (which I highly suggest). He is very patient with all of the guests and goes out of his way to ensure that they have the best chance of seeing big game (we saw the Big 5 while with him). I would not hesitate on returning and highly recommend Royal Kruger to anyone looking for a once in a lifetime experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kruger Lodge

Address: 1235 Oribi street | Mpumalanga, Marloth Park 1330, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Kruger Lodge ensures guests relaxation, adventure and a oneness with nature. This 4-star, privately owned game lodge is renowned for its exceptional personal service and intimate atmosphere. Situated in the Mpumalanga Province in the Wild Frontier region, the Royal Kruger Lodge is just beyond the Crocodile River and borders the Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kruger Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.