We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, beautiful and original.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane to your Saves list
Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Zaafrane, Kebili 4200, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Warwick, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil, beautiful and original.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

How refreshing after the noise of Djerba. We only stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer. Lovely pool very welcome after the heat of the day.
Accomodation in luxury tents with all mod cons, very atmospheric. We were greeted personally by the manager who was extremely helpful.
We thought hard before booking, as the alternative accomodation was so much cheaper. How glad we were to have spent the extra to come here though.
The food was excellent, and a beer outside in the beautiful setting went down very well.
Great camel ride to the Poman fort at sunset. There is also a tower with great views over the oasis and surrounding desert.
Loved our time here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
22
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CuriousTraveler007
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

We spent a night at the Pansea and it was wonderful! This is luxury style camping and the whole ambiance was incredible. After dinner (which was very good), one of the local guys took us through a side door to the dunes and we were there, in the vast desert, with only the moon light showing us the way..... Marvelous.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
334 hotel reviews
Reviews in 274 cities Reviews in 274 cities
528 helpful votes 528 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

A fantastic desert camp. Although next to a number of rather downmarket competitors, it still gives the felling of a remote location. Access is easy with asphalt now all the way, except the last 500 meters (but doable in a normal 2x4 car). Beautiful tents and pool. Great desert experieces (horseback, 4x4, etc.). Beats places like Al Maha Dubai easily on price benefit ratio.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

The location is beautiful. That's it. The air con broke down. There was no light to guide us into our tent. Tent has huge rips. I had to kill a scorpion running around by our bedside. As 'drop in' independent travelers, we paid nearly $200 for one night. Stay away. try the other few tent hotels nearby. They can't be any worse.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Four nights at an oasis just into the Tunisian desert - amazing! We were driven there in a 4x4 for three hours from Djerba airport. There are a set of tents with air conditioning and ensuite facilities, on the sand, surrounded by palm trees. It isn't really camping, but that suited us. The pool is excellent, with a very large shallow section for little children. Taking a camel ride into the desert to see the sunset, or a Quadbike for a trip to the old Roman fort - the Southernmost limit of their Empire, I suspect, and you can see why... There is a good bar, a useful shop, and a very good hammam and massage. Just up the 'road' the water wells up from nowhere, in a lovely pool. It is very hot in mid-summer, but we survived. The breakfast was an excellent buffet. Dinner was a set menu, so you had to be reasonably adaptable to standard, non-spicy, roughly Tunisian first and second courses. The hotel could do rather better on communications - there was no information pack in the tent, and no particular way of communicating with Reception, despite the fact that there is mobile phone reception. in case it is a concern of yours, we saw less alarming insects in the whole of our stay in Tunisia than we saw at tea last week in a hotel in Hampshire.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

It’s a long trip, and really only accessible by 4x4 making it an expensive adventure, even in Tunisia. However to be in the desert with a power shower, air con and blissful swimming pool is near on luxury and one can almost excuse a few holes in the tent and generally tired furnishings. 5 years ago this place was probably the business, now it’s a little worn around the edges, a shame as the experience is utterly unique and remains super special. Its an expensive trip and the cheapest way to do it is probably the ‘discovery offer’ on the website which includes a worthwhile camel ride to see the sunset in the Saharra. Two days is ample. Power source is through a huge noisy generator which (due to variation in current) fused and nearly busted my hairdryer, so exercise caution when plugging in electricals. Vegetarians beware, like most of Tunisia your food will be way under par that of your fellow meat eaters, even at this ‘4 star’ (?) establishment. I was given chips rice and a tomato two nights in a row whilst my husband tucked into delicious lamb tagines, grilled chicken and stews, shocker!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This could be a fantastic experience but is spoiled by sloppy service - most guests arrive from the coast for one night only, so it seems that the hotel has decided there will be no repeat business, therefore no need to try at all.

We travelled independently and spent two nights in the desert at Ksar Ghilane. Pansea is just one of several tented camps, so not quite the isolated experience we hoped for, but still an amazing place to be.

But

Guests descend on the meagre breafast & dinner buffet like a plague of locusts, clearing everything out in half an hour. If you're not there at 7.30 (am or pm) there won't be much left. You don't expect miracles in the desert but simple Tunisian food, well done would have been far more enjoyable than leaden croissants, dodgy salads and empty bowls. The a la carte restaurant was closed both nights, although the hotel was full, no explanation.

As a previous reviewer has noted, the camp has seen better days and is a little shabby, the bathrooms smell of blocked drains. All our 'gripes' could have been solved had there been an attentive Manager ensuring the staff looked after the guests. Aside from the fantastic Houssain, everyone else was surly and unhelpful. A request for towels for the pool was ignored for half an hour by two staff members until my husband finally managed to persuade a third (who turned out to be a rather bemused chef) to get some from the 'spa'.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane

Address: Zaafrane, Kebili 4200, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Kebili Governorate > Kebili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kebili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms: 60 Berber tents (28 m²) in linen textile laid out in a radial design, at the heart of the oasis,around a large swimming pool and an observation tower, offering comfort and complete mentaldiversion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Yadis Ksar Guilane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.