We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of Lodge Feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Kruger Lodge

Save Saved
You added Grand Kruger Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Kruger Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kruger Safari Pamper Pack
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lack of Lodge Feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The service and the food at GKL was very good. The location was dissapointing as the lodge is surrounded by holiday homes. Also the website indicates that they have the big 5 also not true. Was not the lodge experience we had in mind. For the price and distance we drove I would not say that I will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for your review.
I find it very unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay.
We aim for all our guests to have a wonderful time while at Grand Kruger Lodge and offer a wide variety of excursions in order for you to get the full bush experience.
Our website states that "Marloth Park has 3 of the Big 5 and a multitude of other game." We do not have the big five, Maybe if you found information of us having the big 5 on another out dated website( as many years ago Marloth park did have the big 5) could you please inform us which site so that we can fix this to avoid any future misunderstandings.
Marloth Park is a holiday town and game reserve therefor there are holiday homes spread through out the entire area.

Thank you for your positive comments and we did enjoy having you at Grand Kruger Lodge.

All the best,

Grand Kruger Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Grand Kruger Lodge has many elements to live up to expectations. So all ingredients are there. Nice location (we love Marloth Park), tranquility , nice setting, chalets that are nice with a good terras.
However, the place lacks "a heart". Guests are treated on the automatic pilot. Owners are not hospitable to our opinion, although the place is small enough to give a more personal touch.
Example: no greeting in the morning when we arrived for breakfast.
Staff however, did their utmost to give the right service, so no complaints about that. No, it were the owners that left a bad feeling with us. Too distant. Not hospitable. Not 'with the guests'.
One small tip for future visitors: please ask waiters to take away the plastic cover that is protecting the table cloth! It makes dinner and breakfast much nicer. Can you believe it: anno 2013?

Room Tip: Ask the plastic to be taken away from all tables!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Kruger Lodge.

Thank you for your positive responses about the Lodge and The staff we greatly appreciate it. We work very hard to make everyone feel at home in the bush with us and to have a wonderful bush experience.

Concerning your comment about the owners not being hospitable, he does try his best to interact with as many guests as possible however he is always busy in the mornings with the maintenance of the lodge ensuring that all aspects of the lodge run smoothly. He tires to chat with the guests in the early evening around the fire if time permits it. We will insure that managers can be on the floor through out all meal times in order to rectify this short coming to make all future guests feel welcome and at home.

With regards to the plastic on the tables another guest let us know about your complaint and we removed all plastic from the tables the next day. The plastic was on the tables as a suggestion came from another guest as this would help with using less harsh chemicals to get rid of the stains.

All the best for your future travels.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We completely enjoyed the experience of staying here. Our game driver, Langford, proved great at spotting all the important animals we wanted to see and showed legitimate concern for our comfort and enjoyment. The great food, wonderful pool, and generally exceptional service all made our stay very memorable. We had been on safari before, but this place even topped the private game reserves nearby.

Room Tip: You can't miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had such an nice and clean Bungalow! The dinner was exellent!
The stuff very friendly!
If the wather in the shower would have been run better and the breakfast would have been included, it would have been the best accomodation, we have had on our trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Good Day,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it.

We enjoyed hosting you at Grand Kruger Lodge and Hope to see you again in the future.

Keep well.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The rooms were very nice, spacious and neat. I enjoyed the quite and peaceful nature of the place and the excellent service from staff. The food was just so delicious. Not to mention the inhouse massage I received. Everything was just perfect?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your positive review.

You must come visit again to see our beautiful new spa.

Hope to host you again at Grand Kruger Lodge.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Myself, my partner and mum in-law have just arrived back to Jo'burg after 4 nights at the Grand Kruger Lodge. We stayed in Rm 3 which was spacious, we had a large terrace to enjoy, a lovely powerful shower and the most comfy pillows to help fantastic sleeps there. Mum in law stayed in rm 5 which was also spacious with a fantastic view over the lower decking and bush beyond.

Service - We received fantastic service throughout our entire stay which started with Wesley at check in, every day from all of the friendly staff and Louis who was our guide on our game drive through Kruger. Everyone was very attentive and incredibly helpful with any requests we made. The room was made daily with a pillow turn down service every evening.
Wesley also organised a lovely birthday surprise for my partner on our first night which was an extra special touch.

Marloth Park - The park is deep bush with only the main road being Tar and the rest are dirt roads. The lodge is well sign posted but grab a map and explore the rest of the park. There is a shop and petrol station in Marloth Park and we saw so many animals including giraffe, kudu, zebra and with the boundary fence running along the Kruger Park and Crocodile River you can see the hippos, elephants, crocodiles, and while we were there lions and a rhino. There are also a few one way roads around the park which may not be suitable for normal cars, best only use these if you have a 4x4.

Game Drive - We were indicisive on the 4 or 8 hour drive through Kruger. We have been on plenty of drives in SA, Zimbabwe and the Masai Mara in Kenya but as we were the only 3 on the drive we decided on the 8 hour drive which was wonderful. With Mum being 80 we were not sure how she would hold out for 8 hours but Louis looked after all of our needs. We saw all the "Big 5" and much more. Louis was obviously very experienced and passionate about the animals and the park. Breakfast was provided on the drive and Louis ordered lunch so it was ready when we returned in the afternoon.

Food - it was nice to have a choice of food. Some days it would be buffet breakfast and buffet dinner with a good selection for a 4 course meal. There was also table service on other days for breakfast and dinner with a BBQ one night. The only feedback would be for the BBQ. As this was all cooked rather than cooking and taking the food fresh off the BBQ some food was only warm which was looked at straight away when we mentioned it to our waiter. However the food was delicious and plenty of it, something to please all taste buds.

We would definitely recommend the lodge and location to others.

Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your great review, we here at Grand Kruger Lodge really appreciate the time you have taken to wright such a lovely review.

We loved having you with us and hope to see you again soon.

All the best.

Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Accommodation and facilities were great and in the wonderful environment of Marloth Park. Management and staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfasts and dinner. We could not fault anything. Super experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandkrugerlodg... M, Manager at Grand Kruger Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your kind review.

We hope to see you again soon at Grand Kruger.

All the best and Kindest Regards,

Grand Kruger Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kruger Lodge

Address: Stand 4627 Hartbees Str | P.O. Box 1262, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty lodging in Marloth Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Kruger Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its African atmosphere, Grand Kruger Lodge is the perfect base from which to experience the pride of South Africa's conservation efforts. Superb accommodation, exquisite cuisine and game viewing in southern Kruger National Park. Our hospitality teams have been chosen for their attention to finer detail, thereby providing the luxury of personalized service to you throughout your stay. Grand Kruger Lodge is also the ideal location for conferences and weddings that will provide a memorable day to be cherished. Our recently completed Spa gives an additional service to our guests to relax their body after the game drives.Game drives in open vehicles with qualified game rangers provide guests with thrilling opportunities to view the 'Big Five' as well as a myriad of other flora and fauna in the Kruger National Park, which is a short and easy drive away. Bush walks with knowledgeable rangers will give guests a chance to see game 'up close and personal' or take pleasure in a night drive to hear and spot the elusive nocturnal animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kruger Hotel Marloth Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Kruger Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.