We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing at St. Ann's Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort
Cabot Trail Indian Brook, Englishtown, Nova Scotia B0C1H0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $150 on Chalet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Walton, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing at St. Ann's Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We enjoyed a relaxing morning on the secluded beach to ourselves.
Paul and the staff took us on a great hike to a rocky outcrop with 360 degree views of the beautiful countryside.
The lodge was a wonderfully warm and welcoming space for us as we were tent camping in the rain.
We were treated like old friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drpaulLeverett_Ma, Owner at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review - we appreciate it very much!

We're glad you were able to enjoy the special hike - we are always happy to take our guests to places not found in any guidebooks.

Welcome to the Cabot Shores family!

Barbara & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    75
    15
    18
    19
See reviews for
81
142
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baddeck
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our group of 40 stayed at Cabot Shores this past weekend. It's an awesome place to go for holding group get togethers, or just for a few people. The owners are all accomodating, and besides feeding us, guided the hike as well as morning Tai Chi and meditation. The great room has a massive fireplace, and is open year round. The cottages also have fireplaces. I would love to go back in the winter to do some snowshoeing and be super cosy at night. In the summer they also have yurts up, and access to a beach. It's great!

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, choose a cottage. If not, a room at the main building is good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drpaulLeverett_Ma, Owner at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We very much enjoyed hosting your group of lively and brave women. We especially appreciated that you were all so "game" for the various guided activities offered - be they a night walk, hiking the nearby Red Island Trail, or participating in Morning Qi Gong and meditation.

And yes, we welcome travelers and adventurers to come for a snow shoeing exploration of the Cabot Shores grounds (and for the more adventurous ones, the Indian Brook Wildneress out back), perhaps to view our resident moose, and then to relax by the hearth in good company and cheer.

Thanks again,

Paul & Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I just got home from a weekend Retreat at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort. It is Autumn here on Cape Breton Island and this hideaway is a glorious spot to spend some time.Looking out toward the front of the resort you will encounter views of the Ocean with the Eagles flying high overhead, the Moose lally gagging their way thru the woods and the Mountains behind you with every tree being a different Magnificent colour, they will surely take your breath away with their Splendor.
The sound of the waves to lull you to sleep at night and the birds or the rain on the roof of your cabin will delight you when you awake.
We went for a Guided walk with Paul, one of the owners, thru the woods to the ocean. The smell of the forest this time of year is one that you cannot duplicate with any candle or air freshener.
The food was a fest prepared by Barb, (an owner with her husband Paul), and her worker bees in the kitchen. I had Vegan Meals that were a pleasure to eat.
Saturday night we sat by the fireplace and were entertained by Rosie MacKenzie and her friend Johnny (sorry do not rem. his last name). She played the fiddle and he the guitar and they both sang like Angels.
All in all this is not a place to be driven by or forgotten. If you are looking for a hideaway, a wonderful place to reconnect with your kids, a romantic getaway, a wedding or a meeting place for your office staff retreat...this is the place.
Paul and Barb are more than accommodating with any of your dietary, sleeping or adventurous needs or wants.
This was a weekend that I will not soon forget....thanks again Barb and Paul and BCANS, Breast Cancer Action Nova Scotia for a Wonderful Weekend xo

Room Tip: Depends on what you are looking for and what time of year you are there are they are open year round...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drpaulLeverett_Ma, Owner at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Your description perfectly captures the Cabot Shores grounds during the fall season!
We are glad you mentioned the vegan fare (and happy you enjoyed it!). We are able to accommodate all sorts of diets from omnivores to pescatarians, vegetarians, vegans and gluten-free. With some notice, our chefs will dream up a delicious and nutritious meal for you that includes something from our organic garden, even in the depth of winter (this time of year, December, it might be garlic, squash, greens, apples and more).
Thank you also for mentioning the retreat aspect of Cabot Shores. The retreats we have hosted range from the NS Teachers' Union, to the Mi'kmaq family, Breast Cancer Action NS, Young Adult Cancer Canada, Dalhousie University Historical Society, ICEAP language school, and Katimavik to name some. All retreats have included on-site guided outdoor adventures (on land and water), cultural experiences such as a concert or Ceilidh, and/or a Healing Arts experience, in addition to the program provided by the retreat staff. From the feedback we received, everyone came away feeling enriched by their experience.
The Breast Cancer retreat has become an annual event and we really look forward to seeing you and the other BCANS women again next October!

Barbara & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A group of my friends and I rented a couple of cabins over the thanksgiving long weekend at Cabot Shores. We had a wonderful time exploring Cape Breton from a great base. The cabins are cozy and comfortable, with everything you need. We had bonfires and relaxed in the beautiful surroundings. Paul and Barbara are welcoming, friendly and helpful, giving us great tips about the area and which hikes to go on. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drpaulLeverett_Ma, Owner at Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your review and are glad you enjoyed our comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. You mentioned using Cabot Shores as a base from which to explore the island. It does indeed provide easy access to the Cape Breton Highlands National Park, to local beaches, whale watching and Puffin tours, Ceilidhs and other cultural events, while also offering on-site activities including guided hikes, wildlife viewing, kayaking/canoeing, Healing and Contemplative Arts - great for people of all ages. We are happy you had such a good experience.

Barbara & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I visited Cabot Shores in late August and stayed for five nights in the “green chalet”, one of the cabins on the property.

It is very interesting to read the earlier reviews. One would believe that there two totally different places at Cabot Shores. Since that is not the case, I think many of the reviews simply center around expectation limits around the “star ratings”. For those used to structure, no drama, sedate and ultra-efficient bed and breakfasts, Cabot Shores is probably not the best place for that experience. For those travelers who relish a long, uninhabited beach, beautiful trails in and around the property, stimulating conversation with like-minded folks, this is where you need to stay.

We came from a multi-star hotel in Montreal before we went to Nova Scotia. We expected (and paid for) first-rate accommodations and fine restaurants in a beautiful urban setting. We came to Cabot Shores, however, to enjoy the grandeur of Cape Breton, interact with the locals, listen to Celtic music and just to immerse ourselves in a more rural and almost mystical place. We were pleased with what we found in both places.

In summary, if you want a wonderful, urban experience then go to Montreal, Quebec City, Toronto, etc. If you want to be surrounded by the best nature has to offer, even if it means pulling yourself along a homemade ferry to a beach that seems to stretch forever, Cabot Lodge is it.

In Montreal we had a first-rate concierge who made us dinner reservations. There are no concierges at Cabot Shores, but owners Paul and Barbara will be happy to take you canoeing or kayaking, hike a trail with you or introduce you to some of the real residents of majestic Cape Breton.

We thoroughly enjoyed Montreal and Cape Breton – different in many ways but both splendid places to visit.

Room Tip: The chalets seem like the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were a group of international students that stayed at Cabot Shores for the Thanksgiving weekend and Barbara and Paul made sure we spent a great time! The chalets are perfect, with all the commodities, and the resort itself is situated on the ocean. You can swim, canoe, eat, make fires, everything to be happy in Cape Breton! I would definitely recommend Cabot Shores for your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was here in winter with no other guests around. It was beautiful. Magical spot, warm/peaceful owners/hosts, delicious home made food, epic Cape Breton environment, clean/pleasant accommodation, great energy.

Can't wait to return one day.

Room Tip: stayed in dorm room in lodge. Was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort

Address: Cabot Trail Indian Brook, Englishtown, Nova Scotia B0C1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Englishtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Englishtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabot Shores is a 4 season adventure wilderness resort and retreat centre on 55 acres along Indian Brook and the Atlantic and on the Cabot Trail of Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia. Lodging includes: for 4 seasons-a Bistro restaurant in a 4 star lodge and chalets; a cedar yurt for all seasons; 3 Mongolian yurts; a unique cedar yurt, Japanese cedar ofuro soaking tubs, as well as a 4 bedroom farmhouse, a western yurt, Pacific dome, and wilderness camping. Activities include live music, guided hikes; canoe and kayak and yolo board rentals; boat tours; special events and conference locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Shores Retreat Hotel
Cabot Shores Retreat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabot Shores Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.